We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Matane hotels

Riotel Matane

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Riotel Matane to your Saves list
Riotel Matane
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Matane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Baglen Maine
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    60
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
60
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We selected this hotel due to its proximity to the ferry and that it was right on the water. We were not disappointed. The view from our room was wonderful, and there is a small beach right there along with a couple of fire pits and chairs. We had a beautiful sunset. The front desk staff in the evening were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for submitting your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you have appreciated the comfort and the equipment of the room and that you enjoyed our location on the seafront, that is actually one of our strengths because it allows our customers to enjoy a breathtaking view of the St. Lawrence River. On the... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here on July 6 2014. We had a city view room and it appeared to have been renovated recently with modern furniture and fixtures. The check in was fast and staff were very helpful when it came to finding restaurants for breakfast and diner. The hotel is having an new addition built but this did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions with the tripadvisor community. We are glad to see that you have appreciated your experience at our Matane property. Your feedback is really important , especially knowing how much time we spent enhancing our hotel and improve our services over the years. Regarding breakfast, we feel as a 4... More

Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice rooms in a quiet location, near everything but not downtown. Beautiful sunsets just outside the door over the St Lawrence Seaway. Unfortunately, pool was not functioning. Friendly and helpful staff. Fire pits and wood provided, as fires on the beach are not allowed. Bring your own marshmallows and sticks, they don't have any on the premises to give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for submitting your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you have appreciated the comfort of the room and that you enjoyed our location on the seafront, that is actually one of our strengths because it allows our customers to enjoy a breathtaking view of the St. Lawrence River. Our heated outdoor pool was... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overpriced with old battered furniture. Windows were dirty. A power lift was outside our window when we checked in and work and noise went on until about 7 pm. Not nice after being on the road all day. The bathroom was so small you almost had to back in to get to the toilet. I would say it is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for submitting your comments on tripadvisor. Regarding our accommodations, we constantly improve our rooms on a yearly basis: For example, all the rooms in the main building have been entirely redone (bathrooms, new furniture, appliances, flat tv, air conditioning, carpet, etc). Rooms on the 3rd floor (the floor you were staying), have been completely redone in... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arriving at the Matane Riotel we were shocked to discover it was in the middle of a complete rebuild. The front of the hotel is being entirely reclad while on the sea view side where we stayed new balconies are being inserted. Next to the guest block a whole new wing is under construction.Fortunately for us we arrived on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Good day We deeply regret any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us due to the renovation project. Riôtel Matane is currently completing the renovations at the existing building and performs additional facilities in a brand new building in order to be in a better position to serve our customers. The renovation of the existing building started at 9:... More

Labrador City, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

After driving across, NS, NB & the Gaspe Bay Peninsula, we wanted a good rest before getting the early morning ferry to Godbout. We stayed here before in the Pavillion portion in 2013 and were really happy with that. This time, they had us in the main building with a room facing the water. We were really pleased with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Good day, First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Riôtel Matane. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides... More

Labrador City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff. The restaurant is 5 star! I like everything about this hotel! Very beautiful rooms and I had mine overlooking the water! It's very modern yet feels like going to the cottage!! :) I will stay and recommend to my friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Good day, We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the pavilion part of the hotel, not the main building, but it was still a pleasant experience. Room was very clean, internet was free of charge, fridge available, very comfortable bed and a view of the St.Lawrence gulf/river. It's right next to the beach. It's too bad the restaurant there is a tad expensive for ok quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour, Premièrement, je voudrais vous remercier personnellement du temps que vous avez pris pour nous écrire vos commentaires à propos... More

Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as was awaiting the ferry to Baie Comeau. We stayed in the motel section. Great new rooms and services! Right along the beach. Will definitely be back in summer! Highly recommend! 2 mins from the ferry terminal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci, C’est toujours un plaisir de lire un commentaire aussi constructif que celui que vous avez rédigé au sujet de... More

Eastport, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found the Riotel Matane to be a top hotel catering to a mostly business clientel. The staff was friendly, the room was spotlessly maintained, and the food was great. We felt that because of the large number of business clients that the staff was more business oriented and less tourist oriented. We understand the reason for this but felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SHG622013, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review

Good day, We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Riotel Matane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Matane 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer