We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gatineau
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Saud A Montreal, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    99
    45
    19
    7
See reviews for
51
44
9
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for a 4-star hotel in Ottawa through Priceline. They have an express deal for 70 USD and I couldn't resist. When I finished the booking, it came out as crowne plaza-Gatineau. For Canadians, it was about 105CAD per night including taxes. The hotel is very clean and quite but I felt it is old, especially the entrance,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Saud A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Nathalie T., Director of Sales More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booking was a breeze over the phone directly with the hotel (thanks Bella), and the initial check in was great (thanks Max). The Room -dead bugs in front of window on floor -crumbs and an earring in between the sheets -requested a crib set-up with no crib when we arrived -no "Do not Disturb" sign -safe didn't work so front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Hello brentcan77, Thank you for your kind words towards Bella & Max. The balance of stay appears to have the complete opposite of your experience with these two. It is really embarrassing to read these comments. The ceiling was due to a blocked drain on the roof which we fixed quickly but the dry walling took longer. Can I ask... More 

Brampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have absolutely no complaints about my one night stay here. The extra pillows and comfortable beds was well worth the stay. Unfortunately Gatineau is pretty run down there and Ottawa itself is boring (not much to do). I unfortunately won't stay here again only because there is not reason for me to visit Ottawa or Gatineau. This place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is clean and the rooms are nice. However, my main issue with this place is I could hear conversations and coughing of the people staying in the adjacent room. Privacy can be limited. I never tried the restaurant in the lobby, since I had read reviews that were less than glowing and seeing it in the lobby did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear MusicalPeanut, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Nathalie, Director of Sales More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

the hotel is on the Quebec side, so if you are not too good in Geography, Gatineau is on the French side in Quebec and Ottawa is in Ontario, although connecting to Ottawa and all the major attractions are 2 km walk from this hotel. if you want to take public transport, there are 2 bus services on 2 sides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your experience at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa! We are delighted you enjoyed your room and I wish to apologize for the issues you had to get some tea. This is not the service culture at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa. Your comments will be shared with... More 

Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We had a 2 nite stay to go to a wedding. The room was great though the view of the Ottawa River was spoiled by a foggy window likely due to a broken seal. The hotel had the poorest restaurant, downright cold ( said heat was turned earlier in May and could not be turned on) and inexperienced staff. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate that we were unable to make your stay memorable. Your comments will be shared with our team in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction on all levels. We appreciate your feedback and your business and hope that you will give us a second... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My boyfriend , daughter and her boyfriend stayed at this hotel for a night. Rooms were decent and clean. We all stayed in one room with two double beds. We didn't eat at restaurant but ordered one item - chicken fingers , and it was excellent and a decent price. Room was a reasonable rate. Parking ridiculous at $17 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Courtney, Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with your family. I'm pleased that your enjoyed your stay however I want to reassure you the daily parking rate gives you in and out privileges. I apologize for the confusion. We hope to have the pleasure of greeting you on your next visit... More 

Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

I stayed here with my husband and my infant daughter for three nights. The hotel is really nice inside and out. The rooms and facilities are clean. The hotel honoured our request for a crib without an extra charge. We also had our dog with us and there was no issue. You do have to pay an additional charge of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Binky, Thank you for reviewing our property after your stay with your family and your pet! It is delightful to read that you appreciated your time at the hotel and I understand that value is as important as sleep quality and location! We have many promotions that will help you plan your next perfect trip! Thank you again for... More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

The purpose for Staying in this hotel was visiting Ottawa. Down town Ottava is aproximately 25 minutes walking form the hotel, so quiet convinient for exploring Ottawa. Staff at the reception was polite and helpful. Hotel has big comfortable rooms with comfortable beds. Room In our case was a bit chilly despite setting heating on higher temperature. Breakfast was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay. We are pleased that our location allowed you to discover Ottawa and all of its beauty. We hope to have the priviledge of greeting you on your next visit. Kind regards, Nathalie More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I stayed here with a group of people on a bus tour who all reported being pleased with this hotel. The most important thing to me when I get a room is that I can sleep, which means it is quiet and has a comfortable bed! The bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows and it was quiet. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Lee-Ann, Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds but regret the issue to control the temperature in your room. The month of May has been tricky for us, weather has been up and down but summer seems to finally have arrived! Thank you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay