We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waring House

395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waring House
Management photos View all
Waring House
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    105
    90
    39
    36
    24
See reviews for
35
191
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pretty good selection from their menu I had a great pasta dish and my lodgings were comfortable, Will come back next time I'm in PIcton, If you have never been to Picton its full of charming little shops, B&B's and eateries which can be expensive or reasonably priced you have to search out the places that will meet your budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed In a Premium Room with a King Bed in the Heritage Lodge. The room was very clean, was spacious, and had a patio with hot tub. Our package included dinner (appetizer, main course and dessert) on one of the days and breakfast both days in Amelia's Garden restaurant. We enjoyed dinner so much the first night that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Waring House has a new chef, Nick Loshak. It was a surprise as I had not had a meal prepared by Chef Loshak in 10 years. And what a meal, farm and lake to table cooking by a wonderful chef. Several local wines on the list were not available, which was a shame as the Grange unoaked Chard was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were located in one on the lodges, I think it was the Quakers and we had a great room with a huge balcony and stunning views. The breakfast which was included was fab, I would highly recommend the pancakes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Currently a guest and cant understand what the foss is all about Lets start by the positive...the food is rather good,presentation & taste, easily getting a 7 on my scale (of 10) But the service....OMG...they need to teach their staff to smile and bring them to understand that the customer should be #1 and the reason why they are there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

Ottawa, Canada
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is nice, check-in was easy. No hair dryer in room, the amenities are a bit scarce and the tv choices are slim (after a day of visiting wineries, this could be important). The restaurant was disappointing - three of the wines we ordered on the list were not available (local "county" wines for which area is famous for,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you were generally pleased with the room. All of our rooms are equipped with hair dryers, so I'm not sure how that would have broken down. We're very sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant failed to live up to your expectation. The menu in the dining room has just been changed and... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The decor was nice and the grand piano was a lovely touch. The waitress was incompetent unfortunately, and made the kitchen look bad. They completely botched my food allergy issues (brought me scallops in soy sauce that was not gluten free, brought me risotto smothered in cheese and when I sent it back, brought me overcooked fish in a puddle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're so terribly sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with your meal. We try to be as accommodating as possible when our guests has food allergies or sensitivities. It seems, from what you've said, that on this particular occasion, we didn't live up to the proper standard. Please accept our apologies. We'll investigate what might have caused this... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Waring House with my wife for the weekend. We stayed in the Heritage house, one of 8 buildings on the property. We decided to splurge and get the room with the private outdoor jacuzzi. Only two rooms in the two floor building have the personal two person sized jacuzzi. It was the right choice for us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very glad to hear that you made such good use of your jacuzzi tub. We're sorry to hear that you found the noise problematic. We hope that you'll come visit us again. I'm sure you'd find the upstairs room more to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 2 nights in a premium room at the Waring House. The room was very large with a comfortable bed, a shower and a soaking tub. We also had a balcony with 2 chairs but the weather was not nice enough for us to use them. The breakfasts were excellent. We really enjoyed the pancakes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Milady and I spent a couple of nights at Waring House over the Canada Day holiday. We chose the two-night "Just For Fun" package which includes two breakfasts and one dinner. It was delightful. We were charmed from the moment we arrived. Waring House isn't just one building; there are 10 buildings on the property, including a restaurant, pub, accommodations,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Espanola
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
0.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay