We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Resort

Certificate of Excellence
4432 Fern Resort Rd, RR#5, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My two kids, ages 10 and 11 have rated Fern as their favourite summer vacation spot for the past 3 years. The resort focuses on providing child friendly and accessible activities in a very safe environment. It is the first resort I have let my kids run free and they love it! Service at the restaurant is first rate and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eliza114
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After visiting in the Summer we thought we'd check out Fern Resort in the Winter. We had a such a great time. I was surprised as I thought of Fern as a Summer resort. We got to try out their brand new 1.5km (1 Mile) Skating trail through the forest. My kids loved it. We also got to try out... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveCreelman
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family enjoyed a fun New Years get away to Fern and tried to participate in many of their activities. The kids enjoyed the club during dinners and we really liked both the entertainment and ability to borrow cross country skis and sleds. The dog sledding and horse pulled wagon rides were quite memorable and their mini kids snowmobile was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WaterlooDad
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We went to Fern over the holidays. The food was mediocre at best and the rooms were outdated and dingy. Way over priced for what you get. The resort also advertises as being all inclusive but it isn't really-drinks and snacks cost extra and aren't always available. Fern has a Playvillage for kids aged 0-6. 6 is way too old... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLover184
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We visited this winter for the holidays. The place is very old and needs a modern re-design. Not always did we have hot water in our tub, the carpets are old and dirty, the beds are small and very uncomfortable and the free WiFi didn't work - not even for reading e-mails on out cell-phones. The room (edgewater cottage) is... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Tal S
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you posting your comments and staying with us recently over the holidays. This winter the weather was very much off to a slow start and winter activities were definitely limited. We did however enjoy some warm and sunny days that allowed us to offer some facilities that our winter guests don't generally get to enjoy. Trampolines, outdoor mini golf,... More 

Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with our son and family at this resort. Time spent with family where you have no disruptions certainly has merit. Meals are included. We felt that the total cost was rather expensive but realize without snow and not cold this would change the overall experience for us.

Helpful?
Thank 498wendyf
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for spending Christmas in Ontario and spending a few days with family at Fern Resort. The holidays are a great time to get away to a resort and leave all the cooking and cleaning and entertaining to us so you can spend time reconnecting as a family. The weather was warm and sunny and made events like the... More 

Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I have been coming to Fern every summer for approximately 11 years now and I decided that it's time that I wrote a review. To me Fern feels like a home away from home. When I'm there it's like I never left and every time we go I create new amazing and wonderful memories. The atmosphere: the atmosphere at Fern... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 951_world_traveler_
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and post your comments and thank you for "coming home to Fern" each summer for the past eleven years. Your comments sum up what so many of our guests feel: Fern Resort is their home away from home. Home is where you share a connection with the people... More 

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

Our group of 17 ladies spent a weekend at Fern Resort. Being first time visitors here, we weren't sure what to expect. We were delighted with the set-up in the Huronia room for our workshop. Our rooms (with wood burning fireplaces) were very comfortable and although the bathrooms looked a wee bit dated, everything was very clean. The meals in... More 

Helpful?
Thank zekibey2
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comment and thank you for your recent stay with us at Fern Resort. Fern Resort is the perfect venue for small groups to getaway and meet socially or for business. Our spacious, comfortable and modern meeting rooms really allow you to get down to business. I am glad to hear you ladies enjoyed the "all... More 

Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Wow!! What a great weekend at Fern for their annual Halloween wkd! We had the best time and my son did not want to leave. Great activities that gets the kids outside in the fresh air and wonderful staff that run the activities. The haunted inn was really fun and the staff did a great job! The servers in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank msmere76
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and your review of your recent visit during our annual Halloween Weekend. It is a fun time and a fun package for families that want to getaway for a weekend as a family. Halloween activities, the haunted house and the costume dance make it hit for all ages and the atmosphere is always comfortable... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

This year marks my fifth visit to Fern Resort with a group of wonderful ladies who have been coming here for almost 20 years. Our numbers have ranged from 14 to almost 30 over the years, and our ages from the mid twenties to the mid seventies. Without exception, we all agree that this is a weekend we all look... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank primeala
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Fern Resort and thank you for your continued patronage for almost 20 years! Fern Resort is always a wonderful option for groups of people to gather because of the simplicity for the organizer. We take care of everything from the rooms and meals to the hospitality room and activities. Our staff, with their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

591 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (411)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bayshore Cottage (38)
Viewed
Bayshore Cottage Loft Bedroom (36)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Edgewater Chalet (29)
Viewed
Fireside Lakeview Room (33)
Viewed
Fireside Landview Room (31)
Viewed
Fireside Suite (40)
Viewed
Hearthside Lakeview Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Regular Lakeview Room (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Family/play areas (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
3.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 15 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Days Inn - Orillia
#3 of 15 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 15 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
16.2 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay