We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Flamingo Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

We recently stopped at the Flamingo Motel during a quick trip to Alberta.The room was very clean and comfortable. The reception we received was very efficient; even shown the room by the owner. We will certainly return in the future

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time, Michael! We are very glad that you enjoy staying here. Welcome back again, always! Geoffrey & Naomi More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

OK. HOW this place is #1 is a mystery to me. Best bet Super 8 or there's a lovely place on the way to Grand Forks. It's dingy and dark so couldn't tell if it's clean or not. Blew it as the Super 8 was BOOKED. Don't do it and the noise from traffic is terrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Krazed4koots
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Hi SIr/Madam, Sorry for making you have such experience! If I have another chance to serve you, I will open the lights (if at night) and let you check the cleanness first. Naomi More 

Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

One of the better motels I've stayed at. Very clean rooms and an excellent value for the price. The one gripe I had is that the Wi-Fi strength was very weak and it kept cutting out. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Helpful?
Thank JJOHN10
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Hi John! Thank you for your time! Your kind review just made us do the best! Next time, if the WIFI is not strong enough, please let us know. Thanks again! More 

Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The room was very clean, bathroom was new and can't beat the price. The owners were absolutely amazing, from bringing extra chairs and utensils for a family barbecue to holding our son while we completed a task that took 2 people. No wonder the motel is usually full, keep up the good work. We will be back, thanks again.

Helpful?
Thank beechboy2015
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time! Your words encourage us to do better and better.Welcome back anytime! I am looking forward to see your two kids again! They are so cute! Naomi More 

Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

All I needed was a bed for a quick overnight stay, and the Flamingo Motel fit the bill nicely. The place is in desperate need of an exterior facelift. It really doesn't look very appealing from the road, and close up it isn't much better. The friendly greeting I received and the cleanliness of the room made up for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barb M
Napanee, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I stayed here during a recent motorcycle road trip, it is only a small place but it is very clean, had what I needed and was well situated within easy walking distance of food etc, I found it to be very comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciated for your staying in our motel. Welcome you stop by in the next riding trip! Geoff and Naomi More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We had booked The Flamingo on line and since it is an independently owned motel, Geoff, the new owner was very quick to respond. Our travel plans then changed and we were going to be in Castlegar a day earlier than we thought . Geoff responded immediately to let us know we had a room. The Flamingo is a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy A
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us a kind review! We appreciate for your suggestions and are trying to improve our small motel step by step. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Castlegar. More 

England
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This is a small motel with only 6 rooms, so Geoffrey & Naomi make sure you have a good stay and regularly asked if I had all I needed. When I arrived, I was greeted and shown to my room, usually you are just given a key! I did not understand how to use the lights and the fans, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us a review! We appreciate so much for your choosing and staying in our small motel with over 50 years history. It's our great honour to witness your noble and beautiful nature! We are looking forward to seeing you in the next Castlegar Sculturewalk. Geoffrey and Naomi More 

St. Albert
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

‎We choose the Flamingo because of its top rating on Trip Advisor. I agree that the owners are friendly and the rooms were clean. Unfortunately that is where the top rating stops. The Flamingo is located next to a spur line and a level train crossing so expect a few room shaking train passing every day. When not hearing the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank phrank
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us a review! We were so sorry that you had such a bad feeling staying in the suite which a lawyer and a doctor stayed for 6 nights just before you checking in. And it is a fact that we can see the train going through our small town everyday. Anyway, you... More 

vancouver,bc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I was attending a graduation at Selkirk College and booked a room based on Trip Advisor,I was not disappointed.Although the room was older everything inside was immaculate and clean.I slept really well. If you find yourself needing a place to stay in this town then I would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank dallasbc
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It would be our great pleasure to have another opportunity to stay with you in our motel. Geoff and Naomi More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
1.5 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#5 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay