We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Riviere du Loup hotels

Hotel Universel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Universel to your Saves list
Hotel Universel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
65%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JamesGang2008 Toronto, Canada
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    27
    17
    3
See reviews for
49
39
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with a great size pool, water slide and hot tub. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again, but this time attend the Nordic Spa for a day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is really one of the germ of the hotel. We hope to see you again! More

London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Universel was an excellent pit-stop on our family road-trip to East Coast. Hotel itself offered a variety of restaurants and what looked like a very nice, elegant wine cellar, adult-centered lounge/bar. After 12 hours on the road, was pleasantly surprised to be greeted by hotel staff & hassle-free check-in. Hotel has heated indoor pool and waterslide and hot tub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great review about our hotel. Our staff work hard every day to have great comments like yours. The pool is definitely one of the gems of our hotel. We have good comments about it from the kids. We hope to see you again in our great region and in our hotel. Once... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on the way back from PEI, as it was a convenient half way stopover. The outside of the hotel did not looked like the internet picture.... wondered if we had the right place....it looked like something from late sixties.....hmm Reception looking dark an a little tired....we are getting a little worried.... We have to sign a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations.. We can assure you that everey day, we strive to be the best. In your case, it seems that we didn't succeed. Unfortunately we do not have a 100% overall guest satisfaction and this is why every constructive comments are very important and welcome to continue our... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way to PEI. We choose it because of the pool and the reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. The room was nice and clean and we were in the renovated section of the hotel with a nice bathroom. The kids loved the big pool, water slide and hot tub. Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the pool with our new waterslide. We hope to see you soon in our place. Once again, thank you! More

Lethbridge
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gives a great first impression. Staff were fully bilingual and very helpful. The room and amenities were standard fare but clean and quiet. We booked online which gave us the summertime promotion of complimentary breakfast. They have a room set aside for the complimentary breakfast food items, but as this is a full serve restaurant, it was really a breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in our place. Thank you! More

Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on our way home from Ont. This was our halfway stop and so glad we did. It was a little pricey but worth every $. We went to dinner at the Bistro and not a mistake. We had the escargot that was vert tasty and goat cheese in a tiny tart shell served with mango salsa excellent. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review about our hotel. We will tell your good comments about the restaurant at the manager. Once again thank you and see you on your way back. More

Deep River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Ontario from New Brunswick. The room was clean and spacious. The kids had a great time at the pool and hot tub which, refreshingly, had a lifeguard. The breakfast buffet was great, although not complimentary. Our eldest detected an odour on her comforter and the staff promptly changed the entire bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your are satisfied with our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong points are, from your point of view. More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our return from Nova Scotia, the web rate could not have been better. The property has undergone major renovations and is continuing upgrade on their facilities. The best rates are for the Classic Section and I have absolutely no complaints. The room was very clean with brand new beds, bedding, flat screen TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna_lortie, Directeur général at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great review about our hotel. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in our hotel. More

Ontario
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were impressed by the exterior of this place upon pulling up to the property. Once we entered, we were fronted by this strong toxic smell of "air fresheners". It is a strange set-up/decor of tourist advertising, business, meeting advertising and tacky & cheap imitation of mid-evil Knight armers. The front desk staff are not welcoming which is really odd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for voicing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hôtel Universel Rivière-du-Loup. If we don't know what our guests don't like, we cannot improve. We are definitely better than what you saw. We hope you will give us another chance and come back visit us soon. Thank you for your comments. More

Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The classic rooms are in the old area of the building. Those rooms are very charming with 1940's decor, but they are also in need of renovation and could use an anti-mold treatment. I asked to change rooms after my allergies flared up. The attendant wanted to charge me extra for that, even though in the hotel website the rates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. For sure, we try to renovate our classic section. Last month, we change all the beds and the bedding in all the rooms. We have others projects in fall. We take your comments about the breakfast and the English menu at the spa. This is exactly the kind of input we need... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Universel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Universel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel

Address: Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Universel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universel Hotel Riviere Du Loup
Hotel Universel Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Riviere du Loup with
any amenities