We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Simon Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
8888 University Drive | Bldg A1001, Burnaby, British Columbia V5A 1S6, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Simon Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vernon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

My husband and son stayed here several times for lacrosse.My husband was very impressed.The corner rooms are slightly larger and have beautiful views.The hotel is very clean.Everything is basic and there is no breakfast included but there are several opportunities in the area as well I believe you can eat at the cafeteria

Helpful?
Thank sweetvernon
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Group Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review of the Simon Hotel! We are glad to hear that your husband was very impressed with his stays. Many of our guests stay with us when they are attending local sports events in and around the Burnaby area. While breakfast is not included, we are fortunate to have a Dining Hall on site that offers... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

This is a really good place to stay for meetings at Simon Fraser University or the surrounding area. Comfortable, clean rooms with great views, and cheap compared to general Vancouver prices. Can be a bit warm in really hot weather but this is a fairly minor issue. Very helpful staff. Also possible to use university facilities, pool etc. Restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at our Simon Hotel. It always great to hear back from our guests! Our location at SFU's Burnaby Campus allows guests to have the flexibility to spend the night on campus and also take public transit to downtown Vancouver or nearby area such as New Westminster or Metrotown in Burnaby.... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

If you are visiting someone who attends SFU - Burnaby campus, then the Simon Hotel on campus is the perfect place to stay. We got a room with Queen and pull out couch for approx. $100/night (this is price with discount if you are visiting a student there). I don't remember seeing an ice machine and only a drink vending... More 

Helpful?
Thank Datcher3
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time to review our property. We are excited to announce that we have partnered with the SFU Fitness Centre and Pool. Until the end of April, all Simon Hotel guests will have complimentary access to the Pool and Fitness Centre at SFU. The view from the hotel rooms vary, and some of the end rooms... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

The room was very nice. A good price based on how close you are to campus plus the room size was great. Bathroom nice, spacious, clean. Bed was nice and comfy. You get cable tv which is good too. View was alright. Pretty quiet as well. My favourite part was the Keurig coffee machine. It was nice that they supply... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shafagh H
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback from our valued guests! We just refreshed all our rooms, which included upgrading to HD cable and installation of new, faster WIFI routers. It sounds like your binder was unfortunately not updated with the new WIFI access codes. We have ensured that this information is now... More 

Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

No air conditioning: during a really hot July stretch of the night I stayed, this place just wasn't comfortable for sleeping. Which is odd because the evening temperature outside was really nice and noticeably cool. The only way to get air flow was to open my door to the hallway (with both windows open) but for security purposes that just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiecutterclone
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you review of the Simon Hotel. This Summer was unusually warm for the Lower Mainland Region and we had several days where temperatures exceeded 30C. We ensure that our website and confirmation email indicate we do not have air conditioning. We do provide a fan in each room to allow air flow. We also have additional... More 

Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Great place if visiting the campus, very reasonably priced, nice converted residence rooms, clean and close to all campus locations. The office is not open 24 hours a day so not the usual hotel service, however there is a phone that leads to someone. The rooms are not huge (residence) however they are 'good enough' and very well maintained. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Promart1
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for spending the time to review our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! While our office is not open 24 hours we do have on-call staff who can check you in at anytime by picking up the phone at the main door. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay. Tidy, accessible, and close to amenities. Frequent buses to sky train stations as well as to City centre. A Nester supermarket is 10 minutes away on foot, if you are looking for cheap food. Friendly staff at the reception.

Helpful?
Thank man0haran
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Simon Hotel. We are fortunate to be close to frequent bus service and to the Production Way Skytrain. As you mentioned in your review UniverCity is a 10 minute walk from The Simon Hotel. They have an array of amenities including Nesters Market- SFU. We hope... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We are a retired university-educated couple, and of course we are quite hip. We stayed in room 801 for three days in early August 2015. The room is very large and clean, although oddly laid out with a large unused space between the washroom right inside the door and the living quarters around a corner. Our view south was lovely,... More 

Helpful?
Thank DougYNorfolk
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of the Simon Hotel. Our team has read through it and appreciate your feedback. On a regular basis we update the information on our confirmation email and will put some of your suggestions into our next update. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Interesting option as it is not a traditional hotel. It is located on the top floor of one of the university's dorms. The rooms are nice and worthy of a level 4 rating with the the exception of the fact that there was no air conditioning (which at the time of my stay July 2015 was not disclosed on it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank ecm_maloney
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Simon Hotel. This Summer has been one of the warmest and driest in decades! Our University campus, as a green initiative, does not have air conditioning. Thank you for your suggestion to update our website. We have since added additional information on our homepage regarding no air conditioning. I... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The Simon is not like a traditional hotel, but it has comfortable rooms, and if you have to be on campus. We have stayed here several times dropping off or picking up our daughter for university. We have stayed in the queen room and the suite, both of which are good, but I prefer the suite as it is much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
SimonHotel, Coordinator, Groups Sales & Services at Simon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review of our property, we value your feedback and are glad your visits with us have been enjoyable. The 135 bus route is a very efficient and quick transportation option to downtown Vancouver with buses leaving SFU campus every 5 minutes. We hope to welcome you back soon! Regards, Anthony Falls Coordinator, Group Sales &... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Burnaby
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay