We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    53
    60
    31
    12
See reviews for
82
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in pods on many sites and always had a good welcome, a good location and it's been clean. On this occasion we were guided up a dirt path to what could only be described as a building site. The ground was full of weeds and hadn't been tended. The walk to either of the two shower blocks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. With regard to the construction of the new eco spa and toilet building, we have been telling everybody, at the time of booking, that building work is being carried out - you have our sincere apologies for not being informed. The weeds in the limestone... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The site has a lovely location in a disused quarry surrounded by mature trees. Often the only sound you hear is the birdsong although being on the approach to East Midlands Airport means the occasional aircraft flying over. Also occasional road noise from the busy A515. Toilets clean and warm, showers fine. We had Pitch 2 for our tent which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the area. The many upsides of being in the Peak District National Park such as the great scenery, walks & trails do have a slight downside in that deliveries from bakeries & other supplies are intermittent rather than daily, or non-existent in the case of newspapers, so we do get... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely run family site with friendly staff always willing to help. The pitches are of ample size for both caravan & awning & for relaxing. Showers & toilets are warm & kept really clean. There is a very cozy bar on site with a nice selection of drinks & food served promptly with a smile. Dogs are welcome &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review& hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing you see as you drive in is a load of rubbish (not cleared in the week we were there) and then a broken car that has obviously been there for goodness knows how long so you would think it could only get better and in some respects it did until I went to have a shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed, and somewhat frustrated that we have failed to successfully communicate our policy with regard to dogs and CCTV. Non- guide Dogs are allowed throughout the park except for just 8 pitches on one loop road (reserved for people who don't like dogs) the toilets, shop & kids... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alsop en le Dale hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Thursday afternoon to a gorgeous meadow pitch. There was a toilet block just a short walk from the field and the views were beautiful. There were only a few tents and the facilities were more than adequate. However by Friday evening the campsite had become so overcrowded people were turning up left right and centre seemed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights at Rivendale in July 2015, with our touring caravan. The site is in a very unusual setting in an old stone quarry, which makes it quirky, and is a mixture of camping, tourers, statics, cabins, pods and yurts. It is the mix I think which didn't particularly work for us, we found the pitches allocated to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbys
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked two pitches, for ourselves and son and family. Site ok, facilities ok, but could do with more showers to cater for the size of the site. Our electricity went off on the second evening and when we alerted staff, we were told it must be our fault and to try tripping the switch. The only appliance on in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. About 95% of the issues our guests have with the pitch power supplies are as a result of the outlet box having tripped out - which we do not regard as anybody's fault. On some of the older types of trip it is not obvious that the switch has tripped, and it has to be... More 

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited a week ago. I was made to feel welcome straight away. My dog was allowed into cafe which was excellent and the food was good value. We booked a POD as my dog is frightened of tents and was his first holiday. The Pod was just as I thought, basic, take everything you need when camping but the tent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a lovely couple of days at Rivendale. The staff couldn't have been nicer and very helpful. It's a large site in a quarry basin so you are surrounded by lovely rock faces. If you are a walker its superb and its in easy reach of Ashbourne which is a really lovely town. The pitch was ideal... Loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Had a week at this site. Real sun trap as in a quarry. Toilets and showers were very clean. Friendly welcome and very helpful with information about the area. Just across the road was Tissington trail and lovely walks off the roads through beautiful dales. The site had tents yurts and pods as well. The pitches were a good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
8.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
17.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel
6.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 8 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities