We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
550 Stone Street South | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Special Offer
One Night Dinner Package
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
red1444 Lindsay, Canada
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    106
    31
    16
    4
See reviews for
42
170
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here on may 25 2015 and will never come back again got in to my room after a horrible experience with front desk staff yelling at me room Was not clean and still had dirty sheets in a green bag went down for dinner in the pub side and the first thing I ordered was not cooked right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

This review is unbelievable. Such behavior from any of our staff would call for instant dismissal. Guests are not allowed into rooms until they have been approved by a supervisor. I would suggest that the reviewer contact me personally. More 

Lindsay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

best view and good foods and friendly service from the front desk to the server in the pub and the location is the best you can walk anywhere it would have been nice it the weather had been nice you can see the boat from the rooms and the whole area is clea n

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our staff, food and cleanliness as we all strive daily to maintain our standards. More 

Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older Quaint Inn right on the water overlooking the 1,000 Island Ferry. We wandered the town and played golf. The rooms have been redone with new bathrooms and Jacuzzi tubs nice and quiet this time of year I believe they had just recently opened from winter. Breakfast and dinner was included in the getaway price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your pre-honeymoon stay with us! More 

Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Believe the bad reviews about this place. The Inn is located in a beautiful spot on the water but that is the only good quality. My room smelled funky and was quit dirty. It had dirty bathrooms, spiders on the ceilings and in the corners. The bed had obviously never been moved for a cleaning, the windows didn't shut correctly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Your review is so dissimilar to to those we usually receive that we are wondering if you perhaps stayed at another hotel. I will, however, make sure that our housekeeping staff members, who are so proud of their record for cleanliness, have the opportunity to see your comments More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our anniversary and had a wonderful stay. Staff at the Inn were very friendly and hospitable. We had our breakfast included and it was very good - a la carte on saturday and buffet style on Sunday. Nothing really blew our socks off but it was a very comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and Happy Anniversary!!! More 

Port Stanley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean, comfortable rooms! Quiet, peaceful, overlooking water! Nice place to just chill, with a good book. Excellent breakfast menu (and lunch and dinner too, if desired.) The staff were friendly and helpful. A close walk into small town, and boat rides available of The Thousand Islands, makes for a nice entertaining day! Passports were required on the boat trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your mention of our wonderful staff. The scenic cruise with a visit to Boldt Castle is always a guest favourite! More 

Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tucked away down an attractive tree lined street, right on the banks of the St Lawrence river , The Qananoque Inn is easily the best situated hotel in this little town. If you are looking for a trendy, modern boutique style hotel with a poncy nouvelle cuisine style eatery, keep driving. If, like us, your looking for comfortable, well appointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay. Our waterfront location is indeed a bonus! As of last weekend Watermark, our fine dining restaurant, is now open for the season providing additional dining options on site. More 

Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay in a beautiful waterfront room, which was clean comfortable and quiet. Dining package was excellent value with great service in restaurant. We took advantage of spring special which gave us a superb room right on the water, dinners and breakfasts all for less than $200.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The comments of our guest are very important to us. We appreciate that you mentioned your dining experience. This month we are pleased to offer new, seasonal menus in both Muskie Jake's Tap and Grill and Watermark, our fine dining restaurant. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and are always well received by staff. The room we had this time was a corner room which had a nice view and quite large, the washroom is starting to look a little aged and I am not sure how the water system works, but it took a long time to get hot water. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your return visit and nice review. I'm so sorry our Spa was unable to accommodate you. If staff are in the reception area it is because they are waiting for their clients to arrive or to change from their street wear or robes. Staff always step out of the treatment room while this occurs. Because we are... More 

Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Gananoque Inn and Spa is a great getaway, we have travelled to a few other B&Bs and other comparable Inns in the area and really enjoyed the Gananoque Inn most of all. The location is great with waterfront views, you can walk along the docks and enjoy sunrises/ sunsets and it is only steps away from the theatre and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to know that guests have enjoyed our quiet time of the year. The summer months have a completely different busy, but fun vibe. We hope you will have the opportunity to sample that sometime too! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay