We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5018 1st Ave, Edson, Alberta T7E 1T6, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

This place was filthy. there was mold in the bathroom, the under side of the bed was never vacuumed, the toilet had feces stains on it. I would not stay as I have a four year old that likes to play on the floor and I was worried what she would pick up and I would never bathe her in... More 

Helpful?
Thank sgstone
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

It wasn't luxurious but it was perfect for us. We were travelling with three adults and three children, the beds were comfy and there was a great kitchenette. The balcony was huge and the bathroom was adequate. The continental breakfast was a great surprise! And the staff was very, very nice!

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Arrived very late at night with a lot of luggage. They wanted a $200 deposit, they have signs posted warning you of this. It appears that they placed me in an area where my late arrival would not affect others. That is good service. The room was very clean and had an ironing board. I'm not much of a fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ginger I
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I hope we met all of your expectation. Thanks for your suggestion about yogurt and bagel. Thanks again for staying with Howard Jonson, we look forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

I have stayed there 2 nights. On site restaurant and bar. Free WiFi and HDTV. Overall good service, room was clean and comfy beds. Friendly staff and continental breakfast was good. Easy access to highway.

Helpful?
Thank david m
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

If you are a family going to stay here,,stay clear, smoky, doors have 1/2 " gaps, run down,more of a work mans hotel,,just a dump. Sorry Howard Johnson's,but that is the way it is.Want a better review, do a complete remodel. And having a bar and casino hook on , more like a party hotel. So anyone looking for just... More 

Helpful?
Thank ireneabc

Travelers are raving about these Edson hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

I was unhappy with my stay due to fact management was very poor, they didn't seem to care about anything I had concerns about. The kitchenette didn't have any cutlery or dishes. When I asked for a pan it took 3 days to get one. They also gave me a SOS pad to clean my dishes with when I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaleylyle
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I am sorry that you had bad experience with us. Due to shortage of staff and new hiring we had issues and did not meet your expectations. We are working hard to improve our service. Thanks again for staying with Howard Johnson. We appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I've stayed at several hostels and motels before and this place was by far, the filthiest out of all of them. So I'm not terribly picky about where I stay but I wish I had slept in my car instead. My bed sheets and towels were stained, the shower curtain was stained, the floor was disgusting, I found a woman's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
Spruce Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Staying here back in November reminded me of when Obey-one-kanobi brought Luke Skywalker to that terrible bar to hire the Millennium Falcon. There were 'ladies of the night' and a bunch of gangster 'new Canadians' all over the place. Keep driving. If you are 'working the rigs' and need some blow and a good time, help yourself.

Helpful?
5 Thank mikelQ4549GO
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is really average hotel. Good thing about it is only the price. You get what you paid for. We booked a room for 5 people. We got one for 4 only. After very long conversation with unhelpful night shift concierge we got rolling bed delivered to our room. We stayed there only few hours and we choose that hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kurzew
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I wasn't sure going into since I had seen such bad reviews. The staff was really great to deal with. I found the rooms to be clean. The service at the bar was great! You get what you pay for. Don't rely on the reviews - I found my experience to be great!

Helpful?
3 Thank Tina C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edson hotels
0.3 mi away
Black Gold Inn
Black Gold Inn
#9 of 15 in Edson
4.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edson
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Edson
Super 8 Edson
#3 of 15 in Edson
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN High Road Inn
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Edson
Econo Lodge Edson
#12 of 15 in Edson
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Edson
Ramada Edson
#4 of 15 in Edson
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay