We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cove Inn

Certificate of Excellence
139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smugglers Cove Inn
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
94
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a lovely room with a view of the water. It was clean, safe, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. The hotel restaurant was not open during our stay and they directed us to another establishment, The Grand Banker, it was so good we returned for a second night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yarmouth NS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love staying at Smugglers Inn. second, but not the last itime. Thanks Eva, and other wonderful Front Desk WOMAN, who gave us SO much info re the TOWN Loved every minute of our stay there. Quartet Gallery, Kates, Grandd Banker, the concert at LAMP.. Perfect weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Vera, the Innkeeper, was very helpful and friendly. A nice place to stay after a great concert. We have stayed in Lunenburg before but this was the nicest of all the places we had been to. It was recommended to us by friends who've been to Smuggler's Cove before and we will definitely recommend it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed on a freezing night in January and was happy with the comfortable room. The bathroom was cramped but adequate, although the hot water took a very long time to arrive at the top of the building. This is an old style hotel rather than a modern box so some compromises are unavoidable. Reception staff were friendly and efficient, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying in our establishment. We do regret that you could not find any breakfast facilities in town during your stay. Not only our place was closed even other Cafes were closed for the winter. During check in, you were informed that our attached restaurant is closed and within a heart beat, we would have arranged... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had a great stay at Smugglers Cove! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was adorable, bright, clean and cozy. Great location to walk around the whole town. I read through some of the other reviews and people are being VERY nitpicky if they think it was too small, old, or not a good enough view. We stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We found the room pictures were accurate but old. Room was clean but very small. Stingy on coffee for the room, even when we asked for more decaf we got one packet. You do get a breakfast discount coupon if you eat in their restaurant. Bathroom is tiny as well. We did get a small balcony altho it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. It is really sad that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. Especially since we updated this particular room just a few weeks ago. New duvets, new floor, fresh paint etc. It is really unfortunate. I can understand your frustration in regards of traveling with a truck in a small little... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary in October. Check in was fast and friendly, great location, walking distance to restaurants and waterfront. The elevator and hallways kindda smelled of oil or something, not pleasant BUT our room smelled fine and was nice and clean. We had a King room with balcony which was nice but I thought we'd have a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently located right on the main strip in Lunenberg. Very convenient walk to several restaurants and the marina where the Bluenose II is docked. We had a water view not a waterfront view but it was very nice and we totally enjoyed this place. We had the most comfortable bed. There are discount vouchers available for breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently located right on the main strip in Lunenberg. Very convenient walk to several restaurants and the marina where the Bluenose II is docked. There is no parking available at the hotel so we had to park behind the hotel on another street. Metered parking but free after 5 and on weekends. The room was a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This is a comfortable and well run hotel. Our room was at the side and had a small balcony. The hotel is in the centre of this very small town and just a few yards away from the waterfront. Parking is on the street but charges can be avoided by arriving after 17.00 and leaving before 10.00. Breakfast is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question