We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Hotel website
9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    191
    210
    82
    31
    14
See reviews for
90
178
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (528)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (146)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stay here 2 - 3 times a year. Usually get a 1 bedroom apartment, or sometimes a standard room, however, all are spacious. Good sized beds. Could do with warmer covers in winter. The hotel is roundish in shape, so nearly all rooms have a view, either towards the city or the coast. Good supply of toiletries and the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed one night because we were joining a tour the next day, the room was spacious and clean, fantastic views of Auckland from the bedroom and lounge, could have stayed there a lot longer if we hadn't been joining the tour so comfortable, quiet, a lovely hotel. The food was lovely too, a large buffet catering for several tastes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in a nice room with a great view. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was conveniently positioned for a short drive into Auckland. We did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant, but other guests said it was good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay close to,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here because it was close to family, with whom I could not stay because of being mobility-handicapped. The suite had grab bars for the shower and a raised toilet, amenities that I now require at home and when staying away from home. I was told by the manager that there is one suite like it on every floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Spencer for two nights 28th-30th April 2015. We requested a room on the upper floors which I would recommend doing when you book. We had a superb view of Auckland from our room. The room was large and very clean with all services you would expect from a quality hotel. We (I) left our wedding gifts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, close to Takapuna Beach and a load of cafes and restaurants. Fantastic view from the room. Beds were comfortable and clean room. However a very tired looking hotel. Carpet worn in places and furniture in public areas looked scruffy. Checking in or doing anything with staff at Reception was a nightmare. Lengthy queues, questions not able to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tanya, Thank you for your review – you will be pleased to know that we have new furniture arriving next week for our lobby and bar. We are also in the process of methodically replacing carpet, so next time you visit, I am sure you will notice a difference. I was concerned to read of the issues you had... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel in February 2015 while attending a family wedding in Devonport. The Spencer on Byron is centrally located in Takapuna and is one of only a few multi storey buildings - great views

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
bop
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful Hotel, very Clean, nice view, free internet during our nights stay We booked a suite and an interconnecting studio, after having a busy weekend and it was 5pm we decided to stay instead of driving 4 hours home. We picked this Hotel as our daughter had lived on the North shore for 3 years and we had always wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kjbBop, Thank you for your review - it is disappointing to read that your stay was not to the standard we pride ourselves on at The Spencer. We have identified the room you stayed in, and the issues have been rectified. Our team have been spoken to, to determine why these had not been discovered before you checked into... More 

Mangawhai, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked on line. We received the usual courteous reception. The added difference from our last stay was a $10 parking fee. Cleanliness, and amenities were of the usual high standard and a very comfortable bed. Our breakfast was superb but always is. Wifi was offered but we don't use it. Superb views again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay