We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Lloydminster hotels

Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5621 44th Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com TheHotels.com
12%
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Lloydminster
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    5
    11
    28
See reviews for
15
5
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights, Pros: friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean room, good breakfast. Cons: requested cleaning staff to clean room later in day (not done), busy, crowded breakfast area between 8:00 - 9:00 a.m., need more lighting in the rooms - stayed level one, rooms on the 7th floor much brighter (more lighting). In comparison to other places in Lloydminster, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed here way too many times. They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over & over again & expecting a different result. Well I guess I'm insane. I gave this joint way too many chances to step up, yet nothing. Bottom floor, I ended up with bites all over my body in more than one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response! Sorry that we could not satisfy you during your time with us. We as well as other hotels take the threat of "bed bugs" very seriously and should not be thrown around litely! If you had bites from multiple rooms , I would expect you come to the front desk and question what was going on.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

First of all the staff is completely clueless and rude ! Second incident was that someone walked in on me while i was having a shower! They rented the room twice to two different persons ! And last but definitely not least.. I was at work the next day and i started itching all over my right side( side that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. We are terribly sorry for your inconvenient stay with us. We do have new staff on and that should never happen. We will take more time on training our new attendants. We do take the threat of bed bugs very seriously. However, we had pest control at our property and they found no evidence of bed... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff was enthusiastic and professional. The room was sparkling clean with a really nice pillowy bed. The WiFi was fast (able to stream Netflix no problem). Free breakfast and room service too! Great stay. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with us!! More

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we got to the hotel the lobby was nice but hard to get around to find our room. The room was not very clean and the pool was terrible that my kids were scared. The hotel is a bit old and it need renovation. We are not comfortable at all, we change hotel the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Yes our hotel is a bit of a maze as it is so large. I do apologise for your room not being up to standards, we will work closer with our housekeeping staff to improve this. We are in the process of renovations, I do hope you will give us another try. Thank-you so much! More

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Tropical Inn is an older property that was probably quite something in its day but has suffered from a long period of poor maintenance. The promised ample parking was taken up mostly by paving crews and their trucks. Many of the electrical plug-in posts were worn and rusted. Several of their wires were exposed. The whole parking lot was crumbling.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feed back!! Yes, we do have crew people that stay with us for a couple months at a time. A BBQ is a nice change for supper for some of them away from home for so long. So sorry this upset you. We have started renovations to our hotel and we are waiting on the parking lot... More

calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I rented the room with my sister and my cousin and let me say this - DO NOT book here!! -upon entering the hotel there was BLOOD in the elevator -the A/C in the room did not work nor did the windows open. It was extremely uncomfortable -there was garbage and left over clothing from the people who had stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. I am not sure why there was blood in the elevator unless there was an unfortunate mishap before your arrival. The front desk called to your room a half hour after your arrival and you said everything was okay. The 250.00 charge was because we had to put that suite on block for maintenance to be... More

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When I first walked into the hotel I was pretty impressed, nice lobby, professional looking staff and very clean. However within 5 minutes of arriving my opinion changed dramatically. First off the hotel room had been booked online by my employer with a corporate credit card from our main office (Which we have done hundreds of times) but the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

I do apologise for the front desk unable to locate the paper work for your company cc. We do have new staff and some extra training is still needed. We are working on those issues..We have switched internet providers, and are hoping those issues are resolved. Our 8th floor tower has ice machines on every second floor, front desk should... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Chose this hotel cause it looked good from the outside ! first if all we backed in the parking stall , couldnt see any sign of a power outlet post ; its too low to see and not marked , so the truck bumper went right over it , when we pulled out , ripped the bumper of the truck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo Narrows, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My room was dank and dirty. When I checked in, the manager was complaining about another guest's complaints. To get to my room from outside, I had to wade through bar fights and loud, smoking drunks as the hotel bar was between the doors and my room. Housekeeping also disturbed me twice, only to realize they were at the wrong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Lloydminster
Tropical Inn Hotel And Conference Centre Lloydminster, Alberta
Address: 5621 44th Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lloydminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Lloydminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Inn is Lloydminsters largest full service hotel hosting 165 rooms. We have two large waterslides, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and ecercise room in the water park. For dining we have Tony Roma's and Bennigan's Irish pub. Our deluxecontinental breakfast is perfect for starting the day. We also have a cold beer and liquor venue on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list