We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waring House

395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Waring House
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

My husband and his 92 year old Mother attended the Waring House for Xmas dinner this year. Myself as well as my husband and his Mother also dined there last Xmas and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Although I could not be with them this year I was happy to make reservations on their behalf assuming they would enjoy their dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barb J
Harwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We went to country's icons on November 21 The waitress we had was rude, one person in our party is lactose intolerant when asked if we could substitute the sauce and cheese on a steak meal we were told that they could not make substitutions, we persisted and we're finally told, that an au jue could be served with the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We had a wonderful evening in the dining room last evening. Everything from the wait staff to the presentation of the meal, was perfect. Even though the dining room was super busy, the wait staff were very attentive to our staff of 14 throughout our entire meal. The meal was divine. Everyone person thoroughly enjoyed their entree. Thank you for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noelle B
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

We have just spent a weekend at the Waring House where we were married, having a small family wedding. I cannot say enough about how great the staff were with all the arrangements. The planning supervised by Henriette was perfectly complemented by a very attentive staff. The ceremony was conducted indoors as the weather was not warm enough to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patfillery
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

From the photograph of the property I expected this to be a charming beautiful old stone house in the country. Instead, it felt like a giant, two story trailer park in the middle of an empty field. Rooms felt cheap - think 80s motels - bad florals, Home Depot finishes, cheap electric fireplaces, deep green awful carpeting. I was really... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dardar14
Wolfgang S, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were not satisfied with your accommodation. As you might have noticed, we have different room types available.. and they are also priced accordingly. We do receive many complimentary comments and again, we are so sorry that you were disappointed. Pictures of our guest rooms are shown on the our website and if you do... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

This is or third stay (previously with fiends). Very comfortable rooms. Excellent food at the Restaurant and Pub bar. Always enjoy wine tours of the many wineries in the area and choices of good wines.This time we especially appreciated the staff from Reception dealing very competently with our "mini-crisis" of a missing medication box. All arrangements were made so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank adkaminski
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

The facility was nice and had a lot of character. Our room was in the main house and when we first went into it was boiling hot. We called the front desk and they turned the temperature down and by the next day it was fine. We ate dinner at the pub and the food and staff were great. It... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank canadasteve26
Wolfgang S, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Canada Steve, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are sharing Guest comments with all here at the Waring House and I have personally spoken to the server you mentioned. my sincerest apologies to you. Wolfgang Stichnothe Innkeeper More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We were travelling and stayed at the hotel and the meal was very good but the highlight was the entertainer....Greg Wyard. He was very versatile and able to accommodate any requests. .....we would definite stay again

Helpful?
1 Thank pandabear99l
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

From reading the reviews, it seems that different buildings/room types may leave you with different experiences! This review/rating is based on our stay at a king suite in the Heritage Lodge. The room was huge, with a renovated bathroom the size of a bedroom! A nice seating area with desks, fireplace, and TV, and a bedroom with a very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank bliss24
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We've stayed at Waring House a number of times, either in the main building or the "House Next Door." This time we had a deluxe room in the latter. It was a good size, with a bathroom that was better than ones we've had in the main building, where the plumbing seemed kind of iffy. The room was reasonably comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdncanada
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Espanola
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Drake Devonshire
Drake Devonshire
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay