We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cove Inn

Certificate of Excellence
139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smugglers Cove Inn
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
95
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Halifax
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in Lunenburg many times but haven't been here yet so we wanted to try it - what a nice surprise! The room was beautiful, the little deck had room for us to sit out and we had a lovely view of the water, it was just perfect. It's on one of the main streets but not right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although my visit was primarily business, my husband did accompany me allowing us to spend a second night. Room was lovely- spacious, bright and comfortable. Loved the bed and it's covers. Bathroom was not large but bathtub makes up for any lack of size someone might feel. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, especially when hit for an additional night's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eva Z, General Manager at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Smugglers Cove Inn. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay and looking forward to seeing you in the future. Cheers from beautiful Lunenburg. Eva Ziegler More 

Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We had a lovely room with a view of the water. It was clean, safe, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. The hotel restaurant was not open during our stay and they directed us to another establishment, The Grand Banker, it was so good we returned for a second night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yarmouth NS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Love staying at Smugglers Inn. second, but not the last itime. Thanks Eva, and other wonderful Front Desk WOMAN, who gave us SO much info re the TOWN Loved every minute of our stay there. Quartet Gallery, Kates, Grandd Banker, the concert at LAMP.. Perfect weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Vera, the Innkeeper, was very helpful and friendly. A nice place to stay after a great concert. We have stayed in Lunenburg before but this was the nicest of all the places we had been to. It was recommended to us by friends who've been to Smuggler's Cove before and we will definitely recommend it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed on a freezing night in January and was happy with the comfortable room. The bathroom was cramped but adequate, although the hot water took a very long time to arrive at the top of the building. This is an old style hotel rather than a modern box so some compromises are unavoidable. Reception staff were friendly and efficient, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying in our establishment. We do regret that you could not find any breakfast facilities in town during your stay. Not only our place was closed even other Cafes were closed for the winter. During check in, you were informed that our attached restaurant is closed and within a heart beat, we would have arranged... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had a great stay at Smugglers Cove! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was adorable, bright, clean and cozy. Great location to walk around the whole town. I read through some of the other reviews and people are being VERY nitpicky if they think it was too small, old, or not a good enough view. We stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We found the room pictures were accurate but old. Room was clean but very small. Stingy on coffee for the room, even when we asked for more decaf we got one packet. You do get a breakfast discount coupon if you eat in their restaurant. Bathroom is tiny as well. We did get a small balcony altho it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. It is really sad that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. Especially since we updated this particular room just a few weeks ago. New duvets, new floor, fresh paint etc. It is really unfortunate. I can understand your frustration in regards of traveling with a truck in a small little... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary in October. Check in was fast and friendly, great location, walking distance to restaurants and waterfront. The elevator and hallways kindda smelled of oil or something, not pleasant BUT our room smelled fine and was nice and clean. We had a King room with balcony which was nice but I thought we'd have a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently located right on the main strip in Lunenberg. Very convenient walk to several restaurants and the marina where the Bluenose II is docked. We had a water view not a waterfront view but it was very nice and we totally enjoyed this place. We had the most comfortable bed. There are discount vouchers available for breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay