We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crandell Mountain Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
marvreil Edmonton, Canada
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    21
    19
    2
See reviews for
19
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a family trip to Waterton for mothers day, purchased 2 Travelzoo vouchers for kitchenette suits. The rooms were clean, perhaps a bit dated, but if you wanted a 'homesteading' type of experience (was built in 1939) you found your spot. Jimmy the manager was helpfull in playing tour guide, and we took his suggestions to enhance our lil... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We were booked to stay only one night here but after seeing the town and the lodge we forfeited our deposit on a different hotel and stayed there a second night. Do not expect the Four Seasons, but this little lodge is perfect for this beautiful mountain village. Waterton Lakes itself looks like Dickens Village and this little inn is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crandell Mountain Lodge. We appreciate that you understand the quaint and charming experience Waterton offers travellers, and we are proud to have provided you with a stay that met your standards. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, and... More 

Bigfork, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

First the good - Friendly owners and staff. Generally clean, if a bit spotty. Then the rest - small rooms, noisy, room wasn't cleaned until 3pm, "kitchen" was like those in a small RV, windows face one of the busiest traffic corners in Waterton. OK if you get a sweet deal, but otherwise there are much better and quieter places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your experience with us at Crandell Mountain Lodge was disappointing. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms to provide a more convenient experience for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your stay, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time visiting Waterton. More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed with friends from UK for 3 nights and was embarrassed for them and generally dissatisfied with the experience. The location is good. That's about all that was positive. The rooms are shabby and worn, the carpets dirty and the window blinds shredded. I found a Pepsi bottle and Copenhagen can under one of the beds and had to prop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are truly sorry you hear you were dissatisfied with your stay at Crandell Mountain Lodge. We understand our guest rooms are in need of upgrades, and we are currently working to modernize our suites without taking away from the cozy charming atmosphere. The housekeeping issues experienced during your stay are unacceptable and we sincerely apologize these things were overlooked... More 

Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

First, understand that every place in the area is overpriced/expensive. As a result, the Crandell is pretty expensive for what you get; however, as we looked for accommodations it seemed the best value. Our host at the Crandell was pleasant and helpful, parking was directly in front of our room. You walked in an outer door and down a tiny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Crandell Mountain Lodge. We apologize for the inconvenient placement of furniture in your room, and we are currently working to modernize our guest suites to be more convenient and accessible for our guests. We appreciate you letting us know of the maintenance issues you experienced in your... More 

Golden, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

What a surprise Crandell Mountain Lodge turned out to be! My wife and I took a chance and decided to spend a night in Waterton Park. Crandell is the first hotel you see and if you're lucky they'll have a vacancy. The front desk girl was nice and friendly even though we did interrupt her in the middle of baking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We recently spent 2 nites here and we were thoroughly disappointed. There has been minimal upkeep at this property inside or out. There was a film of dust throughout the room. The beds and pillows and linens were old. It was an expensive rate for a barely average room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were unimpressed in your stay with us. Crandell Mountain Lodge is an older property and we do our best to maintain our guest suites while staying true to our 'Grandma's Cottage' charm. We sincerely apologize the cleanliness of your room wasn't up to our typical standard of excellence, and we will do our best... More 

Osceola, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in mid-August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was convenient and just steps away from the walking trail in town and views of the Prince of Wales Hotel and mountains. The room was clean, the bathroom was spacious with ample shelving, and the bed was comfortable. The room gave one the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I spent two fantastic days in Waterton earlier this week. We had a Deluxe Queen room the first night and a Standard King the second. Both very clean and efficient rooms. Excellent location (5 minute walk to the restaurants) and great view of the Prince of Wales Hotel from the front of out hotel. Great value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were happy to score a room in the busy season at Waterton Lakes. The lodge is very easy to find (right there when you enter the town). We were greeted by Bob who was just making fresh cookies. It smelled delightful. Our room was spacious and we were delighted by the "bear" décor. There was twinkly pine trees and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Bears Den. What a better welcome than the smell of our fresh Crandell Cookies, you really lucked out! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and hope you have you back again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay