We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 , Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    637
    254
    94
    35
    14
See reviews for
200
633
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1034)
  • Mar-May only
    (210)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (374)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (268)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (182)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very nice place to stay and the views are outstanding. You are on the wild pacific trail so it is perfect to start your day with a beautiful walk looping back to the hotel for Breakfast of brunch. We stayed for 4 nights which means your room is not cleaned except for towel exchange and garbage removal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We didn't stay here, but boy do we wish we did. Our day was spent at the spa (very nice) and dinner (not bad). But it's the hotel that is the star. It's located on a rocky outcrop with crashing waves below. We could see into a few rooms and they looked amazing. If you want a true BC experience,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having booked this hotel almost a year in advance based on the rave reviews of many other travellers and for its breath-taking location, we were expecting great things from our stay at Black Rock however sadly, this was not the case. Yes, the scenery and situation was absolutely spectacular however, the hotel staff were far from welcoming and did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at the Black Rock resort on Tuesday 25th August, after an enjoyable drive from Victoria in the south of the Island. We approached a very impressive modern building with stunning views of the ocean front. After self parking our car we checked in where the front desk staff were pleasant and advised the hotel was full and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The views are spectacular!!! They have included an option to enjoy the ocean view even while in the shower or tub. Very nice touch to have a pebble surface in the floor of the shower. Love the quality of the kitchen features Would have been nice to have a 'small table' as the only surface is the a coffee table.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heather R, Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort and Ucluelet. Thank you for the feedback. We take all of our comments and track them so that when we are looking to make changes we are listening to what our guests are telling us! We hope to see you back at the resort in the future!... More 

White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading reviews and hearing about Black Rock Resorts from friends, I was expecting a WOW. Everywhere in Ucluelet and Tofino seemed to be short staffed including this resort. Front desk was great and the service in the restaurants was amazing, but getting in to eat was a huge problem. The recording for Fletch restaurant said last seating at 9,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Heather R, Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello, First I want to thank you for your comments. I am sorry to see that you encountered some cleanliness issues when you arrived. I do hope that you brought those to our attention so that we could remedy them. I know this should not have even had to happen. We have had a very busy summer on the West... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are spending our honeymoon at the Black Rock Resort at the moment. Not everything has worked out perfectly (fireplace did not work/ I never got an answer about a special request I made about our honeymoon), but we are still having a fabulous time here. The view from our suite is amazing, and I just had the best massage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heather R, Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the lovely comments about one of our Spa Technicians. We will make sure that he hears how much you enjoyed your treatment. I hope we have already resolved your fireplace issue - we do have the pilot lights off for the summer. I would be happy to help you out with your special request. Please contact... More 

Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed at. Dramatically beautiful architecture and views, excellent service, fine restaurant, all you could ask for and more. We stayed in one of the suites adjacent to the hotel, with a great view of the ocean, the sound of which came into the room. A bonus was the sighting of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heather R, Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! That bear is really enjoying his visit as well - lots of blackberries for him to eat. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Ucluelet! Regards, Heather Riddick Operations Manager More 

Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought this hotel would be the highlight of our holiday in Canada but it turned out to be rather disappointing. We had no view of the ocean only a few trees as we faced the opposite way and every time we opened the balcony door hordes of mosquitoes flew in. The room was lovely but so dark we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heather R, Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. I would be happy to speak to you about your experience if you would like to contact me directly. Regards, Heather Riddick Operations Manager More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were married at the Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. The entire experience was one we will never forget. The views from our balcony and from the restaurants were breathtaking from morning to night. The food was spectacular, especially if you get the opportunity to eat some of their canapés. The service was impeccable. Our family and friends all raved about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Bedroom suite(8)
  • Soaker tub(7)
  • West coast(7)
  • Very good(6)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

575 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (570)
Viewed
View from room (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (145)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#2 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay