We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mayne Island Resort

494 Arbutus Drive, British Columbia V0N 2J0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mayne Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mayne Island Resort
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are interested in a no hassle, fabulous vacation, the Mayne Island Resort is the place to go. Everyone was great. East to communicate with. Every employee made you feel welcomed and could not have been more helpful. Arrival and departure were hassle free. The food was great and the overall atmosphere was relaxing. My husband and myself were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend at this lovely resort. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. We were two families and we had one hotel room and one villa so when we asked for extra plates etc. for our dinner everything was there when we checked in. Our two boys, aged 22... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello American Friends, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am so glad that your family thanksgiving dinner in one of our cottages turned out great. Clearly you have read the previous reviews where their turkey dinner was not quiet as successful to put it mildly. And just so the readers are aware, we... More

Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had gone to Mayne Island resort for two nights, the first night was fine but the second night we had two mice in our room. We had booked two rooms together for two nights. When we talked to management about this issue and asked for a refund on the rooms they said that was fine. We went on September... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, I am the manager you spoke to who set up the refund that was offer to you, my name is Murray. First off I would like to say that I feel terrible about your experience. Even though we are in a very rural setting and there are plenty of critters outside, letting something get into the building like... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I just came from the resort and had a beautiful time. No complaints, the room was perfect for the two of us with a stunning view of the bay, and steps away from the water. If you wanted to venture the beach.. All and all amazing time and will visit again very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Nate, Thank you so much for your review I am very happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our Inn. I agree the views from the rooms are awesome and If I'm not mistaken think you were here to see a moon rise. The Inn rooms face south east and have an unobstructed view over the ocean... More

North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Beautifully situated property with excellent views and the cabins are nicely appointed but already showing signs of wear and tear. The advertised "fully equipped kitchen" is deceptive as there is no stove and no warning of that on the website. Can't imagine anyone staying on the Island for more than a few days without wanting to use a stove as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Nigel, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. FYI, I also responded to your friends similar review directly below. Please know that at Mayne Island Resort your reviews do not fall on deaf ears. We consider most of our reviews very helpful and appreciate all of them. Yes a fully equipped kitchen should have an oven.... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Our family of 4 booked one of the cottages for $300 a night for Thanksgiving weekend. My sister-in-law and her husband stayed in one of the lodge rooms and hoped to join us for a full turkey dinner that we planned to cook in the cottage because the resort website advertises a full kitchen. So we carefully brought our fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Good review Shannon, I am sorry we messed up your thanks giving dinner getaway. We actually do have a small counter top oven available but it is not big enough for a large turkey. I would like to let you know that reviews like yours actually do help us improve. As a result of your revue I have purchased a... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My husband bought a voucher for this resort off a social website - can't remember which one. We've never been to the island before and weren't quite sure what to expect. But we left very happy with the purchase and our stay. As far as the island, it's very small - we hit every restaurant in 3 days/2 nights. Some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Erin, thank you so much for the excellent review. You have provided the readers with lots of helpful information and tips. Just so people know, our restaurant is on winter hours and opens for lunch and dinner on weekends and dinner only weekdays. The voucher you booked with is a great deal, the vouchers have worked quite well in... More

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

…and wonderful location…too bad the ferry is so pricey...Room was fine except missing a few amenities…The restaurant was very good, really enjoyed dinner… Beach combing was wonderful as was the hiking trail, would like to go back and stay in one of the cabins next time, they look so cozy…Kayak rentals nearby, that's for next time too...

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Travelingteri, Thank you for writing a review. You covered some good points that will be very helpful to our tripadvisor readers. Please do try our cottages next time you come out, I know you will really enjoy the experience. I’m glad you enjoyed the restaurant; the operators read these reviews regularly and really appreciate your compliments. FYI, if you... More

Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We took advantage of the Social Shopper coupon, and got a "villa". My husband and I went with out two little grandsons. The villa was superb in all respects. The view, the table and chairs outside a big glass door, lots of light, and windows, very modern, wonderful soaker tub, etc. We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Cindy M, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay. I'm glad you mentioned that you also got out and explored the Island because there really is a lot to do and see. Just the other day I sent a couple to check out Lighthouse Park to view killer whales and sure enough... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed here for two nights off-season. The view is beautiful and the cottages are very new and well built. There is a path in front of the cabins which detracts somewhat from your privacy but it was quiet while we were there and there was only an occasional walker passing by. Service is a bit uneven and the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello EonCarr Your review of our resort and surroundings is very much appreciated and helpful. We are aware that our reception area can use improvement and we actually been planning to renovate this area when things slow down a little this winter. As for our customer service, this is something we work on and fine tune constantly but again we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Address: 494 Arbutus Drive, British Columbia V0N 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay