We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Powder Mountain Lodge

892 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Powder Mountain Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family stayed there, we all thought it was nice but the woman that owns the place was the rudest unfriendly 0 people skills person i have ever mt in my life. Just a complete miserable person. How she stays in business is beyond me. Staff was sort of ok but not really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Greg I am the owner of the hotel and would like to clarify that I have never met or spoken with you directly. I recently hired staff to run the hotel for me and obviously that did not turn out as I had planned. I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention the issues you had... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This lodge features a outdoor swimming pool which I think could be the highlight of the business. The rooms were clean, the singles are tiny spend the extra $10 and go for the double. A little dated and the tv's are tiny. I can't lie the shower stumped me... You have to pull down on the tap faucet to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jen I would like to thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not find our staff overly friendly. We have always been a family run hotel but recently tried to make some staffing changes that did not work out as planned but I assure you we have rectified the situation. I am glad to... More 

canmore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a quiet place close to downtown, it's a very busy road but you would know it seating by the pool,the room was very clean and we like that kitchen where every one is welcome to use it, and the staff is very friendly, next visit in Fernie we sure know where to stay....

Was this review helpful? Yes
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our courtyard area with the heated outdoor pool and common room with full kitchen. We feel it is a quiet hidden gem just off the noisy highway. We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a quiet place with outdoor access in the shade. This motel is built in a U shape with a pool in the middle. There are comfortable patio tables and chairs around the pool and a barbecue. There is also a common room shared by all units that includes an incredibly well stocked full kitchen. The managers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Anne Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am glad you were pleased with the our hotel and happy with your stay. We hope you chose us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The room had a bed and a shower - that pretty much sums up this place. Pool had no water and hot tub was cold. Key card never work and we had to go back to reception several times to get it recoded. Guess one can't expect more for the price we paid. Staff was helpful but not overly friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We went here for a two day trip to enjoy the slopes. The place is ok and clean (you get what you pay) but what bothered me that the staff doesn't feel like communicating with his customers. The key didn't work every night when we came back and when we went to the front desk to get it changed, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I stayed at the Powder Mountain Lodge for a weekend it was a nice experience. The place is old but it was clean. You can see they've done some renovations. There location was central, it was literally a 5 minute walk to downtown Fernie main street. There only concern I had was there was not one at the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that there was a disturbance in one of our rooms but would like to inform you that management lives on site and is available 24 hours 7 days a week via phone or by knocking on the door. I can assure you that the situation would have been dealt... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My wife and I decided to go for a ski weekend in Fernie. We stayed there from Jan. 23rd - 25th. I received an excellent deal on-line through booking.com. It was $83/night. My expectations weren't too high but we were pleasantly surprised. It's right in the middle of downtown and it is only a 5 minute drive to the ski... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

basic with nil frills. While the room was clean, the linens need to be replaced as well as the furniture. Accomodations next door ar $10 per nite more , but a world apart. at $139/night, this is overpriced , in my opinion , should not be more than $85/night. Unfortunately, we could not cancel as booked thru booking.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

My wife and I with are two young children had the time of our lives at this location. Marcie and Judy are the perfect host who made us feel like we were at home. The wood burning fireplace and pool table are a real treat in a really cool lounge area next to the hot tub. (Great set up) Beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#8 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay