We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Picton hotels

Waring House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waring House to your Saves list
Waring House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
65%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
fineinn Burlington, Canada
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    30
    29
    21
See reviews for
22
148
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had booked for the one night room, dinner, breakfast package on a Monday night on our way back from Mt Tremblant. We had stayed there before & asked for a room in the new building. Our room on the second floor was very spacious & clean with a walkout balcony. We loaded up the baggage trolley only to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you go for a lunch be very patient because the service is very slow. We had to remind the man who served us that we didn,t have all the afternoon for our lunch. He was very desorganized. The bread served was cold and our meal was ordinary. Lot of french fries and little meat or fish. We were desapointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this inn one night and enjoyed it. Dinner in the Barley Room Pub was good, standard pub fare. Breakfast in Amelia's restaurant was from a full breakfast menu selection, was delicious, and was included in the price of the stay. The beautiful setting takes advantage of the rolling rural countryside. Decor focuses on vintage, rural artifacts and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We last stayed at the Waring House some 15 years ago when it was comprised only of the main old house (the one in the photo) and one out building. Very warm and cozy at the time. Now they have a conference centre, a cooking school and several new buidlings with rooms - 'go big or go home'. I booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing I can say about this place is that the sheets smelled nice and clean. Unfortunately, that's about it for the compliments. We had 2 rooms in the "Main House" and one in one of the new (bland) buildings. One room in the main house had a mouse problem - staff caught and removed one when called in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed the night on a package, and were looking forward to the stay. The room was musty smelling. There was no fridge or waters, an ice bucket but no ice machine in the building. We were three people; there were towels only for two. The shower curtain had mould, and the tub drain was completely clogged. A lukewarm shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a mid week 'special' which included breakfast an apparent 'gourmet dinner' and an upgraded room as well as a ticket for wine tasting at a local vineyard. The room was well appointed, beds, totally snuggly comfy and large in the Quaker Lodge. But, vacuuming the middle of the room and not dusting, and cleaning out the nail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we got was a King suite, with a balcony. It was nice, large, and clean. The rest of the Inn was fairly nice, but the customer service was borderline terrible. The staff is sporadically rude, and has the tendency of making guests feel as though they are an inconvenience. It was a very strange experience to be treated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here and were very disappointed by the level of service (except at breakfast). There were numerous calls to book our 2 rooms with concern that they got it right. We did have 2 rooms when we checked in but they were supposed to be adjoining and were not and there was no concern that a mistake had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your service at The Waring House. While I'm glad to hear that your found your room nice and the food acceptable, we're sorry for the customer service problems you encountered along the way. This summer was a very busy one for us and we had difficulty keeping the hotel properly... More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a premium room in one of the two recently constructed buildings. The room and bathroom were both large and well appointed. We even had our own hot tub which was nice. The hotel is located slghtly to the West of Picton at the junction of Highway 33 (the Loyalist Parkway) and Municipal Road 1. It has both a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope we'll see you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Waring House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, RR 8, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waring House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
Waring House Picton, Ontario

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)