We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel GrandWest

3.0 of 5 1 Jakes Gerwel Drive, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
10
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is just perfect as it is just a small walk away from the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. The only big problem I got was the poor WIFI connection I got in the room 58... Sometimes even not possible to download Emails!!! Breakfast was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Airport the week before but this must surely be a much better option. Service were outstanding and the room was up to standard. Quiet surroundings made a good night's sleep possible. This was totally unexpected due to casino being in close proximity. RECOMMENDED

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're glad we were a good option for you during your travels. It's great that you had fantastic service and found the room to be up to standard. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night on business as it was the only hotel room available in the whole of Cape Town at a reasonable price (client's expense and the whole city was booked up for events at Parliament and a mining indaba). It turned out to be so comfortable and all I needed for a good night's sleep. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. It's really great to hear that you found the rooms to be well equipped and comfortable and that it was immaculately clean. We're also really chuffed that you had such fantastic interactions with our staff and that you found them to be friendly and helpful - something that we pride ourselves on. We look... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a pleasant surprise awaited us, as we had expected the hotel due to its locality in the Casino's grounds to be noisier so close to the Casino. The rooms are adequately sized, all basic conveniences, comfortable beds and best of all- Quiet! All Staff encountered were welcoming & very helpful, and the food at the little cafe looked quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

We thank you for the fantastic review. We're happy to hear that you found the rooms to be well equipped and comfortable and that you enjoyed friendly and enthusiastic service from our staff. It's also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the meals on offer and that your stay was pleasant. We hope to have you stay with us again... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is close to the Airport. Its an efficient hotel and is good value. Everything you need for a day or two, Highly recommended for the traveler - business or pleasure - really is just the right price and value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Front Office Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy to hear that you found your stay with us to be good value and that everything was run efficiently. It's great you find us to be well suited for both business and leisure travellers - thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

City Lodge is fantastically situated with easy access to N1, N2 and N7. We stayed there for two nights after a trip on the West Coast. You ae near the Century City Mall and on the Casiono grounds which gives you access to multiple entertainment and restuarants. Easy access to all main roads leading to the Waterfront and Newlands. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location and the surrounding facilities. It's also great to find that you enjoyed friendly and helpful service from our staff - something that we pride ourselves on. With regards to the standard of the rooms, we're happy you found them to... More 

Alexandria, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I stayed there for some days, as all Cape town was 98% fully booked and with the same price i guess i could stay in another better place. I didn't like the place so much as it was beside the casino. The hotel itself is good, and the staff is acceptable (not all are friendly). Rooms are good. WiFi, is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you liked our hotel and our rooms. We’re not so glad you did not like the proximity to the casino and that not ALL our staff were friendly. Please note that we are in the process of upgrading our wifi offering – so watch this space, as they say! More 

Porterville, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Second time that we have stayed there. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms, excellent breakfast selection. Very close to all Cape Town has to offer. Didn't get too much rest this time round due to other inconsiderate guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed friendly and helpful service from our staff, and that you found the room to be comfortable. It's also great that you enjoyed the breakfast options on offer. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! More 

Gauteng
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Probably the only City Lodge in the country with decent service. We attended a show at Grand West and booked the City Lodge. Every person we experienced displayed a commitment to customer service especially housekeeping. I have never met such a warm and friendly housekeeping team. I wish all City Lodges be focus on service the manner in which this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

We thank you for the fantastic review. While we do strive for consistency in customer service across the brand, we're really happy to find that you experienced such great and friendly service from our staff at this location. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and that you felt the staff would go out of their way to make you... More 

George, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This was our first (and last) stay. Our usual hotel was fully booked and our trip was very "last minute", so we didn't have a lot of options. Room half the size and double the price compared to our usual hotel. Bathroom not enough toiletries for 2 people, and an ancient kettle meant endless patience while we waited for it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay, but found our staff friendly. Please note that we are a selected service hotel – hence, no room service. We will certainly consider the issues you have raised. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel GrandWest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel GrandWest

Address: 1 Jakes Gerwel Drive, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel GrandWest 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel GrandWest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Grandwest Hotel Goodwood
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest Cape Town/Goodwood

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay