We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Iqaluit hotels

Frobisher Inn

The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Frobisher Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Frobisher Inn to your Saves list
59%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Iqaluit
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LINDA A
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
3
6
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot deny the luxury of my room and the overall character of the staff - good folk who care about the guests. I expected the throttled ISP. No big deal. But the lobby is a security hazard as it is interconnected, I believe, with the mall. Today, at the Caribrew Cafe, 3 locals approached me and questioned my South... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was enroute to a new job over the Thanksgiving weekend. Due to a variety of unfortunate circumstances I missed my flight. I was devastated. This amazing hotel manager Findley was super supportive and offered me my hotel room for my 2 night delay at no cost and bought me breakfast to ease my burdens. Everything about this hotel impressed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Coming in to Frobisher during a ferry flight with a C182 from Halifax /Canada to Vienna/Austria we were very please to enjoy the wonderfull service and food.... Best regards ! Christian Husek, Vienna, Austria

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again More

Binbrook, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

this is the main hotel in town , pickings are slim , its a different style and way of life. the hotel itself is dated, but what do you expect way up there. Front desk is careing , you will notice a lot of native peoples/ art around. You just have to realize that you wont get all the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again More

Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed one night while passing through. Liked having a restaurant, bar, theater, and shop inside. You don't need to leave the hotel if it's cold. The hotel room was very nice and bed was comfy. I recommend staying here if just passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here as a pit stop before doing a trans-Atlantic crossing to Greenland. Given the remoteness of Iqaliut, we came with lowered expectations, which were met. Others have commented on this as well, but the problems include no usable Wi-Fi, inability to control room temperature, and terrible but expensive food and mediocre service. The arctic char that we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, I appreciate that you listed the positive and negative feedback, I will ensure that your comments/concerns are addressed with our department managers. We use all feedback as ways to improve our guests experience, and we thank you for your comments. More

Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It is probably the oldest and most deluxe of the few hotels in town. It's huge to tone form sits high up the hill and is easily seen from downtown. If you take a taxi from the airport you will find it easily, but if you rented a car it will be more difficult. Get a good map AND directions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, we value your opinion, and look forward to having you stay with us again More

Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Expectations need to be lowered when travelling to the north. Considering all of the challenges businesses face up north (heating; extremely poor internet; exorbitant cost to renovate), the hotel was quite good.Rooms were very dated but the beds were comfortable. Bring an eye mask if you are sensitive to light - the "black-out blinds" don't work at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, We are glad you chose to stay with us, on your trip to Iqaluit. Thank you for the feedback as this is how we improve. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at the Frobisher Inn on a few occasions in June 2014. This is the best hotel in Iqaluit. The quality of your stay will depend on which room you get. Some of the rooms are hot (25 degrees while others are very cold - only 18 degrees). If you have a hot room, even opening the window will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn..Reviews like this help us improve, they are all followed up on, and we take them very seriously. In regards to the cleanliness of your guestroom, this is not a common theme here at the Frobisher Inn, we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, and... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Frobisher Inn, and again, I had another pleasant stay - staff are friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be the inability to adjust the room temperature - which seems to be commonplace in many of the northern inns. Computers are available in the main lobby but wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMFrobisherInn, General Manager at Frobisher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Frobisher Inn, We are so happy you chose to stay with us again, on your trip to Iqaluit. and are very happy that you had another great stay with us. Thank you for the feedback, and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Frobisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frobisher Inn

Address: The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Frobisher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frobisher Inn Iqaluit, Nunavut

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay