We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernie Stanford Resort

#6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Resort
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Fernie Stanford Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    48
    21
    14
    11
See reviews for
70
35
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a room backing on to the deck with the hot tubs and had our friends next door to us. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Backed on to the highway with constant traffic but we didn't notice it with the door closed when sleeping, might be something to consider if you want the window open for sleeping. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to the Stanford resort in Fernie wow it was amazing. From the service to the amenities that the hotel has to offer. my room was great clean and big with a balcony that had a view of the mountains and river that runs just behind the hotel. there was a large pool with water slide that parents were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service from staff was excellent. Amenities are decent. Better seating on balcony to enjoy the glorious view. Area for continental breakfast is too small. Room was clean but decor, carpets and bedding is dated. Comfortable night stay though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, James. Friendly, personalized service is what sets Stanford apart and we’re happy to hear that you received it. We’re in the process of updating many aspects of our resort and hope that your next visit will be even better than the last. More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very pleasant stay. Comfortable, clean, organized. Good swimming pool and hot tub. Good size rooms, everything was fine. The only reason I didn´t give 5 stars is because of breakfast, that could have been fancier. Too basic and cold. It doesn´t match with all the ammenities. The restaurant at night is great though. Fair price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that your stay was enjoyable, Giselle and that we hit the mark on comfort and cleanliness. We appreciate the feedback about our breakfast as we work to improve the quality and selection of the buffet items. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We first stayed at this hotel close to 10 years ago when they first opened. At its' debut, it was a beautiful property. We loved the rustic mountain lodge look and feel of it. Fast forward 10 years, and nothing has changed. I'm pretty sure it's the same curtains and bedspreads as back then. This hotel seems tired and could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, Lola. It’s always a pleasure to have repeat guests, and we’re delighted to hear that our staff provided the kind of friendly, helpful service that we strive for. However, we are very sorry to hear that the quality of your accommodations was not up to snuff. We are currently working to improve and update... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just past downtown Fernie and just before Fernie ski area this is perfectly placed if you are driving. Otherwise you can use the ski shuttle or hitch. Morning after I arrived, the shuttle bus pulled into the highway straight into an oncoming truck. Bus won! Rooms are fine. Roomy. Nice view of the River from one side. Mountains from other.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Your review seems to indicate that your last stay with us was in 2008. If this is the case, we invite you to visit us again on your next trip to Fernie to experience all the wonderful changes and improvements that have taken place here over the last 7 years. Hope to see you soon! More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We loved the pool, loved the rustic decor, and the unique touches. However, the fundamentals, like the mattresses, the bedding, and the shower etc, are just adequate. Definitely not the most comfy night sleep. To be fair, you get what you pay for and this time we chose a hotel for it's affordability. The staff was super friendly and helpful!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate the honest feedback, jellybean, and are glad to hear that our staff were here to help when you needed us. We are currently working to update a number of aspects of our resort and hope that your next visit will offer even better value for your dollar. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We r loving it. Front desk was very welcoming. Our room is "in basement" as one person commented previously in the reviews but ALL pet rooms are on lowest floor and I sure wouldn't call it the basement. Very cozy, clean and kind of rustic decor. No air but window opens to a river view. We took our chairs n... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It’s wonderful to hear about your experience, Cindy. We would love to have you and your family as guests again on your next visit to Fernie. More 

Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

On the plus side the staff is great, and the pool and hot tubs are nice. However this is definately a budget hotel. no a/c in pet friendly rooms. excercise room has 2 treadmills and not much else. Definately needs updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi montanajosh, thank you for your feedback. As a riverside resort property, we offer much more than your average “budget hotel”, but are sorry to hear that your stay was less-than-exceptional. We are working to update a number of aspects of our property and hope that your next visit will be even better than the last. More 

Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

We always drove by and wanted to stay, maybe it's because of the pool and water slide that you can see or the exterior that makes it look appealing but believe me not worth it:( sadly we paid over 230$ a night 27 of June for two days and we are so disappointed... Saddened really that they had no other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It saddens us to hear about your experience, Sweetmomsaskatchewan. We are host to countless families whose opinion is just the opposite of yours: they love our modern aquatic facility and appreciate the value that we offer over other hotels in the area. The tone of your review makes us suspect something more might be going on here apart from the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.6 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#8 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay