We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Lloydminster hotels

Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5621 44th Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
13%
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Lloydminster
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (3)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    12
    29
See reviews for
16
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 days at the Tropical Inn July 7 to 11, 2014. The interior of the hotel was kept in good shape. Most rooms seem to be non-smoking, however, several rooms produced quite an odour from smoking either cigarettes or recreational drugs. The odour in the hallway was so strong it seeped into our room. Smoking occurs outside the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here with our granddaughters ball team. The place is not cleaned properly. It looks like the rooms were semi vacuumed, but there were large particles of stuff behind the table, and along the edges of the floor and behind the door. A dirty cleaning rag was left on the floor of our bathroom and was there to greet us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response! So sorry for your inconvenience, I wish you would have called to the front desk upon arrival to your room so that we could have changed your room. Not to lighten your inconvenient stay with us, but we do have new housekeepers whom obviously need more training and to inspect the room before they close the... More

Travelers are raving about these Lloydminster hotels

Smithers, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had called ahead, and they had a spot for us, ............ We were tired and glad to have a place to rest our heads. The check-in clerk was friendly. We checked in, and "initialed the check-in document " for our non smoking room. Thus far the GOOD news. Now, up the elevator to our floor ....... The hallway was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We were in the process of changing our tower rooms to non smoking rooms including new carpets, new bedding, painted ceilings, ect. Your stay was right in the middle of our transition, I do apologise for this inconvenience. More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, Pros: friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean room, good breakfast. Cons: requested cleaning staff to clean room later in day (not done), busy, crowded breakfast area between 8:00 - 9:00 a.m., need more lighting in the rooms - stayed level one, rooms on the 7th floor much brighter (more lighting). In comparison to other places in Lloydminster, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your review! The breakfast room does get a little busy in the morning especially when we have many teams in the hotel. We are in the process of renovating our property, We appreciate your comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank-you again!!! More

Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed here way too many times. They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over & over again & expecting a different result. Well I guess I'm insane. I gave this joint way too many chances to step up, yet nothing. Bottom floor, I ended up with bites all over my body in more than one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response! Sorry that we could not satisfy you during your time with us. We as well as other hotels take the threat of "bed bugs" very seriously and should not be thrown around litely! If you had bites from multiple rooms , I would expect you come to the front desk and question what was going on.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

First of all the staff is completely clueless and rude ! Second incident was that someone walked in on me while i was having a shower! They rented the room twice to two different persons ! And last but definitely not least.. I was at work the next day and i started itching all over my right side( side that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. We are terribly sorry for your inconvenient stay with us. We do have new staff on and that should never happen. We will take more time on training our new attendants. We do take the threat of bed bugs very seriously. However, we had pest control at our property and they found no evidence of bed... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff was enthusiastic and professional. The room was sparkling clean with a really nice pillowy bed. The WiFi was fast (able to stream Netflix no problem). Free breakfast and room service too! Great stay. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with us!! More

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we got to the hotel the lobby was nice but hard to get around to find our room. The room was not very clean and the pool was terrible that my kids were scared. The hotel is a bit old and it need renovation. We are not comfortable at all, we change hotel the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Yes our hotel is a bit of a maze as it is so large. I do apologise for your room not being up to standards, we will work closer with our housekeeping staff to improve this. We are in the process of renovations, I do hope you will give us another try. Thank-you so much! More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Tropical Inn is an older property that was probably quite something in its day but has suffered from a long period of poor maintenance. The promised ample parking was taken up mostly by paving crews and their trucks. Many of the electrical plug-in posts were worn and rusted. Several of their wires were exposed. The whole parking lot was crumbling.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feed back!! Yes, we do have crew people that stay with us for a couple months at a time. A BBQ is a nice change for supper for some of them away from home for so long. So sorry this upset you. We have started renovations to our hotel and we are waiting on the parking lot... More

calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I rented the room with my sister and my cousin and let me say this - DO NOT book here!! -upon entering the hotel there was BLOOD in the elevator -the A/C in the room did not work nor did the windows open. It was extremely uncomfortable -there was garbage and left over clothing from the people who had stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. I am not sure why there was blood in the elevator unless there was an unfortunate mishap before your arrival. The front desk called to your room a half hour after your arrival and you said everything was okay. The 250.00 charge was because we had to put that suite on block for maintenance to be... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 5621 44th Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lloydminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Lloydminster
Tropical Inn Hotel And Conference Centre Lloydminster, Alberta

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tropical Inn is Lloydminsters largest full service hotel hosting 165 rooms. We have two large waterslides, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and ecercise room in the water park. For dining we have Tony Roma's and Bennigan's Irish pub. Our deluxecontinental breakfast is perfect for starting the day. We also have a cold beer and liquor venue on site. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
165

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer