We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cove Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Smugglers Cove Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    74
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
33
104
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice Cental location, third floor water side has beautiful views of harbour. Across the street from two of Luneburg's top restaurants The Saavy Sailor and Magnolia' Grill. Room was comfortable with nice view, there is an elevator, otherwise lots of steps to climb to 3rd floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We showed up without a reservation. Christina was very pleasant and provided several room options. ( we chose the king with a water view ) Great room, very clean, nice view and plenty of clean fresh towels. Christina also went above and beyond in suggesting places to eat, drink and visit while in Lunenburg. All of which were absolutely great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Showed up in Lunenburg with no place booked to stay. Was very busy and we lucked into a king bed room here. A woman answered the phone, was very polite and let us know where to find them. The room was perfect! Smaller but everything you need for a night. Clean and bright, large comfy king bed, AC and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Smugglers Cove Inn was a good find through TripAdvisor. Overall very comfortable and friendly. We had a very nicely decorated room painted a bright yellow. It felt a bit like a seaside cottage look. As a by-the-by the shower was the most powerful I've ever come across! So a great pla e to stay with a good breakfast restaurant next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were referred to the hotel after one night at the Rum Runner Inn because the Rum Runner didn't have any vacancies available for a second night. We enjoyed Smugglers Cove even more and extended our visit longer. Staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the room was up to date, clean, bright and comfortable. For some reason, because the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in Lunenburg as a break from camping we stayed in the inn. Staff were friendly and helpful. Interior decor was nice with exposed beams in the room. But beds were hard and air conditioning did not work well at all. So over all a so so kind of night. Beautiful town though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very sorry, that our air condition wasn't working properly during your stay, it is repaired now, nevertheless it is very unfortunate that it happened during a busy and warm time. Thank you for staying with us, Eva Ziegler More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was very clean. However we arrived to check in and they overbooked and we were told they just switched over to a new computer system. Luckily we had our confirmation email stating we were booked. The room was extremely hot and the heat pump was not suitable for the size of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our air condition was not working properly. However, it is repaired now and in best working condition. You were completely right, we forgot the 3rd towel and I apologize for this mistake. I hope it was fine for you when I dropped it off early in the morning, as you asked me to. I still... More 

Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel covered the basics well--the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, free WiFi was provided and it is in a great location (within walking distance to pretty much anywhere touristy). Like much of Lunenburg parking is at a premium; we were provided with a parking pass for a small lot across the street and over a few buildings,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

"The town lay-out was determined long before any accommodation for cars or parking could be considered by urban planners and we actually have a UNESCO World Heritage site designation relating to that fact." (Lunenburg Town Office) We are very lucky to have a small spot for parking, unfortunately we can not have bigger one, due to UNESCO restrictions. I apologize... More 

Saint John, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In this day and age with every hotel letting the kids stay for free, this place is not recommended. Although it was only $20 it is just wrong to charge additional fees on children. Room was very small and air conditioning did not work, which was needed on this hot day. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our air condition did not work properly during your stay, it is repaired and in best working condition now. As we state in our policy children til the age of 12 enjoy a free stay in our establishment. Once again, we apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. Best regards, Eva Ziegler More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We sought solid basics and found them and much more. The inn is in the heart of Lunenberg, perfect for walking to everything. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, fully equipped with kitchen, and a small outside deck. There was an elevator and the free wi-fi was strong and the cable tv easy to operate. The staff allowed us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#13 of 30 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 30 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay