We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waring House

395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waring House
Professional photos View all
Waring House
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    76
    36
    33
    22
See reviews for
27
172
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
There are newer reviews for Waring House
See the most recent reviews
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a very pleasant first experience at the Waring House Inn during a recent 2-night stay. We found the service and reception to be very warm and homey. The room we stayed in was very modern and spacious; the quality of the rooms was a pleasant surprise. We had one dinner in the dining room (accompanied by live piano... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Robert from Richmond Hill, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. Feedback is shared with all here at the Waring House.. and we are glad, that you met the owners.. yes, they like to stay in touch with their guests. We are very pleased that... More 

Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I truly enjoyed our stay at the Waring House. It was our first time stay, and probably won't be the last. All the staff were very pleasant and beyond helpful, and the food was delicious. Their Countylicious package was fantastic. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello C L from Kingston, thank you very much for staying with us and writing about your experience on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your " countylicious" outing.. At this time of year, you will see us offering many specials, if you like to stay in touch, like us on Facebook or sign up on our... More 

Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff for making me welcome and contributing to what was a difficult (for me personally) weekend and making it one I will never forget. Great welcome - wonderful room and overall a great experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Sparky Marky, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this on Trip Advisor. Trip Advisor comments are shared with all here at the Waring House..Feedback is very important for us.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will visit us again. If you like to... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent an enjoyable weekend with my love at the Waring House. I'm going to combine all their facilities into this one review. If it's helpful you can pick what you'd be looking for in a stay: Barley Room Pub: Excellent... I love this type of place, close quarters, darkish bar, friendly service. They had a band Sat the place was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Opuscat from Ottawa, thank you very much for staying with us.. and for writing about your experience. Reviews are being shared with all here at the Inn and will help us to improve on our services and product. I have read your comments with great interest, and yes, we do have some issues in the newer building (noise) which... More 

toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself, my husband and another couple stayed at the Waring House for a weekend break to tour the wineries in the area. Unfortunately we got off to a bit a rough start when our reservations were a little screwed up. Not sure if was my own fault or just a misunderstanding but our room categories and rates were not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. S, I am aware of your experience here at the WH and most of the staff you had conversations with spoke to me about your conversations.. There are always 2 sides to a conversation. Perhaps there were some misunderstandings, some miscommunications and I personally had also a brief moment meeting you. I do hope when you return to... More 

Milton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

There are 4 ladies in our group, friends since first year University 1973. We wanted to spend our celebration in an environment that we all enjoy. We decided Prince Edward County with their wines, food, country side views and small towns would be perfect. We stayed at Waring House in their premium rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Gale from Milton, thank you very much to you and your friends for staying with us and for writing about your experience.Reviews are shared with all here at the Inn and it is such a delight to share your feedback. If you like to stay in touch with us, to receive up to date information about the area and... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I spent a romantic night in a king room with fireplace & double soaker tub this past weekend. The room was really lovely and cozy. The bed and the linen were really great, and luxurious. Breakfast, which was included was hearty, tasty and the service could not have been more friendly, accommodating or efficient. Minor, but important... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Aurora F from Toronto, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. Feedback is very important to us and it is being shared with all at the Inn. (good and not so good as well!) Our reservation department is supposed to explain all the room features... More 

Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did the 1 night at the Quaker Lodge with wine paring Dinner. We did the Sandbank wine tour with Richard in the afternoon then back for dinner. The dinner was a per set menu with wine paring for each course. Food was delicious. The waitresses were very knowledgeable about the wine. Was a bit disappointed that the entertainment stopped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Sandy from Bowmanville, thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. Feedback is being shared with all here at the Inn, it is very important to us and helps us to improve on our services and product. I am glad you enjoyed everything here at the Inn, but I also noted your comment about... More 

Kingsville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently had my wedding catered through the Waring House, and I have to say I was extremely pleased at the outstanding service I received from not only the event coordinator, but also the serving staff, and the chef. The food was to die for and my guests have not stoped raving about how much they enjoyed their meals. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Karen S from Kingsville. " Wedding Bells" Karen, thank you very much for entrusting us with your most important event of your life. And I am very happy that you took the time to write about your experience. Your feedback is shared with all here at the Inn and Norah, Chris (the owners) and myself are delighted about your... More 

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

overall great experience-their event planner made organizing the function seem easy..and even last minute changes were accomodated without hesitation -facilities clean,with up to date audio equip-meals were delicious, and the service in private dining room was commendable-pub menu varied and suited everyone-hearty breakfast included with overnight lodging -our group was accomodated in a variety of lodgings across the site, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Ainsle from Peterborough, thank you very for holding your conference with us and for taking the time to share your experience on facebook. Your feedback is being shared with all here at the Inn and it helps us to make improvements to our services and product. We do hope you will let your friends and colleagues know about your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question