We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Grande Cache hotels

Big Horn Inn

100 | 10019, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E0Y0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Big Horn Inn to your Saves list
Big Horn Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
45%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Grande Cache
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014
Edson12 Edson, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Edson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Rooms were cheap and service was great, had no problems. Much better then when I stayed 5 years ago, rooms and restaurant and bar have been completely renovated. Wasn't expecting much for a small town but for the price you can't go wrong. Restaurant and bar both within a 20 second walk which was awesome cause of the cold!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, for new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744 More

Regina, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We were provided with a nonsmoking room, but clearly for the smell in the room, and for what remained on our clothing when we left the room, it was not. The gentleman who checked us in was not friendly and it almost seemed like it was an convenience for us to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Many racers came early on Wednesday and Thursday and were happy to use the extra nights not used for training free of charge and we even offered guests an extended stay for the prepaid death race training package. We had no complaints at the time about the non-smoking issue or else we could have transferred to another available room. Thank-you... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The owner(s) of the motel were very friendly. We checked in around 8:15pm and the lady at the front desk was very nice! We traveled with a group of 5 people and one of the group members happened to leave her purse in the last town that we had stopped at. We were scrambling around trying to locate her purse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Im sorry the restaurant does not offer a cheap continental breakfast included. We have a restaurant on site which offers large muffins from Costco and they do offer fruit bowls and cold cereal. The rooms have been updated and are maintained. Thank-you. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work and there was stains on my sheets, which I removed and a hole in the bathroom door that had some gross stuff around it. The bathroom also smelt mouldy. Service was friendly, and location couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

We inspect all the rooms yearly and fix them. Sorry not from Tripadvisor. Thank-you. More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was just good luck coming from bad luck that we ended up at the Big Horn Inn during the Death Race weekend. This is an old hotel that is being updated. The best update was the family who now owns and runs it. They were so friendly and you can tell family and customers are everything to them. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Death Race reservations begin February, its good to book early but the hotels always have cancellations during crunch time. Hope to see you again Debbie and family, and future racers. Go Death Racer! More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews we decided to stay here but were very disappointed. The rooms were clean but poorly maintained and not updated. The shower stall was broken and the caulking around the tub was nearly black and peeling. The beds, blankets and pillows were old. There was a nice modern coffee maker and microwave and the fridge worked though the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Front desk may have accidentally given you a smoking room currently reserved for industry workers and under repair. We have king suites in our second non-smoking building. We do have queen rooms however, for the travelling public which may have been full, and after reading your review, will prompt us to install new queen beds and coverings. New fridge and... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

The rate was very inexpensive at 80.00...but the rooms are extremely dated. The wireless internet didn't extend to my room. No Kleenex in room either which I noticed as I had a cold. Having said that the room was clean and quiet, and as a place to sleep on a trip it fit the bill. There is no pool or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bighorninn, Front Office Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Our rooms have standard amenities, such as fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, telephones, and yes kleenex too. All for the same price. I am on site at the front office and could have brought the kleenex to your room and help you connect with the internet. No problems there. Our rooms have new beds and new carpets. The bathrooms however do... More

Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Grande Cache is a nice stop for in between trips to northern BC and Alaska. I tried the other indoor type hotels before and wasnt too happy. This one made me happy because I could park in front of the room and keep an eye on my vehicle and valuables. The rooms were well maintained. The owners were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, for new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744 More

Rigmaster
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I checked the accommodation directory for alberta and this motel was approved,reasonable price and had a restaurant and lounge with free wireless, i had a lap top for work and the free wireless actually worked at this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, For new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744. More

Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I had a reservation here and when I pulled in, I decided to keep driving for safety reasons. I was by myself (female) and the rooms had very poor security and smelled of urine and smoke. The Best Western in town (very nice) didn't accept pets, so I kept going to Hinton and got a much nicer room at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Our motel is inspected yearly and is approved for Alberta accommodations. One of the requirements is to have a double bolt lock, and windows with screens which lock and we have both of those. We have one building which is completely non-smoking. Travellers like the mountain fresh air of Grande Cache, and the safety of the community, which is why... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Big Horn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Big Horn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Inn

Address: 100 | 10019, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E0Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Grande Cache
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Big Horn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Inn Grande Cache, Alberta

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Grande Cache with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 Upgraded ground floor suites. 7 Second floor with mountain view. King/Queen beds. Family Restaurant and Sports Lounge on site. Kitchenettes available. High speed internet. 32 Inch flat screens tv's. Area 780 pref 827 code 3744. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
37

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Big Horn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?