We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Iqaluit hotels

Frobisher Inn

The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Frobisher Inn to your Saves list
Frobisher Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Iqaluit
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
snochasr Minneapolis, MN
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
2
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is probably the oldest and most deluxe of the few hotels in town. It's huge to tone form sits high up the hill and is easily seen from downtown. If you take a taxi from the airport you will find it easily, but if you rented a car it will be more difficult. Get a good map AND directions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Expectations need to be lowered when travelling to the north. Considering all of the challenges businesses face up north (heating; extremely poor internet; exorbitant cost to renovate), the hotel was quite good.Rooms were very dated but the beds were comfortable. Bring an eye mask if you are sensitive to light - the "black-out blinds" don't work at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, We are glad you chose to stay with us, on your trip to Iqaluit. Thank you for the feedback as this is how we improve. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at the Frobisher Inn on a few occasions in June 2014. This is the best hotel in Iqaluit. The quality of your stay will depend on which room you get. Some of the rooms are hot (25 degrees while others are very cold - only 18 degrees). If you have a hot room, even opening the window will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn..Reviews like this help us improve, they are all followed up on, and we take them very seriously. In regards to the cleanliness of your guestroom, this is not a common theme here at the Frobisher Inn, we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, and... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Frobisher Inn, and again, I had another pleasant stay - staff are friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be the inability to adjust the room temperature - which seems to be commonplace in many of the northern inns. Computers are available in the main lobby but wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, We are so happy you chose to stay with us again, on your trip to Iqaluit. and are very happy that you had another great stay with us. Thank you for the feedback, and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great food, fun pub, and a good nights rest after a long journey. The staff are very friendly and professional and I am sure this is the best hotel in the north! You can get authentic northern food at the restaurant and still enjoy a night out at the pub. I woke up well refreshed even though we had traveled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again More

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the Frobisher during a recent conference for a couple of days. I was very much impressed by the friendly and helpful service I received from the entire staff. That's the place I would go back anytime if I have to stay in Iqaluit. The wifi was extremely slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I spent a week here for work. I didn't have any great expectations and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It is situated up the hill a bit, so views of part of Iqaluit and toward the bay are lovely. I loved the central location with everything in easy walking distance. I found all the staff I met from maid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, its always nice to hear the positive and negative feedback, as this is the only way to improve. We hope that if you come to Iqaluit again, we can welcome you back. Thank you again for your comments, it is... More

terry
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stated for a couple of nights in March. Great service from the friendly staff who are quick to help. The food is great in the bar and the restaurant and there is a small shop for drinks, snacks etc. the wifi is a bit sketchy but it is free. Beware ten drunk locals bouncing off the walls leaving the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, its always so nice to hear the positive feedback. Thank you again for your comments, it is much appreciated, and I will ensure I pass on to all staff. More

Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, expectations of services up North must be altered to fit the area. The Frob in Iqaluit is probably the finest option in town. It's a little further from the airport or town centre than some of the other options but walking is not a problem most days, or a cab to anywhere in town is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we take all comments as a tool to improve, and we appreciate your positive feedback. More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Come to the Frobisher Inn with reasonable expectations. You will not find much in the way of big city living or services in Canada’s most northerly capital city, however, at the Frobisher you will find excellent personal service and reasonable rooms. According to others this is the best hotel in Iqaluit on a number of counts, and I suspect that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, its nice to hear the positive and negative feedback so we can improve. In regards to the maintenance issues in your room, I will ensure I follow-up and pass on the information. Thank you again for your comments, it is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Frobisher Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Frobisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frobisher Inn

Address: The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Frobisher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frobisher Inn Iqaluit, Nunavut

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer