We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen House Resort

#409 1000 Island Parkway | RR1, Lansdowne, Gananoque, Ontario K0E 1LO, Canada
Hotel amenities
Glen House Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Martha1986 Ottawa, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    52
    24
    27
    18
See reviews for
41
46
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wavered between 3 and 4 stars as most staff were excellent but our first impression was of a very unfriendly, abrupt and unhelpful woman at reception when our group of six arrived (she should not have gone to work that day if she could not do better than that). The food was good and staff in the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not my first trip here and each one is better than the last. The reception staff make you fell really welcome, Both pools are clean and inviting. The dining room staff are quietly there to answer all your questions and serve the wonderful food. Daily soups are the best. The rooms are clean and well appointed many with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge ont.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was not able to go to this resort. I booked in January for July and cancelled June 2. They have charged me. $25. Cancellation fee! Yikes! They have lots of time to bebook the room. Never had this happen in any other place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We have stayed at the Glen House many times. Dave Seal has always been a gracious host and we have always enjoyed staying there and giving him our business. Unfortunately this visit was extremely disappointing. We booked the valentines package which included room, dinner, and breakfast for 129 per person. Room- the room was clean and seemed to have new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
GlenHouseResort82, Owner at Glen House Resort, responded to this review

We apologize for your shortcomings that you have drawn to our attention. This is the only complaint we received over the weekend, needless to say it is important to us as you were not happy with the service. It was extremely difficult finding staff for the Valentine`s weekend.The nature of your complaint seemed primarily service related which was caused by... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Came here for a business trip and will definitely come back in the summer! Great rooms with charm everywhere. Rooms were big with fire place and soaker tub. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Can't wait to get the boat in the bay and try the fishing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
brockville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

went to shipmans dining room on oct4 for their prime rib. we live in brockville so it is a 40 minute trip but if the prime rib is good it is worth it. that night it was good. the dining room is nice, the waitress very nice and especially prompt. the prime rib was very good. overall we were pleased... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This hotel has the potential to be amazing, great location, really nice rooms, beautiful grounds. The problem was evident upon checking in, I have stayed at many hotels & I have never seen a staff that hates their jobs more then this group! 1st impressions are usually accurate, & unfortunately that was true here, when we checked inn I felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book for a night that the Glen House Resort, because we were attending to a wedding in the area. First of all, we have to call and talk to a specific person (on regular work hours of course)to book a room. We are in 2014.... we should be able to book online!! With taxes, the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Keene, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

i booked 2day golf package,starts at 279pp,i booked a river frot room but we where first put in a motel like row of roomsaway from the main lodge,then moved us to a riverview room after i complianed,also wasnt told there was a wedding this weekend ,parking was a joke,wasnt informed that resvations where needed for dining room,we where told it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We had our family thanksgiving at the Glen House and found it to be perfect for our large group. We had lots of activities for the children and they were very accommodating in the restaurant. We came for the over-all experience not the food. We found water front to be beautiful and we were able to have a bon fire.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay