We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    101
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
52
47
9
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third and last stay at this hotel. Our room was located on the 9th floor (919), the corridor smelled damp and in the lifts one could smell kitchen food. My worst experience in a hotel was the night of Saturday July 25th when a group of young people (I don't know how many) were running around on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear WandererBo, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Our hotel has security overnight and I am very surprised no one reported this disturbance to the Front Desk. Rest assured that I will follow-up with our night staff to increase... More 

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location just across the river - closest to the War Museum. Easy to find off the highway. Not too much in the neighbourhood but we came to visit Ottawa. Checked in after 1 a.m. and had no problems. Easily accommodated at the last minute for an additional person and dog. Four people fit in a double room($30.00 for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this Crowne Plaza for one night and foung the hotel to be just fine. It's a blend of updated and older elements; but the property was clean and the staff very helpful. My room had been renovated mostly; but certain aspects take away from the updates. For instance, the rug in my room was rippled as though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We took note of how we can improve our client's experience and will adress these points. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Nathalie T.,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure the hotel would still make its 4 stars today, as it looks like it needs a lot of updates. Rooms are big but outdated, so the washrooms. Booked 2 double rooms and were given adjoining rooms so we were able to move from one room to the other freely without going through the hallway. That was helpful as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I was looking for a 4-star hotel in Ottawa through Priceline. They have an express deal for 70 USD and I couldn't resist. When I finished the booking, it came out as crowne plaza-Gatineau. For Canadians, it was about 105CAD per night including taxes. The hotel is very clean and quite but I felt it is old, especially the entrance,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Saud A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Nathalie T., Director of Sales More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Booking was a breeze over the phone directly with the hotel (thanks Bella), and the initial check in was great (thanks Max). The Room -dead bugs in front of window on floor -crumbs and an earring in between the sheets -requested a crib set-up with no crib when we arrived -no "Do not Disturb" sign -safe didn't work so front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Hello brentcan77, Thank you for your kind words towards Bella & Max. The balance of stay appears to have the complete opposite of your experience with these two. It is really embarrassing to read these comments. The ceiling was due to a blocked drain on the roof which we fixed quickly but the dry walling took longer. Can I ask... More 

Brampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

I have absolutely no complaints about my one night stay here. The extra pillows and comfortable beds was well worth the stay. Unfortunately Gatineau is pretty run down there and Ottawa itself is boring (not much to do). I unfortunately won't stay here again only because there is not reason for me to visit Ottawa or Gatineau. This place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

This hotel is clean and the rooms are nice. However, my main issue with this place is I could hear conversations and coughing of the people staying in the adjacent room. Privacy can be limited. I never tried the restaurant in the lobby, since I had read reviews that were less than glowing and seeing it in the lobby did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear MusicalPeanut, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Nathalie, Director of Sales More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

the hotel is on the Quebec side, so if you are not too good in Geography, Gatineau is on the French side in Quebec and Ottawa is in Ontario, although connecting to Ottawa and all the major attractions are 2 km walk from this hotel. if you want to take public transport, there are 2 bus services on 2 sides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your experience at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa! We are delighted you enjoyed your room and I wish to apologize for the issues you had to get some tea. This is not the service culture at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa. Your comments will be shared with... More 

Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We had a 2 nite stay to go to a wedding. The room was great though the view of the Ottawa River was spoiled by a foggy window likely due to a broken seal. The hotel had the poorest restaurant, downright cold ( said heat was turned earlier in May and could not be turned on) and inexperienced staff. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate that we were unable to make your stay memorable. Your comments will be shared with our team in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction on all levels. We appreciate your feedback and your business and hope that you will give us a second... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

178 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (137)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatineau
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#3 of 24 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 24 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay