We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5018 1st Ave, Edson, Alberta T7E 1T6, Canada
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    5
    3
    7
    15
See reviews for
8
1
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived very late at night with a lot of luggage. They wanted a $200 deposit, they have signs posted warning you of this. It appears that they placed me in an area where my late arrival would not affect others. That is good service. The room was very clean and had an ironing board. I'm not much of a fan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I hope we met all of your expectation. Thanks for your suggestion about yogurt and bagel. Thanks again for staying with Howard Jonson, we look forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed there 2 nights. On site restaurant and bar. Free WiFi and HDTV. Overall good service, room was clean and comfy beds. Friendly staff and continental breakfast was good. Easy access to highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are a family going to stay here,,stay clear, smoky, doors have 1/2 " gaps, run down,more of a work mans hotel,,just a dump. Sorry Howard Johnson's,but that is the way it is.Want a better review, do a complete remodel. And having a bar and casino hook on , more like a party hotel. So anyone looking for just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Edson hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

I was unhappy with my stay due to fact management was very poor, they didn't seem to care about anything I had concerns about. The kitchenette didn't have any cutlery or dishes. When I asked for a pan it took 3 days to get one. They also gave me a SOS pad to clean my dishes with when I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I am sorry that you had bad experience with us. Due to shortage of staff and new hiring we had issues and did not meet your expectations. We are working hard to improve our service. Thanks again for staying with Howard Johnson. We appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I've stayed at several hostels and motels before and this place was by far, the filthiest out of all of them. So I'm not terribly picky about where I stay but I wish I had slept in my car instead. My bed sheets and towels were stained, the shower curtain was stained, the floor was disgusting, I found a woman's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Spruce Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Staying here back in November reminded me of when Obey-one-kanobi brought Luke Skywalker to that terrible bar to hire the Millennium Falcon. There were 'ladies of the night' and a bunch of gangster 'new Canadians' all over the place. Keep driving. If you are 'working the rigs' and need some blow and a good time, help yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is really average hotel. Good thing about it is only the price. You get what you paid for. We booked a room for 5 people. We got one for 4 only. After very long conversation with unhelpful night shift concierge we got rolling bed delivered to our room. We stayed there only few hours and we choose that hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I wasn't sure going into since I had seen such bad reviews. The staff was really great to deal with. I found the rooms to be clean. The service at the bar was great! You get what you pay for. Don't rely on the reviews - I found my experience to be great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Dirty rooms Black things growing on the bath mats Party bar and motel plus on the Yellowhead Hwy so noise is ridiculous Anything in on or around your truck/car will be missing in the morning Spend the extra money and go somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Rooms: dirty! Floors: dirty! Don't stay here if you have allergies! I was so stuffed up. Bar: dirty. And Don't bother ordering a drink - they are very noticeably watered down. Three of us commented the same thing! Food: only had chicken wings and they were only edible, not tasty. Here is the funny part: We stayed five days (my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edson hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Edson
Super 8 Edson
#2 of 15 in Edson
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Gold Inn
Black Gold Inn
#11 of 15 in Edson
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Edson
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edson
0.6 mi away
Ramada Edson
Ramada Edson
#6 of 15 in Edson
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Edson
Econo Lodge Edson
#12 of 15 in Edson
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay