We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Picton hotels

Waring House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waring House to your Saves list
Waring House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
65%
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Picton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
jash009 Newmarket, Canada
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    22
    23
    20
See reviews for
17
116
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Waring House for a girls trip during the Maple in the County Festival. From the time of reservation we were happy with the service we received. Everyone we spoke to over the phone was warm and courteous and our check in experience reflected the same. We stayed in The House Next Door, room 6. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Jash, Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience here on Trip Advisor. Comments are shared with all here at the Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am a little surprised about your comment about the vegetarian item, we always offer this option... and I will be checking... More

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was really expecting a stay at a old property with lots of history. I think this experience is limited to those staying in the main building. We stayed in the Quaker lodge which appears to be brand new and anything but historic. It is nice and clean but has the feel of a nice Best Western. I was a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Remmit from Niagara Falls, thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. Comments are shared with all at the Inn. I find it very interesting some of our guests prefer to stay in the more traditional rooms, others prefer to stay in the newer rooms... and I am sure you... More

Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the weekend at Waring House and we stayed in the Main House overtop the restaurant...The girl at reception was friendly and courteous. The Main House is Old but charming and clean and the bathroom is modern. The light in the bathroom is charming too, but not very good for putting on makeup! they really need another mirror with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Saloun from Sudbury, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. Guest comments are shared with all here at the Inn and it will be my pleasure to share yours.. We thank you for your comments about items needing attention.. If you like to stay in touch with us,... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a few days at Waring House last week. My wife and I were looking forward to a few quiet days in Prince Edward County. When we booked our reservation, we were upgraded to the Quaker Lodge. We were not informed by Waring House staff that the Quaker Lodge is NOT soundproof. When we checked in, we were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Norah R, Owner at Waring House, responded to this review

" Buyer Beware" I like to confirm the conversation you had with the Owner/Innkeeper of the Hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you had concerns about our sound proofing. I am pleased to tell you that we are in the final stages of completing all sound proofing and we do hope... More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had an incredible experience at the Waring House this past Friday evening. The service was impeccable, we received a room upgrade at no cost and also were given a box of local chocolates as a gift for our anniversary from Wolfgang, the Inn Keeper. The room was in the Quaker Lodge, and it was well decorated and spacious with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hello Fiona thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience.. It is always great to read these reviews.... and they are being shared with all here at the Inn... and yes, while it is a little different in the winter months.. there is still so much to do, our own Brewery, the wineries and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Was my birthday weekend. They sent a lovely btl of red wine to our room, which was a hot tub room # 12 in The House Next Door. It was small but cozy. The TV was very small as well, We were watching Canada vs Swedes, Yay Canada Gold. Food was lovely in both the pub and Amelia's Garden. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Hi Lynn and Rob, thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about it.. all guest comments, all feedback is being shared with everyone here at the Inn on a regular basis.. It will be my pleasure talking about yours.. Lynn and Rob, pass on your experience and come and visit us again soon.. Wolfgang More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in one of their lodge rooms with a hot tub. It was part of the romantic getaway package, and it was fabulous. The room was great, with a hot tub and fireplace, wine and chocolates upon our arrival, live music in the cozy bar, and a truly fantastic dining experience, as the food was absolutely incredible. You have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Kevin from Ottawa, thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience.. Feedback is shared with all here at the Inn and it is a delight to share your comments. You don't have to wait for another year, we have many great rates this time of year.. just check out our website waringhouse.com or... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family and I recently spent the weekend here to celebrate my birthday. My husband and I had the vineyard cottage which was so romantic with its outdoor hot tub for two! The food in pub was ok, regular pub food. The dinner in Amelia's garden was good not great. It was better when we were there 2 years ago.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Amanda W. from Toronto, thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience. Your feedback is being shared with all at the Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we acknowledge your comments about the meals and the furnishings. We hope we can improve your guest experience on your next... More

Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights during the Christmas holidays in the main house (Room 2). The room was old (not charming), dirty carpets, spiders in the bathroom, smell of mold, bathroom door that won't close unless you lift it and the most uncomfortable beds that we've ever slept i! We switched beds the second night and still woke with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear Janice from New Jersey, thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience.. we are sharing feedback with all here at the Inn I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.. I am wondering if you raised your concerns with someone... so sorry. some of our guests do enjoy... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed there December 18 and 19 on a internet deal. and it was a GRRRRRREAT deal!!!! $299 for 2 night accommodation in the best room available, breakfast for 2 people 2 mornings and a cooking class for 2 people including dinner. It was an amazing deal!!!!!!!!! The cooking class alone was $200. So we ended up staying in 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norah R, Innkeeper at Waring House, responded to this review

Dear " yourfunnyguy" from Toronto.. thank you very much for staying with us and writing about your experience. Your feedback is important to us and it is being shared with all here at the Inn. We are glad you enjoyed it and we noticed all your comments about the shower and the odour in the cottage.. We will hopefully address... More

Been to Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waring House

Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel
Waring House Hotel Picton
Waring House Picton, Ontario
Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waring House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia’s Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. Spa services in The Garden Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.