We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Goodwood hotels

Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adjoining BP service and Filling Station. At Cape Town International Airport, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Road Lodge Airport Cape Town to your Saves list
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
39%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Goodwood
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
CityGirlVibe Cape Town, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (81)
  • Photos (15)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (16)
  • More
true
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
13
37
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and accommodating staff. Room had a flat screen tv and heater.Didn’t have to check on the car the entire time as the premises had security 24/7. Great stopover. Rooms are clean & comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review! We're glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed friendly interactions with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! More

Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although the room was small, the beds were comfy and it was clean. It was just what we needed after arriving late from a flight. Not very homey but more than adequate for a fair price. Would use again in same situation but not as a first choice in my usual travels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

We thank you for the good review. We're glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I woke up in the morning absolutely surprised that I even fell asleep. My room had 2 single beds and I must have tossed between the 2, trying to find the better of the worst, at least 3 times. The sheets were so overused that they were sandy and I could feel every grain. I suggest you bring long winter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We're sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we will definitely look into the issues you have raised. We hope to see you again soon. More

Travelers are raving about these Goodwood hotels

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I, a VP, was informed by my Company that they required my presence in CT from 13-16 Apr '14. Being an Aviation Company, situated at CT International Airport, the Lodge was conveniently situated and "cost effective". The Capt of one of our aircraft stays there on a regular basis. I was, however, sceptical having read some of the unflattering reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the comprehensive review. We’re happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your experience at our hotel. We will look into the issue of the noisy aircon that you have raised. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed 1 night as our flight came in late and we didn't want to drive to our next destination in the dark. In my opinion it was an average hotel, perfectly adequate for 1 night as we only wanted a bed to sleep in after a long flight. Room was basic but clean and adequate and breakfast was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that you found our hotel adequate for your needs. We hope to see you again soon. More

Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had to stay overnight so that we might pick up a house guest at the airport. Reception was not that efficient and not that informative. Room was tiny and poorly furnished. No bath just shower stall. Bed was one of the most uncomfortable I ever had to sleep in. Room was on 3rd floor no elevator? Breakfast was included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We apologize for that the reception wasn't informative. This is a matter we will look in to. We believe that the rooms are reasonably sized for the price charged and the location offered. Please be aware that Road Lodge is the budget brand within the City Lodge Hotel Group and we believe it offers excellent... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. The rooms have been revamped recently and are very clean and neat. For the cost, the value one receives is outstanding. Breakfasts are also more than acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review. We are pleased hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More

London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Although our room was small and the amenities rudimentary, we found these adequate at the price. The proximity to the airport was the primary reason for this choice of hotel; I can't see any other reason to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon. More

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting. Oil stains and hair on linen. Bathrooms stained and uncleaned. Old furniture. Aircons make so much noice you can't sleep.DISGUSTED!!! They should be shut down by the health department.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

We're really sorry to hear about this, but also note that this review was for a stay in February 2013, almost a year ago. Since then, the hotel has received a major upgrade which has been very well received by guests. Dirty linen, however, is totally unacceptable, and we apologize for this. More

Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wasn't expecting much however we were really pleased with our stay here. A very friendly and efficient check in/out - and our special on line booking advice had been noted. The room was as you would expect for this type of hotel but was very clean,tidy and quite. Just what you need after a flight. In addition it was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Road Lodge Airport Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Address: Adjoining BP service and Filling Station. At Cape Town International Airport, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Airport Cape Town 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Road Lodge Airport Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Road Hotel Cape Town
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Goodwood

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Goodwood with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated within the airport precinct, the 90-room Road Lodge Cape Town International Airport provides convenient budget accommodation for travellers arriving in and departing from the “Mother City”. Cape Town’s CBD is just minutes away via the nearby N2 motorway and the Western Cape’s winelands and other hinterland attractions are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Road Lodge Airport Cape Town and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Airport Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer