We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canalta Hanna

113 Palliser Trail, Hanna, Alberta T0J 1P0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Hanna)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canalta Hanna
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Canalta Hanna
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    25
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
6
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Heidelberg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First impression - "urg"... The hotel is being renovated and it looks like a construction site. Second - we were on the first floor, we had huge luggages and there is no elevators... And no one to help. Third - it advertises a hot tub - jacuzzi but the first thing we were told was "we dont have a license... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to respond. Unfortunately at the time of your stay the hot tub was not in working order but since has been rectified. We look forward to your next visit with us. At Canalta Hanna we are always home for you! Thank You! General... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Currently the outside paints a much different picture than the inside. Hotel is currently under renovation and is slightly off-putting from the outside, but the renovations inside are fantastic and well worth it! I come to Hanna approximately once a year for 1-3 nights for work. I had not stayed here since 2012 when it ran under another chain. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the glowing review we do appreciate the feedback and all the kind words. We were happy to serve you and await your return. Our main goal is customer appreciation and service and were happy to see we did just that. Here at Canalta Hanna we are always home for you with a warm and friendly... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a wedding and were arriving a tad early so we called the front desk to let them know. It was really hard to find as they were going through renovations to the front which looked marvelous inside. We were greeted by a really kind and caring front desk agent named Tammy. She upgraded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to respond to our site. Our team's main goal is customer appreciation and service. It was awesome to see that we could accomplish that goal. It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future. Here at Canalta Hanna we are always home for you... More 

High River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on May 30th, 2015. Only problem we had was the hotel is being renovated and we had some trouble locating it as it had no sign and was behind a restaurant. Fortunately, Hanna is very small so after driving through town we turned around and found it. It is still under construction but this did not interfere with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments we do value your opinion. We do our very best to make sure each and every guest are as comfortable as possible. Our team here do try to understand the needs of our guest that is our main goal. It would be a pleasure to serve you again. Here at... More 

Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is finished in the front end of the addition and looks great. Nice and clean rooms. Great rate with AMA card. Quiet and comfortable rooms. Good mattress and selection of soft or firm pillows are keys to a great sleep. Breakfast was standard fair, but all fresh. One complaint - coffee cups are too small. Need to upsize so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for all the kind words and was so happy to see that you had a good say with us. hear at Canalta Hanna our main goal as a team is customer satisfaction and appreciation. It was so nice to see that we exceeded your expectation. We do value your business, it would a pleasure to serve... More 

West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Shocked off my feet entering the lobby ( it was fabulous) as the outside was covered it plastic . The service was great and the breakfast was was just fine. The bed was outstanding. I know Hanna hasn't got that much to look at in May but this was the ultimate nothing window view for $160.00 a night .

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for all the wonderful comments about our hotel we are all very excited to see the transformation of our hotel with the renovations.Our main goal at Canalta Hanna is customer appreciation and satisfaction. We were happy to see that we accomplished it with great pride..My team and I do look forward to your next visit. Canalta... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The new renovated rooms are nice and clean, lobby and breakfast area is great. The breakfast has a good selection and the cookies on the counter are a nice touch. The outside is in a bit of shambles with Reno at the moment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for all the nice comments, we really try to make our guests feel like they are at home. My team and I sure hope you will visit us again. At Canalta Hanna we are always home for you and your family! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Even under renovations the staff made sure my stay was enjoyable. Always asking if I needed anything. The rooms are clean and new. I'm sure once the renos are done this will be the place to stay in eastern Alberta.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your response followed by all the kind words we were happy to help greet you. We do value your business and your opinion. Our teams mission is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and assure your needs are met. It was so nice to see we accomplished that mission and look forward to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Stayed there 4days, the heater in the room was broken when I arrived and the room was only 14*c. Informed the front desk every day of the problem, they assured me it would be fix by the time I was done work but it never was. I was on nights and the rooms was never cleaned once during my stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to respond. We do appreciate the feedback and do our very best to meet your needs. The heater in question is on a delayed motion censor therefore while you are not moving it turns down. You are on nights working it was very difficult to get a cleaning... More 

Calgary
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Although the front office was closed for renos and staff were working out of a trailer, the rest was fine. My room with an outside entrance was somewhat more like a typical motel but room was very clean and beds/pillows were great. Due to renos there was no breakfast but a $6 voucher for A&W next door was provided. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanaltaHanna, General Manager at Canalta Hanna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and my team and I were happy to make your stay a pleasant one. We all work together to help make that happen and it was a pure serving you. We hope to see you real soon. Canalta Hanna strives on customer excellence and is always home for you. Thank you again General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay