We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Castlegar hotels

Sandman Hotel Castlegar

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1944 Columbia Ave., Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel Castlegar to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
37%
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Castlegar
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
15
16
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel. There was an indoor pool and hot tub. Pool room was a little hot but good. Room needed a bigger AC unit. For the room rate breakfast should have been included. Location was good, just off the highway. Lobby was very nicely done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July/2014. I has a nice pool and hot tub indoor. It was very hot inside but we liked it as the pool was cool. Nice and clean hotel. Will stay here again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed our pool and hot tub and I agree the atrium area can get very warm especially when we get to the high 30's in July, we are trying to work out a solution to this but as you said the pool was nice and cool. I am glad that you... More

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were driving through town as a young family and called late to see if there was room. The front-desk staff was so friendly and helpful. She gave us a room upgrade when we explained we have a baby and toddler. It was so sweet. The breakfast was fairly good and we were pretty pleased with this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am happy to hear my staff were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. It is always good to hear from our guests and we look forward to taking care of you and your family when you travel through Castlegar again. More

Fraser Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Sandman before and we were pleased to stay again on our way through. This is a large hotel with many facilities. Normal size room, clean, with two very comfortable queen size beds, very friendly staff at check in, nice large breakfast room. I liked the way the counters were set up, against various walls, so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am always happy to hear from our guests and find out about their stay with us. I am glad that you found everything to be well presented we are always striving to improve and your comments let us know we are going in the right direction. Thank you for once again staying with us... More

Vancouver
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel has 3 floors: 1st floor rooms have family rooms with kitchenettes, 2nd floor rooms have twin double beds and 3rd floor rooms have King size beds. As a corporate guest I have been staying at this hotel twice a week for the past 3 years. I travel from Vancouver to Castlegar on business via hwy 3, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the hotel, as you have noted we still need some updating in the rooms which we are in the process of doing. As you had noted when you were awakened for which I do apologize, my maintenance were working on the floor above you doing some updates. As far as our King rooms our... More

Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is "older", but it is a well designed "atrium" hotel that is spotlessly maintained. Front entry is very nice, fireplace, stone walls. Lots of parking outside. Easy entry. Front desk was very efficient, knowledgeable, and friendly. I had a king business suite, and it was huge. Well decorated (modern), very clean, flat screen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment I a very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again when in Castlegar. More

Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The exterior and lobby seemed nice enough, but our room was around back and in need of an update to at least this decade. Maybe it was just a short "seasonal" thing, but the SW side of the building was literally covered in spider webs, and a few hundred thousand spiders. No restaurant or coffee shop. For 100$, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are in the process of doing some upgrades so hopefully by the time you return you will see a difference. In answer to your question Yes in September spiders are very prolific we do spray and knock them down but they just magically reappear within a couple of days. We do hope... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ran into one issue right when we got there but it was taken care of within 30 minutes. We had no issues with the hotel, or the room. The pool is great and the hot tub is hot. The atmosphere in the Atrium is wonderful. I just wish we could stay in there later then 10:30. If you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am pleased to hear we were prompt in handling the issue that had arisen when you had arrived. We are always grateful to our guest when they let us know of a problem so we can correct it. I am glad to hear... More

Kelowna, British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our peewee hockey team stayed here for a tournament and it was very good. The hotel is older but they were very accommodating to our team. They included free use of a conference room for the parents for the weekend. We ordered in a catered meal (Castlegar Meal Delivery-great food) for our group and it was great to have that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review We are very happy your team enjoyed their stay we always enjoy seeing the children having a good time. We look forward to having your team stay with us again. More

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I called ahead and was told that they had 'cots' which could be used to sleep 3 adults in a room. We booked a double room, and were offered a foam pad and blankets. Cold room, drafts coming from a/c unit. Booked another room for next two nights, fridge didn't work, cold draft, sink leaked. Unimpressed and would not stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. After reading your review we did check the room you were in and found the fridge was just turned down but was working fine. We also did find that the arrator on the sink was loose causing it to leak which has now been tightened and we will caulk around the a/c unit... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Castlegar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandman Hotel Castlegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave., Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Castlegar with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
134

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Castlegar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer