We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Fernie accommodations

Powder Mountain Lodge

2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   892 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Powder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Powder Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty lodging in Fernie
A recent review
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't take my significant other here on a romantic trip but it met my friend and I's simple need for an evening before we hit the Fernie Mountain Resort for some mountain biking. Room was clean and simple. Bed wasn't too firm or soft, just right. Bathroom was nothing to write home about but was clean. Had decent size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Powder Mountain Lodge didn´t came a to their presentation on the internet. Booked at non smoking room. Arrived late and the room smell unpleasant. The service & booking contact with the Lodge, before arrival, was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Came to Fernie to do some snow shoeing. Was very pleased with the quietness, cleanliness and value of the PML. They have renovated since I had been here last and the place looks great! The hot tub was a welcome place to rest and recharge after trekking through the snow all day. I for one am very happy with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We brought this hotel a lot of business with a group trip and they handled situations very poorly along with treating their guests poorly by telling people when to go to bed. They also threatened to lock many of their patrons out of their rooms if they didn't "shut up and go to bed". Would never recommend this place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. We too were unhappy with your group as well. Your group received many noise complaints and continued to interrupt other guests, staff and management for 5 continuous nights. The hotel has a quiet policy between the hours of 11pm - 8am. Your group was informed of this policy... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We rented the three bedroom suite with kitchen and couch/tv area for a family of five ski holiday, and took an extra room a 15' walk away. The walk was outside but covered. You can crawl to the ski shuttle stop, or make the 7 minute drive to the hill. Two block walk to grocery stores, wine, beer, liquor, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leduc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a fabulous find in Fernie. It is a nice family owned and run business. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Well worth the price, we had tried two other hotels in Fernie , and left them because of unsatisfactory accommodations. Then when we found this one it was amazing. The price was very reasonable, and it was extremely clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best value in Fernie! for about $100 Clean rooms, nice warm clean outdoor pool to swim in, main kitchen if you want to save $ and cook your own food. Friendly "ocally owned motel. the Only place we stay in Fernie!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed here (booked 1 week and stayed 2). It was great - we made use of the weekly room rates (surprisingly VERY competitive versus the hostel if there are 2 or more people). Exactly what we were after - great value accommodation, clean rooms, comfy beds and a very well equipped kitchen. The common room with a pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Fernie for 3 nights in January 2013 and found that the accommodation was generally a little more expensive than other local resorts, and staying really close to the night life wasn't really an option. Powder Mountain Lodge is only 5-10 minute walk from the town centre (bars, restaurants etc) and there is also a good bar with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent the full winter season 2011/2012 at Powder Mountain Lodge in a one bedroom with kitchen. We originally booked it because it was the cheapest deal in town, offering long term deals (although clearly the lodge is also offering short term and last minute bookings). Throughout the season we saw many other accomodations where friends were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Powder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Address: 892 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a small, quaint Hotel with a beautiful courtyard and mountain views. We offer standard single and double rooms as well as single and 2 bedroom suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities. We are just minutes to the ski hill by car. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer