We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Castlegar hotels

Sandman Hotel Castlegar

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1944 Columbia Ave., Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel Castlegar to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
34%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Castlegar
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Brenda T Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
14
15
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has 3 floors: 1st floor rooms have family rooms with kitchenettes, 2nd floor rooms have twin double beds and 3rd floor rooms have King size beds. As a corporate guest I have been staying at this hotel twice a week for the past 3 years. I travel from Vancouver to Castlegar on business via hwy 3, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the hotel, as you have noted we still need some updating in the rooms which we are in the process of doing. As you had noted when you were awakened for which I do apologize, my maintenance were working on the floor above you doing some updates. As far as our King rooms our... More

Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel. It is "older", but it is a well designed "atrium" hotel that is spotlessly maintained. Front entry is very nice, fireplace, stone walls. Lots of parking outside. Easy entry. Front desk was very efficient, knowledgeable, and friendly. I had a king business suite, and it was huge. Well decorated (modern), very clean, flat screen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment I a very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again when in Castlegar. More

Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The exterior and lobby seemed nice enough, but our room was around back and in need of an update to at least this decade. Maybe it was just a short "seasonal" thing, but the SW side of the building was literally covered in spider webs, and a few hundred thousand spiders. No restaurant or coffee shop. For 100$, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are in the process of doing some upgrades so hopefully by the time you return you will see a difference. In answer to your question Yes in September spiders are very prolific we do spray and knock them down but they just magically reappear within a couple of days. We do hope... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ran into one issue right when we got there but it was taken care of within 30 minutes. We had no issues with the hotel, or the room. The pool is great and the hot tub is hot. The atmosphere in the Atrium is wonderful. I just wish we could stay in there later then 10:30. If you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am pleased to hear we were prompt in handling the issue that had arisen when you had arrived. We are always grateful to our guest when they let us know of a problem so we can correct it. I am glad to hear... More

Kelowna, British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our peewee hockey team stayed here for a tournament and it was very good. The hotel is older but they were very accommodating to our team. They included free use of a conference room for the parents for the weekend. We ordered in a catered meal (Castlegar Meal Delivery-great food) for our group and it was great to have that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review We are very happy your team enjoyed their stay we always enjoy seeing the children having a good time. We look forward to having your team stay with us again. More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I called ahead and was told that they had 'cots' which could be used to sleep 3 adults in a room. We booked a double room, and were offered a foam pad and blankets. Cold room, drafts coming from a/c unit. Booked another room for next two nights, fridge didn't work, cold draft, sink leaked. Unimpressed and would not stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. After reading your review we did check the room you were in and found the fridge was just turned down but was working fine. We also did find that the arrator on the sink was loose causing it to leak which has now been tightened and we will caulk around the a/c unit... More

Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed twice in a row at this hotel for a business trip. First time on Nov. 25, 2013 at room 148 and the second time on Dec. 2, 2013 at room 331. I was not impressed at all by this hotel, staff and amenities. The first time when I was in the room browsing TV channels, only FIVE were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is always good to hear from our guests whether good or bad. I definitely agree with you as to our front desk staff being consistent with guest reservations if given breakfast on one stay and not the next why . My apologizes and no excuses although both staff you spoke with were fairly new... More

Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sandman hotel in Castlegar for a hockey tournament and doubt our team would return there in the future. We have always stayed at the Super 8 hotel just across from the Sandman and unfortunately for us this time it was fully booked; now I know why!! The staff at the front desk were quite rude to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I do apologize if my staff were rude to you in anyway we did have 3 other teams besides yourselves that were wanting to check-in early 2 of the teams did communicate advising us of this request so we did have priority on their rooms. As far as our group conduct agreement we give... More

Penticton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

searching online for a hotel close to Selkirk College, we decided on the Sandman. compared to other properties in Castlegar, it was well priced and centrally located. We arrived without a reservation and the service at the front desk was excellent. Small talk was personal and customer focused. After checking in, we did have a little difficulty finding the elevator... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel it is always greatly appreciated when our guests let us know how we are doing. We are in the process of doing some upgrades to the hotel. We have just finished installing all new flat screen TV's in all our rooms. We are expecting to be receiving all new duvets,... More

West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stay in Sandman hotels 100 days per year and this one was a colossal disappointment! Erin at the desk was more interested in telling us how tired she was. I am not why she thought we cared? She asked how the room was booked and when we told her Hotels.com she rolled her eyes. Not sure what that meant?I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the service you received at our front desk. I do find it very surprising that you received this type of service from one of my front desk staff it is very unusual for me to receive these types of comments normally my front desk personal are very courteous and professional for this I do... More

Been to Sandman Hotel Castlegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave., Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Castlegar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.