We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pointers Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Wistow Toll, Wistow, Huntingdon PE28 2QH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pointers Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pointers Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

2 night stay in July 15. 50 minutes from Leicester Cathedral and Richard III and 40 minutes from Cambridge. Also reached Duxford Airfield in 45 minutes on Day 3. Stayed in the family suite with my wife and daughter. Very spacious double room with a good sized curtained room fitted with 2 twin beds. David is an excellent and welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for somewhere near Cambridge to base ourselves and see family . Pointers seemed ideally located . On arrival our host asked if we needed any guidance for the locality and he was very helpful . The location is very peaceful and the room we had was well appointed with scenic , tranquil views . Breakfast was ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Frank, Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Eileen. More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at The Pointers for 1 night while attending a course in Peterborough. David and Eileen were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble even though we arrived much later than intended. Everthing is to a really high standard, cleanliness, facilities, in fact probably the best B&B we have stayed in in the UK. Breakfast was perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Julie, Thank you for your wonderful and very kind review. We enjoy sharing our home with interesting and nice people, and you were both no exception! Do come back again - we look forward to seeing you. Best wishes, Eileen. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I had a lovely stay at the Pointers whilst I was attending a course nearby. David and Eileen were very helpful with directions etc. The room was lovely, clean and with everything you needed. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Sian, your words are very kind and it was our pleasure to have you stay for the week. We hope you are able to come back again soon. Best wishes, Eileen. More 

Monmouth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed in Pointers at the end of September; we came to our niece's birthday party, and had booked 2 rooms, for ourselves, and for our son and his girlfriend. What a surprise! It is immaculate, spotlessly clean and very spacious. The breakfast was lovely and served in a sunny conservatory. We were well looked after by the nice owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We have met so many great people over the past year that it really makes our efforts worthwhile, so this is perhaps a big 'thank you' to everyone who has joined us a Pointers during 2014. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Eileen. More 

Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

It's a funny one isn't it "the best B and B I've stayed in". That's what a previous review said. I've been to loads of best of this and best ever of that following recommendations and often thought, what are you talking about? Well I am pleased to say and with my 100% guarantee that The Pointers Guest House is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

How great it is to receive such a glowing review. Thank you both. We enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again next year when you visit Burleigh Horse Trials. I am sorry you did not have such a good opinion of our local pub, but in fairness a number of our guests have since reported favourably on... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I've stayed at Pointers a few times now. The rooms have always been impeccably clean. They are spacious and well furnished, the power showers are fantastic. The house and gardens are on a quiet road with little traffic which makes for a truly relaxing place to stay. There's a great conservatory overlooking well kept gardens and a few ponds, all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Martyn, we both know that having to be away from home each week to work is not the most pleasant of experiences, so we are delighted that your times with us have been comfortable and enjoyable. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

First night in England for us, and my daughter said she would like to live here. All the little touches make this a first class experience. We stayed in the family room, which was really two rooms. Very reasonably priced, and breakfast was 5 star. We caught the bus that goes on the old rail tracks from st Ives into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

You are such a charming family it would be our pleasure if you were able to come and see us again before you left the country. We hope you have lasting and fond memories to take with you back to New Zealand. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst attending a course at the Holmewood hall conference centre. I'm very glad I did my b&b research, as other delegates were not happy with their choice of accommodation !! beautiful countryside location with stunning views. Eileen looked after me, and spoiled me rotten with the full monty English breakfast in the conservatory every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review! David is sorry to have missed you - he was off fishing for more trout for the alternative breakfasts we offer our Guests. Simon, thank you and do come back again. I have lots more menu's you didn't get to try. Eileen, the youngest granny in Wistow. More 

Hulsberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Sadly, my daughter and I only planned one night at Pointers as we drove north to Yorkshire; a second night would have allowed me to provide her with her first visit to Cambridge. All the appropriate accolades reference hospitality, accommodation and food have appeared in previous reviews so allow me to bring up a couple of other points. Although the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eileen W, Owner at Pointers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay