We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Prince of Wales Hotel

Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Box 33, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list
Prince of Wales Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
53%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
FionawBirmingham_AL Birmingham, AL
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    122
    85
    77
    58
See reviews for
103
232
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights here. Our 5th floor room was small with a tiny bathroom but the view was amazing. The wind was very strong but I loved having the window open to feel that fresh mountain air. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. the food was okay but nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luang Prabang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes. It's true. The accomodation is lacking and I was very disappointed just like everyone else. But surely you would think the managers would listen and do something? But no. We all continue to go there and that is why things never change. This gorgeous place needs a complete make over but there is no need when the numbers still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth M, Thanks for leaving us some feedback about the Prince of Wales Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I can assure you that we listen to all feedback. It's feedback like this that will drive us to be better! We do have plans for renovations to the hotel over the next three... More

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While we loved the views, we did not love that they blocked you from enjoying it at the prettiest time of day for their tea time. We found the staff to be a bit uptight and the bed in the room was very uncomfortable and was definitely sagging in the middle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Laurie D, Thanks for leaving us some feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your thought the views to be restricted. There are many places to take in the view (the lounge, the restaurant, the floor-to-ceiling windows in the lobby where tea takes place from 1-5pm, or outside on the enormous bluff the hotel sits on) so I'm surprised that... More

De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Prince of Wales for two nights, one night in mountain view room on the 4th floor and one night in a lake view room on the 5th floor and we loved both rooms. Each room had a unique view. I see a lot of complaints on this sight about the lack of cell phone service, Wi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mediocre service, ok rooms. You are paying for the view. You can take in the view without staying there. Don't eat there, food is truly lacking and much better fare in town. We were on the 6th floor and elevator only goes to 4 so make sure you don't have alot to carry up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Loudon, TN
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at this historical hotel; however, one night stay there is sufficient. It is very pricey and doesn't have any modern day conveniences. We had a lakefront higher end room but it was still bare bones. We had lunch there and the food was very good but not worth the price. Both my husband and I thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prince of Wales Hotel is a beautiful historic hotel in a gorgeous location. It is not fancy but it is comfortable. If you need a modern hotel room with all the amenities then this hotel is not for you. There is no TV and no WiFi. Some of the rooms have a step in shower and some have a tub.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lets just say, I paid a lot for what should be a million dollar view, but the weather was so horrible, that I couldn't help but notice how subpar this establishment is. I really don't know where to start, but here goes: 1. Why a balcony, when they do not have any chairs? 2. Barely enough room to walk around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Beamer52, Thanks for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We don't have furniture on the balconies or back patio because of the very, very strong winds that come through the area from time to time. Any furniture we've ever put... More

Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 5th floor room and the elevator only goes to the 4th. Also, the elevator has to be manned by a bellman. So, trying to get our luggage down when the elevator was busy was tough. Our room and bath were basic but the bed was very comfortable. The staff does it's best to make up for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel looks like a picture post card from the outside and the view of the water and the mountains was really nice, but the stay was a disappointment. We stayed two nights as part of a Canadian Rockies tour, so we don't know what the price of the room was. The meals in the dining room (breakfast and dinner)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Frank C, Thanks for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations. We are in the process of planning renovations for the next few years and we value your feedback. We do have plans to have wifi installed and ready for the start of the 2015... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Box 33, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

271 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (272)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (82)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (97)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park with
any amenities