We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Campbell River hotels

Heron's Landing Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   492 S. Island Hwy., Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heron's Landing Hotel to your Saves list
Heron's Landing Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
75%
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Campbell River
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
McClures2014 Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (121)
  • Photos (30)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • More
true
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
62
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here overnight as part of the package to Knight Inlet Lodge, and were given a suite which had a lounge, dining area and kitchen facilities, which we weren't expecting. It was clean and tidy, but extremely hot, even though they had provided a fan. We are non-smokers and unfortunately did detect a smell of cigarette smoke within the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Smoking is not permitted in any guest rooms. I'm sorry you detected a smoke smell. I will have to look into that! Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning, so we provide fans for all the guest rooms. I keep a few extra on hand if one... More

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here en route to Knights Inlet. Hotel is is a few km from the centre of town so unless you have a car a taxi ride is necessary to get dinner. Campbell's River has Mac, KFC etc but not much else. Hotel was ok. Clean good sized rooms but no aircon and few opening windows. Laundry on site was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. I'm sorry you found the road noise bothersome. Unfortunately I can't change our location. Some people don't like it and others don't mind it. Luckily we are blessed to have a beautiful view of the ocean. There are so many wonderful restaurants in downtown Campbell River. In your suite,... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were jut stopping off on en route to Knight Inlet Lodge - but Campbell River is a lovely place in its own right and Heron's Landing is a good find. The staff were welcoming and friendly - and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good and our suite was spacious and comfortable ... just wish we could have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am very glad you enjoyed Campbell River, and your stay at Heron's Landing. I hope we can welcome you in the future. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More

Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here en route to Knights landing. The hotel is old but very very clean. The check in staff welcomed us like old friends. The room were in fact a one bedroom with lounge and kitchen. The room was immaculately clean and the bedding fair ( lumpy pillow) the only real down side was lack of Airconditioning and some earl... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More

Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading so many great reviews on trip advisor, we looked forward to our stay. After we stayed, I wouldn't return by choice. We placed the card on our bed to have our sheets changed, as one of us had a skin rash which soiled the sheets. To our disappointment, we returned to our room to see the same sheets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate guest comments both good and not so good. It helps us to know where we can improve. I am so sorry your sheets did not get changed. Also the towels should have been replaced with new ones. It is our housekeeping standard to replace sheets when the sign is left on the bed... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were truly delightd with our Heron's Landing stop-over prior to flying to Knight Inlet. The liaison between the hotel and the Inlet Lodge was perfect, making for a wonderfully smooth transition from our road trip to our bear watching experience. The suite was spacious with a balcony overlooking the Discovery Passage, a sitting room, dining room, kitchen and, of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We take great pride in providing all our guests with a clean, comfortable stay. I hope we you again in the future. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night prior to a trip we had booked. Hotel was welcoming and we were greeted with a nice welcome We had a 1 bed Superior room which was great large Queen bed nice kitchen area and sitting room and a nice balcony with stunning views of the Campbell River. Complimentary breakfast was great. The free parking is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! It really is wonderful for all our staff to know they are doing a good job! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Charming hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, a room that was in fact a suite with comfortable beds and a kitchen, balcony overlooking the water, good breakfast - we were only there overnight, but would happily have stayed for several days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We strive to make each and every guest experience a happy one. I hope we see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was fantastic accommodation - about four times the size of an average English hotel room and had a balcony and kitchen attached. From the balcony we had a good view of the inner passage and spotted a passing seal [and an off-course deer]. Our big mistake was going to Freddie's pub - next door but not part of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review! I am so happy you were pleased with the suite. It is nice to be able to have enough room to relax and enjoy, while you are on vacation. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your meal at the pub a few doors down from us. We do get good feedback... More

Tremblant
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed at this charming little hotel located right on the ocean in Campbell River. The hotel is decorated with a european charm and very cosy. The rooms are small but adequate and we had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. Breakfast is european continental with cereal, eggs, toast, fruit, all available in a small, family-style... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We take great pride in our little hotel! We hope you will come and see us again! Kindest regards, Janet Johnson General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heron's Landing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Address: 492 S. Island Hwy., Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Campbell River with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heron's Landing Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer