We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spencer on Byron Hotel

4.5 of 5 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 1306, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    193
    74
    30
    14
See reviews for
81
164
34
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (482)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Gaylord, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here on 2 different occasions this month. I would not have returned had it not been prepaid because: Our first stay was cheaper/night and involved a mattress which was obviously on its way to the dump before it was dropped off on the fifth floor. We even requested a better mattress but nothing happened. The carpet was stained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic view of Auckland from 12th floor. Very friendly and helpful at reception & in Dining Room where we had 2 very nice lunch Specials. Free internet not really satisfactory as once logged on the clock starts ticking and even if you only use it for 5 minutes the entire hour is used. Not a great issue as we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Spencer on Byron is situated in a primo spot with great views all round. We stayed in a studio unit on the 11th floor. As most hotels go it felt like everything was an extra cost and the kitchenette could have been equipped a bit more as it only had bowls and no other plates. Oh and a note... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After 2 weeks in a camper van, we wanted to enjoy a bit of luxury and a relaxing time near the beach. Our wish came true. We got surprised by an upgrade to an apartment suite with a stunning view towards the sea. I spent a lot of time in front of that huge window, watching bubbly Takapuna and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Absolutely worth staying in this hotel! Close to the beach, bus stop to the city, and amenities that Takapuna has to offer! We were upgraded to a apartment suite and fantastic! Even Though it looks that rooms need updated, it's mixture of modern and old makes it cosy! Staff very professional and were there when needed! Will definitely stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Messing up reservations. Poor skills at reception handling the messed up reservation. What good is a hotel if the service is like this?? This was a business trip and the quality of the reception was so horrible it was so embarrassing for us, who recommended the stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

hello binzi1, thank you for your custom and for your comments, which I was very disappointed to read. I am following up with my team to find out more about what has happened so that I can address the situation. I am sorry that you were not happy and will work hard to improve our service as our online and... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First the good points ; It's on the North Shore, the rooms are spacious and the staff polite. But - the parking arrangements are very irritating. While it might be necessary to rent out space which is unused by hotel visitors, it seems ridiculous to have the 'Hotel Use' spaces dotted around the parking area. If they were grouped together... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ajframpton2014 and thank you for your comments, I appreciate your custom and was disappointed to read that you were not as happy as you have been previously. I would love for you to come back and would be pleased if you contacted me directly should you need to so that I can look after you personally. Best wishes and... More 

Doha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Spencer for 8 nights in January of this year. There were certainly positive and negatives to my experience, so let me start with the positives. The hotel is in a great location if you are looking to stay on the North Shore of Auckland. Takapuna is a great base, while still being handy enough to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here whilst travelling around North Island. The service was excellent. We thought the wifi was very overpriced (at $20 per day) but were actually given it complimentary in the end. Good gym/tennis courts. Only fault is that air conditioner wasn't working on the last night. Lots of people on here have complained about parking but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Very comfortable with full facilities. Nice to be able to open doors to small balcony allowing natural air flow. Staff very friendly and helpful. Managed to get an on site car park every night but definite lack of spaces. Bathroom starting to show its age but still nice. Bed very comfortable which is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 1306, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay