We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The scenic views of the water, fireplaces, spa tubs and easy access to a private little beach, make this place a real treat for relaxation. The bathroom had a heated floor and a bathtub that one could relax in (unlike bathtubs in those pricey name brand hotels). I wish I could've stayed much longer. Kettle and small supply of tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sal09
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at eh Galiano Oceanfront Inn. The location was excellent as we walked on and off the ferry....and it was less than 5 minutes from the dock. The room we stayed in was large and had great patio doors that opened up to a small deck and overlooking the harbour......which was 20 feet in front of... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJMS111
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We went for a few days and it is a great location to walk to most places. Wood burning fireplace and the scenic views make it a fabulous spot. We got a buy two nights get the third free so that was helpful. They also have cars you can rent for about 80 a day. No taxi on the island.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dlarocqu
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

This is a beautiful resort, very well maintained and great for a quiet getaway from Vancouver. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was very good. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quick getaway from the city.

Helpful?
Thank Pod87
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hi there Pod87, Thanks so much for the positive review, our favourite kind ;) I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, and your dining experience. We strive to be the "Island Getaway" for people in the city. It seems we did just that for you. Happy Holidays & Happy New Year, Jodie Jodie Bard, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

My wife and I decided to take a quick jaunt to Galiano for a weekend getaway. Please note that we went during the off-peak ("secret") season, meaning some amenities were not available. The good: The resort is well-situated, close to the Ferry Terminal and local shops, and offers great views of the water. Rooms are reasonably appointed and comfortable for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gru1979
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Gru1979, We're so sorry that you were disappointed! We always strive to be the best we can be, and if there are any issues we always try to learn from them. Our staff work hard, but mistakes can happen. And that is never good when a guest has to suffer because of a mistake. We're terribly sorry that this... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

The room was dirty and stinky. The therapist was sick and coughed all over me during my treatment and stayed with me in the steam room and kept on coughing inconsideratley and of course I caught her flu, I was sick for two weeks with high fever, sore throat, cough and nasal congestion. Afterwards they accused me of stealing and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle L
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, What you mention sounds terrible! This is the first I hear about it, and would be happy to chat about it further. If there is anything we can do to turn you around, please do let us know. We always ask that our therapists avoid treatments when feeling ill, as it is such an intimate situation. It sounds... More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Great location, quiet boutique hotel, nice room, excellent food, great spa. In fact probably the best massage I have ever had outside of Asia. Galiano Island is beautiful and easy to explore, quieter than its neighbour Salt Spring, less touristy with related pros and cons.

Helpful?
1 Thank dubaideb
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

My sister and I stayed at the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa for 3 nights for a getaway weekend. Galiano Island is such a quick ferry ride from Vancouver (Tsawwassen), and the Inn itself is walking distance from the Sturdies Bay ferry terminal, so the location can't be beat. Our stay included some lovely spa treatments, as well as a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DenaGig
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hi DenaGig, I'm so glad you and your sister had a wonderful weekend! Our Girlfriends Getaway is exactly for this purpose, to relax and bond. I'm also glad you received a Free Upgrade to a Villa, to help make the best of your stay. I hope we get the chance to host you again. Best, Jodie Jodie Bard, General Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Beautiful property with landscaping and gardens that are very elegantly designed. We spent almost 2 hours just taking photos of the amazing views of the property and the scenarios along the water. The hotel is only a few steps away from the shoreline and access to some stores and cafes. We dropped by the nearby Sturdies Bay cafe on both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Backyard2015
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hi there Sheauhwa, What a lovely review, thank you so much! It sounds like you had a great stay, and I'm so happy to hear that! You really did get to take advantage of all aspects of our little boutique resort. The SAMBA package is really perfect for offering the full experience. I hope you do get the chance to... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Having relocated to Victoria this year, there was finally time to ride the BC Ferries and explore some of the islands. Galiano Oceanfront Inn was highly recommended. We had an oceanfront villa and loved watching the ferries come and go in Active Pass. While the room was lovely, there was a water issue the second night. There is apparently quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oerworked_but_rested
GalianoOceanfrontInn, General Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Hello Oerworked, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, as we know there are so many options in our beautiful corner of the world to choose from. We're happy to host new comers to the West Coast, as you are. We're quite spoiled here. I'm so sorry you had problems with the water, it's very rare but... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

564 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (360)
Viewed
Amenities (142)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (71)
Viewed
Saturna Spa King Suite (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
8.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel, Restaurant & Organic Farm
Harbour House Hotel, Restaurant ...
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
10.1 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
3.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
21.8 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay