We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Powder Mountain Lodge

2.0 of 5 892 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Powder Mountain Lodge
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

basic with nil frills. While the room was clean, the linens need to be replaced as well as the furniture. Accomodations next door ar $10 per nite more , but a world apart. at $139/night, this is overpriced , in my opinion , should not be more than $85/night. Unfortunately, we could not cancel as booked thru booking.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sechelt, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

My wife and I with are two young children had the time of our lives at this location. Marcie and Judy are the perfect host who made us feel like we were at home. The wood burning fireplace and pool table are a real treat in a really cool lounge area next to the hot tub. (Great set up) Beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Basic accommodation without many frills, other than the excellent hot tub. Reasonably sized rooms, comfortable beds and a clean, straightforward bathroom. Solid choice if you're looking for somewhere economical and reliable - we were here to ski and the place served us well, other than the fact that you couldn't bring skis into the room. Nothing fancy but a useful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our large family of congregated in Fernie for a week in July, and we booked 5 rooms at the hotel, with other family members arriving to join us during the evening. The selling feature was definitely the availability of the large kitchen and adjoining lounge area. The kitchen was very well equipped with full size appliances and we enjoyed preparing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is an economically priced hotel with a couple of nice extras: a swimming pool, guest laundry room, barbeque and patio eating area, and lounging area. The room was basic but appeared to be clean and was comfortable. The front desk lady was very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I wouldn't take my significant other here on a romantic trip but it met my friend and I's simple need for an evening before we hit the Fernie Mountain Resort for some mountain biking. Room was clean and simple. Bed wasn't too firm or soft, just right. Bathroom was nothing to write home about but was clean. Had decent size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Powder Mountain Lodge didn´t came a to their presentation on the internet. Booked at non smoking room. Arrived late and the room smell unpleasant. The service & booking contact with the Lodge, before arrival, was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Came to Fernie to do some snow shoeing. Was very pleased with the quietness, cleanliness and value of the PML. They have renovated since I had been here last and the place looks great! The hot tub was a welcome place to rest and recharge after trekking through the snow all day. I for one am very happy with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We brought this hotel a lot of business with a group trip and they handled situations very poorly along with treating their guests poorly by telling people when to go to bed. They also threatened to lock many of their patrons out of their rooms if they didn't "shut up and go to bed". Would never recommend this place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. We too were unhappy with your group as well. Your group received many noise complaints and continued to interrupt other guests, staff and management for 5 continuous nights. The hotel has a quiet policy between the hours of 11pm - 8am. Your group was informed of this policy... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We rented the three bedroom suite with kitchen and couch/tv area for a family of five ski holiday, and took an extra room a 15' walk away. The walk was outside but covered. You can crawl to the ski shuttle stop, or make the 7 minute drive to the hill. Two block walk to grocery stores, wine, beer, liquor, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Address: 892 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay