We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel GrandWest

1 Jakes Gerwel Drive, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The City Lodge is great for an overnight stay. It has great service, great decor and a lovely pool to take a dip on a hot summers day. There's a nice bar for evening sundowners and the breakfasts are scrumptious.

Helpful?
Thank TeresaFryer
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The friendliness of all staff is exceptional. You feel at home. A welcome home made "Lemonade" awaits you on your arrival. The light meals available for dinner is excellent and the breakfast to choose and enjoy nearly for every taste. If you haven't tried them you probably have not experienced client service to talk about.

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very average hotel. Rooms are a decent size and clean. The hotel smells of smoke. I had a constant smell throughout the property and my room smelt awful. The hotel is next to the casino so if you're watching a show, great location.

Helpful?
Thank jarrodaston
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed whilst on a short trip to Cape Town for personal reasons. The hotel is not meant to be luxurious but the facilities and particularly the helpful and friendly staff make for a very enjoyable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they also followed up on help and advice to find out if it was useful... More 

Helpful?
Thank march117
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good stay. It is comfortable and clean and really worth the money if you live a bit far and don't want to drive home all the way after a show. The rooms have everything that you could possibly need.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mareze K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at City Lodge Grandwest for 3 nights, we are a family of 3..City Lodge site says that you can request a room with a sleeper couch if travelling with kids..however this was not the case because when we checked in we were told this hotel does not have sleeper couches in their rooms...non the less the receptionist accomodated... More 

Helpful?
Thank VanSAindian
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

Everything you'd expect from a City Lodge: clean, comfortable bed and room, generously stocked coffee station and a big shower and huge, deep bath. Great accommodation when in town for business and on the Grandwest Casino's doorstep. Very convenient.

Helpful?
1 Thank WillTravelPants
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

St. Helena Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Stayed at City Lodge for a show at Grand West. Check in and out very quick with very friendly staff. Hotel very clean and rooms spotless Convenient walking distance to Grand West Did not have breakfast so cannot comment

Helpful?
Thank RTallie
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

George, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Stayed one night for business purposes, did need accommodation for longer but hotel was fully booked. Rooms are spotless and equipped with everything you may need. Lovely hot popcorn and other snacks served in the lounge/bar in the evening. Within walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants. Staff helpful and friendly

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

There once was an ad on TV where the guy walks into the dining room and swimming area with is PJ's on! That is how comfortable he felt. Well this is one ad that is correct. Despite the fact that the rooms are not the most modern and latest designs the feeling you get at this lodge is one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarinusWillemstijn
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel GrandWest, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Goodwood
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.1 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
4.4 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
5.5 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
#1 of 1 in Welgemoed
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay