We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet

Hotel website
Hotel deals
462 South Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    73
    24
    14
See reviews for
88
107
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (288)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Puyallup, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 304. The view was beautiful. The heat was turned up to 5 so the room was warm. We turned the heat off and did not use it the rest of the stay. The bathroom had 3 sets of towels and we needed 4. We had to call for an additional set. I thought we would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the occasion to stay at the Austrian Chalet and we found it very clean with everything we needed. The loft suite we had over looked the water and we had a great view of the 50th Parallel! Kudo's to the manager Annabel Saunders who we met and you can see why the staff is top notch. Right from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. While constructive criticism helps us to improve, it sure is nice to get a great response like yours. If fuels my staff and is a great motivator to let them know they have made a difference. We look forward to your next visit. And if there is anything we can do to make... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was booked in this hotel with another co-worker. I ended up with a loft room. The room was very clean and nice view of the ocean. The furniture is older, and you can tell when sitting on the sofa. The bed was very comfortable. The room also had a nice desk to work at. It was a spacious room. Having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Our loft rooms are definitely the most popular and for good reason. The split level gives a greater feeling of home with the living room downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The view from your balcony is awesome too. A tip for future travelers: Within the next two years we will be addressing our outdated furniture. We will be replacing all... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, but rooms are dated and ready for an update. Don't come here for fast internet either because the speed is so poor it caused me to be unable to complete work. Time for a general renovation for this property.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

As a Best Western Plus, we are undergoing many renovations and changes, inside and out. This year we are working on guest room flooring and exterior paint and lights. Our internet is also in the process of being upgraded. To date we have added a brand new router and 8 new access points. We have many more changes planned for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Victoria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the loft rooms with our 2 children for three nights. Overall, we were happy with our stay. The staff is great, very friendly. When the maintenance man saw my son throwing a golf ball on the green, he came back out with clubs so he and my husband could actually play. The ladies who oversaw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

I really appreciate the time you have taken to write such an informative response. Be assured, I will take the pros and cons of your response and implement changes with housekeeping and maintenance to improve our operations. Thank you again for your candid response. I do hope you will consider staying with us again and give us a change to... More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very pleased with this hotel and all it had to offer. Keeping in mind that this is an "out of the way" hotel, I think you need to have an open mind when checking in: old tiles, dated carpet, "ugly" walls, like come on, it is a place to lay your head!! The room I was in was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I highly encourage you to visit us again soon. Just a tip for other travelers, we do have pet friendly rooms, but they are only our traditional rooms on the first floor. I recommend contacting the hotel in advance to request one... More 

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've just spent a night in this very tired hotel. We will not be returning. It was in need of major upgrade. For example it claims to be a "plus" grade Best Western, but it didn't even have a bathroom fan: consequently if had black mold on the tiles & steamed up so you couldn't see a mirror.!!. Also because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

On behalf of the team here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are undergoing an improvement program and have already made some major changes to the property. We have expanded our breakfast room, updated our exercise room, renovated our lobby, installed fresh lighting and patio... More 

New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed here this past weekend and what a nightmare. The room is very tight and no room to really move around. The beds were comfy but the room itself was not. The washroom had dirty tiles and tub and had no fan for circulation! We needed more towel only 2 for the four of us and when we asked they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

I apologize on behalf of the team here at Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation. I assume you were here for the hockey tournament? When we have several teams booked in on the same day it can be a little hectic, as everyone wants supplies and there generally are 150 plus... More 

Powell River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Very helpful staff, nice pool, hot tub, and sauna. It would be nice if they had more tv channels (no OLN, Discovery, or History) but the rest of the services and helpful staff make up for it and then some.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely response. While our staff is fairly new, they do go out of their way to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We look forward to you staying with us again. More 

New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Upon entering our room we got the unwelcome surprise it was a much smaller room than booked. Barely room to walk around the two queen beds and not a space we could entertain my parents for a few hours the next day while they were visiting. Back to reception to be told that they had a problem with Best Western... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations. I am unsure as to what exactly happened with your room move and will investigate the matter further. I do agree that you should have been contacted and informed of the change. Generally, we give upgrades, not down. 4 of our 6 front desk agents are extremely new and do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question