We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heron's Landing Hotel

Hotel website
492 S. Island Hwy., Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heron\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geneva
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Situated outside of Campbell River (so transport essential) and in a somewhat run-down area, this hotel offered us a relatively small double room, and the walls between rooms were paper-thin, allowing us to enjoy the television if the next door accommodation! Staff were very friendly, but the quality lacking for CAD 160 a night. A plus was inside parking.

Helpful?
Thank RocketmanGeneva
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate guest feedback. I was sorry to read that you found the room small. We also offer 1 Bedroom Suites, which are spacious and allow guest's to enjoy a separate living area from the bedroom. You mentioned the hotel is situated in a run down part of town. Other than the old house... More 

North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

From the moment we arrived we felt good about this inn. The staff on duty was outstanding. We stayed in a king room, the room was super clean and the bed was comfortable.The bathroom with high end fixtures functioned very well.We had a good and quiet night. All was up to date and top class. WIFI excellent. Breakfast, was outstanding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xeny43
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come and see us again! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

From the initial signing in til we departed, we enjoyed our stay. We were here specifically to go on "bear chasing salmon" trip. We were given a great referral for dinner "Quay West". Brekkie really nice too. Rooms very cosy. You get water views here.

Helpful?
1 Thank brigids
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate when guest's take the time to write a review. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Chester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

We travelled around Canada and USA for 6 weeks and this was one of the nicest places we stayed. Lovely staff and fabulous breakfast. Thank you. Shame they don't do dinners as not much choice within walking distance. Plenty of parking and good wifi.

Helpful?
Thank CarolynChester
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you can visit us again in the future. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We stayed at Herons for 4 nights in a king bed room, not a suite. The room had a small fridge and microwave and the balcony had a view that looked out over the ocean. The bathroom had complimentary shampoos and soaps. The hotel has a wonderful complimentary continental breakfast, which includes a make it yourself omelette station, breads, fruits,... More 

Helpful?
Thank vmooney
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I sure hope you can come and see us again! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

We were in a 2-bedroom suite on the top floor, and it was spacious and very comfortable with a great view. The breakfast was outstanding actually with a selection of hot and cold items, and an excellent server ensuring everything was constantly replenished. The front desk, and cleaning staff, were also very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank doctorgloria
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a wonderful review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you can come and visit again! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

A stop off on route further north on Vancouver Island. Very spacious two bedroom suite with a big lounge, kitchen and roof terrace. Spotted our first bald eagle from the terrace and deer in the neighbouring forest. It's a long walk into town but great views all the way. Enjoyed dinner in Quay West restaurant in town. Friendly and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Egnaro
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a lovely review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It really means a lot to all the staff. I hope you will come and see us again. Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

When I booked this over 10 months before our trip it was awarded a certificate of excellence in 2013. It is advertised as Campbell River's only boutique hotel. So I was disappointed with our room. It smelt musty. The view from the balcony onto the property next door was not fab. ( I know that is not the hotels fault... More 

Helpful?
Thank 35Elaine
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. The reason we call ourselves a "Boutique Hotel" is that we are not a chain, and the décor has a European touch as well as a modern touch. We are a small hotel, only 30 rooms and suites, and we take great pride in offering a... More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

This suite hotel offers good value: large comfortable suites with kitchens and a nice breakfast. We stayed in a suite with a separate bedroom (queen bed) from the living room/dining room and the small kitchen. It would easily accomodate a family of three or four comfortably. This cost what a single queen bedroom would in a chain hotel. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicefamilyColorado
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review! We appreciate our guest's feedback very much. I am sorry we couldn't get you into a Suite that was further towards the back of the hotel. The road traffic bothers some people but not others. I hope we will welcome you again in the future! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

This my second stay and I would stay again. It is clean with well cared for rooms and very friendly staff. It was just what we needed. Also great walking area and quick trip to town. Best I've had in CR. Lower floors are best to save walking. Parking is secure in the bottom floor.

Helpful?
1 Thank altun13
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again! Kindest regards, Janet General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 17 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#9 of 17 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#6 of 17 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#11 of 17 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 17 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#3 of 17 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay