We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel GrandWest

1 Jakes Gerwel Drive, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    24
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
13
2
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been coming to the City Lodge - Grand West here fairly frequently over the last year. Primarily because of its proximity to the airport and my work. It's a fairly standard hotel, which is okay from a value for money point of view. They have recently upgraded their wifi. So that's a good thing. They have an excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had tried to book telephonically with the grand hotel (my first choice) and was TERRIBLY treated by frontline staff. It defied the principles of good client service and I was extremely upset! Due to this unacceptable treatment, I decided to NOT stay there and decided to call my second choice - City Lodge Grandwest. I was, by then, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that we were able to make a second impression. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I found the decor rather 'old school'. The hotel needs an upgrade. I found the rooms to be adequate, but not trendy. Did not use the Restuarant, did not use in room dining. The breakfast was fine. The area was cramped for breakfast. I would use the hotel again, but merely because of the convenient location for my purposes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Decent hotel for a overnight stay. The Breakfast is good and the staff is super friendly. Situated at on the doorsteps of Grandwest Casino. Try not to loose all your money and have a sleepless night in your hotel room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Stayed overnight, for the first time, in July 2015. The checkin was quick. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful. Breakfast was sufficient. Check out was quick and easy. Conveniently located at the GrandWest Casino and Entertainment World. I enjoyed supper at GrandWest and it was a short walk between hotel entrance and GrandWest casino entrance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Raquel. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

The perfect place to stay if you want to spend an evening at the Casino. The hotel is nice and modern, has nice friendly staff and provides a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. We stay there often as the Casino and restaurants are all in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review Teresa Fryer. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Travelling a lot for business I have stayed here on a few occasions. The hotel is close to our customers and I find it worth a review as a business traveller. The rooms are adequate and beds very comfortable. Wifi is available to the traveller but only for 60minutes per day. The Coffee shop inside the hotel serves delicious coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review Anton. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I stayed there 5 days and could not communicate to my clients...ciuld not phone...vet poor signal This is not for business or for holiday...id you cannot communicate to your clients It is easy to request for a booster from Vodacom to help with signal

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We will certainly take your comments to heart and do what we can to make the necessary changes. We certainly hope to see you again soon. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Although I was there for business, but the beauty that I have seen made me realise that next time I can take my family with for vacation, I am definitely sure that the will love the place. The nice thing about it is the fact that there is also plenty restaurant's room service at no delivery cost. Wow ...what a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for staying with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We look forward to having you and your family stay with us soon More 

cape town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We booked here only because we didn't want to drive all the way back to Kalk Bay after a night out, however I was pleasantly surprised. For some reason I expected an airport style big block city lodge but the building is Cape Dutch in style and built around a beautiful garden courtyard. The staff are all friendly and efficient,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us Tricia and we are so glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast offering, and found the staff so friendly and efficient... We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Goodwood
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
2.1 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
4.4 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
5.5 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
#1 of 1 in Pinelands
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay