We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Flamingo Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
27
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very clean, bathroom was new and can't beat the price. The owners were absolutely amazing, from bringing extra chairs and utensils for a family barbecue to holding our son while we completed a task that took 2 people. No wonder the motel is usually full, keep up the good work. We will be back, thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All I needed was a bed for a quick overnight stay, and the Flamingo Motel fit the bill nicely. The place is in desperate need of an exterior facelift. It really doesn't look very appealing from the road, and close up it isn't much better. The friendly greeting I received and the cleanliness of the room made up for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napanee, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I stayed here during a recent motorcycle road trip, it is only a small place but it is very clean, had what I needed and was well situated within easy walking distance of food etc, I found it to be very comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciated for your staying in our motel. Welcome you stop by in the next riding trip! Geoff and Naomi More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We had booked The Flamingo on line and since it is an independently owned motel, Geoff, the new owner was very quick to respond. Our travel plans then changed and we were going to be in Castlegar a day earlier than we thought . Geoff responded immediately to let us know we had a room. The Flamingo is a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us a kind review! We appreciate for your suggestions and are trying to improve our small motel step by step. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Castlegar. More 

England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This is a small motel with only 6 rooms, so Geoffrey & Naomi make sure you have a good stay and regularly asked if I had all I needed. When I arrived, I was greeted and shown to my room, usually you are just given a key! I did not understand how to use the lights and the fans, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us a review! We appreciate so much for your choosing and staying in our small motel with over 50 years history. It's our great honour to witness your noble and beautiful nature! We are looking forward to seeing you in the next Castlegar Sculturewalk. Geoffrey and Naomi More 

St. Albert
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

‎We choose the Flamingo because of its top rating on Trip Advisor. I agree that the owners are friendly and the rooms were clean. Unfortunately that is where the top rating stops. The Flamingo is located next to a spur line and a level train crossing so expect a few room shaking train passing every day. When not hearing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us a review! We were so sorry that you had such a bad feeling staying in the suite which a lawyer and a doctor stayed for 6 nights just before you checking in. And it is a fact that we can see the train going through our small town everyday. Anyway, you... More 

vancouver,bc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I was attending a graduation at Selkirk College and booked a room based on Trip Advisor,I was not disappointed.Although the room was older everything inside was immaculate and clean.I slept really well. If you find yourself needing a place to stay in this town then I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It would be our great pleasure to have another opportunity to stay with you in our motel. Geoff and Naomi More 

Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Stopped for one night on the way home from an extended holiday. Old style motel, small, clean and convenient. Not a lot of frills, but we enjoyed a quiet nights sleep and appreciated having our vehicle right out our door. It was an enjoyable change from many of the large chain hotels in which we had been staying. The proprietors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us a kind review! We also appreciate for sharing your amazing long trip experience with us. Hope to see you in the future. Geoff and Naomi More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Flamingo Motel is under new ownership and it shows. The new proprietors were professionals in China (lawyer, professor) who have brought that professionalism with them to apply to the task of operating a small regional motel. I really appreciated the quick, responsive emails in securing a suite for two pups and two humans with a full kitchenette. I also appreciated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate very much that you gave us those nice suggestions, and you had stayed another 4 nights with us shortly after your review. We are looking forward to your next visit to Castlegar. Geoff and Naomi More 

Rock Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Clean, very clean! Friendly service, perfectly located for me as I was attending a day course at Selkirk College, Castlegar Campus. My two dogs were welcome. While it is an older style motel it is nicely renovated and has all the amenities microwave , fridge, coffee maker, two TVs! one in main area and one in bedroom. Comfy bed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lia, Thank you for using our motel. We appreciate that you kept the room so tidy and clean, and your dogs were so friendly. We are doing some renovations in order to make our guests feel more comfortable. You are one of our best valued guests! Thanks for your review and welcome back again. Geoff and Naomi Flamingo Motel,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
1.5 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay