We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Picton hotels

Waring House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waring House to your Saves list
Waring House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
67%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Picton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Darlene R Peterborough, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (216)
  • Photos (115)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • More
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    64
    27
    25
    20
See reviews for
20
138
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to The Waring House several times. The rooms are lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Have never had a bad stay. Had heard that in the past, noise from adjoining rooms was a problem, but we never had an issue with this. Also, we understand that they have recently finished soundproofing the rooms, so this issue some people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my 4th visit to PEC in the last 5 years, we spent the weekend there August 15-17 during the Jazz Festival. We changed pace this year and decided to stay at the Waring House Restaurant and Inn. We booked a standard room and ate at Amelia’s Restaurant on the Saturday as well as enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our Canadian cousins wanted all their guests to enjoy the beautiful countryside in Prince Edward County and suggested guests stay at the Waring House Inn as is was convenient to the "farmhouse" wedding venue they selected. The property is spacious, well tended, with several different building types dotting the landscape. The prices were fair and our room was quite large.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of a special overnight deal.......one night, breakfast and dinner for 2 @ $249 + taxes and tips. Wine or other alcoholic beverages were extra. Four tickets to wineries were included. The property is lovely with a garden behind the restaurants where we could wander or sit. Breakfast choices had the usual suspects: French Toast, Pancakes, Bacon and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very glad to hear that your stay and dining with us was to your liking. Our kitchen staff will be especially pleased to hear how you enjoyed the food. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon. More

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always check out the burger of a new place. If it is awesome, then I will spend $50 on the lamb, which we all know, is often poorly cooked. My burger was overcooked, dry, and unappealing. Although it is summer, I went there on a Monday evening, and really? The service made me embarrassed that I left a tip.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay here was very nice. We had a beautiful room with a fireplace and a patio with a hot tub (we did not use either but it was great to have). Our room backed on to a farmers field and it was very peaceful. We ate at the restaurant and it was pleasant enough. Staff was very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

Thanks for your recommendation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at 3pm, which is the check in time. We waited to check in because there was only one person at the desk and she was on the phone and had quite a lengthy conversation with someone looking to book. An older lady walked in after us and was served first even though we had been waiting, which I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Waring House over the August long weekend. We had a spacious room in the Quaker Lodge with a large balcony (where we kept our bicycles). Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Our bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was included each morning, and the choice and quality was great - we particularly enjoyed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Waring House. The kitchen takes great pride in the food they serve and I'm sure they would be pleased that you found the dining agreeable. As for your areas of concern, we apologize that we couldn't offer late check-out. Without knowing the particulars in your case,... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent three nights in the Heritage building. Breakfast and dinner were included in the package and it was fabulous. We did the cooking school on one night and it was a great time with great food that we cooked ( with lots of help though). We even made the ice cream! although the room was nicely appointed, the walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll pass on your compliments to Luis, our executive chef and Jordon, our cookery school director. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Back to Prince Edward County after a few years with 2 other couples. My husband & I stayed in the Heritage Building which was a wonderful large room facing back fields with a nice balcony; quiet & private & very comfortable bed! Our friends stayed in the smaller rooms In The Inn & Place Next Door. neither had balconies and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

Thank you for your return visit. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and your meals with us. I'll tell Kim and Heather how much you appreciated their service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Waring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waring House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
Waring House Picton, Ontario

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia’s Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. Spa services in The Garden Spa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waring House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer