We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Universel

Certificate of Excellence
Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Universel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One night stay at Hôtel Universel in frigid Rivière-du-Loup. We had a room in the newer section of the hotel. I think you may want to book the newer section as the older one is in need of an upgrade. The room was great. Clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the Rialto (one of the two hotel restaurants) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank J9257
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to give us some feedbak on your last stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it. We are happy to read such great comments regarding our rooms in the newest section of the hotel. The cleanliness of the rooms and the entire hotel is a priority. We look forward to welcoming you again in... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I've stayed in this hotel multiple times over the years, both on a planned basis and an unplanned basis and have been satisfied each and every time. First of all the price is great. It's pretty hard to find a 3-star hotel priced under $100. The location is good for travellers doing a stopover or tourists wanting to take in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug366
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review about our hotel. It's always a pleasur to see that our guests enjoyed their stay and come back overall the years. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our services like restaurant, pool and spa. Once again, thank you! More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Checked in here on our road trip from Moncton to Ottawa on a Sunday evening. First room we were given was not clean; however, the front desk remedied the situation without complaint and the next room was very nice. We opted for the renovated rooms with no carpeting. I believe the hotel is non-smoking but you could tell (smell) that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review about your past stay at our hotel. If we don't know what our guest liked or disliked about their stay we cannot improve our service. Once again, thank you! More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend sports event. Noticed rooms very quiet; you do not hear people in rooms next to you at all(Which was great as had to get up early) . Only issue we had was that on Saturday night a large nasty looking critter a couple of inches long with pincer like antenna things on both ends was found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita S
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for this review about your stay. We are really sorry about the bad experience that you had. We want to tell you that this not happen frequently. If you had keep the ''thing'', we would send it for an inspection. But, only we the description that you gived to us, we didn't think that... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Dated hotel, not as pictured on site. Staff were cold and rude, room service was delivered with wrong order and expensive for portion size. $20 for a caesar salad. Room was okay, dated and worn furniture. Was alright for $94/classic room pricing and was clean. But after a long day driving from toronto, would have preferred cheerier staff and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess S
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review about your past stay at our hotel. We are truly sorry about your less than desirable experience at our hotel. Our hotel is recognized for its high service standards and for being a place where you can go to get away, peacefully. Unfortunately, we completely missed our chance to give you... More 

Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at the Universel Hotel many times and always return. The food at the Rialto is amazing and fairly priced. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is nice to stretch out the muscles after a day of driving. We'll be back againand anand fairly

Helpful?
Thank vonja
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about your past stay at our hotel. We are glad to see that you come back at our place when you're in the area. We always like to know that our guest come back with us. Once again, thank you! More 

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

This was a total gamble, and we were drawn in by the Nordic Spa --- I'll get to that in a minute. We arrived after dark and an all day from Montreal, without a planned itinerary. The signs along the way talked about the Hotel Universel and The Nordic Spa. It was the closest hotel off the highway, so we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheDdBird
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for this wonderful review about your past stay at our hotel. We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to come back again at our place. But, we are really sorry about your bad experience at the restaurant. Be sure, that we will give your... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

I found the staff to be really nice and they didn't mind speaking English. The room was big, modern, and clean. The price was great for what was offered. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank Alisha C
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for this wonderfull review about your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! More 

Sandersville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly to non French speaking business travelers. The room was nice. The restaurant was very good. It is easy to get to just off highway 20. I left by cell phone charger by mistake, went back later after checkout and they had it. Very nice. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank rpmathis
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your business trip. We hope to see you again. More 

Greenwood, Ns
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

This boutique hotel is a great stop-over for any traveler. Nice staff, clean, comfortable rooms. Attached spa, pool, 2 restaurants, We must have been in the newer part of the motel, because everything looked, and smelled fresh and up-to-date. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank DorothyGreenwood
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you this review about your stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the room in the new section. We are also glad to see that you plan to stay with us again. Once again, thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riviere du Loup
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Riviere du Loup
Days Inn Riviere du Loup
#8 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
#11 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Amerilys
Auberge Amerilys
#10 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay