We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

3.0 of 5 4330 Island Highway South, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    162
    66
    36
    22
See reviews for
55
221
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (491)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (141)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa is located in Courtenay, British Columbia, about a twenty minute drive from the Comox Airport. I have been here several times in the past four years for an annual meeting. If you fly in and are not renting a car, the Kingfisher has a convenient shuttle service which you can book in advance. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SeanOden, Thank so so very much for your detailed review of the Kingfisher. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the years. We do our very best to provide our guests with the best service possible and also provide all the amenities expected in a modern property, while still having the traditional look and... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Kingfisher Spa many times over the last decade. I chose to spend my 40th birthday here and it was perfect. We stayed in Romance Suite which was in the top floor with an amazing view. We were treated to Sea lions and Seals swimming by every day. We took full advantage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Moselle D, We are delighted you chose to return to the Kingfisher for your special birthday! What better way to celebrate than to treat yourself to our Spa, and enjoy Mother Nature from the comfort of your suite, cozy by the fire, with delicious food from the Breakwater Restaurant. We wish you a very happy birthday, and we hope... More 

Quadra Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hydropath is wonderfulll. Our room was cute with a beautiful ocean view. Dinner at the restaurant was good and the landscaping is very pretty. The yoga was okay but would have been nice if it was included.

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear meandamat, Thank you very much for your review. I am so happy you had a great time at the Kingfisher. The Hydropath is definitely a wonderful thing to do while visiting us. It is by far our most popular service at the Spa. We hope to have you back again to enjoy another stay. All the best to you,... More 

Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right away we felt welcome. The front desk had all ready and tended to us quickly with a smile. Our Orca room was very nice and the ocean view was outstanding, I could trip into the ocean from our room. I simply can not say enough about the fine dining. The Chef prepared a special one of a kind meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SammyCleo, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. We are truly blessed with our location, and we do our very best to provide the kind of service that exceeds our guest's expectations. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope to see... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiancé and I stayed in the Orca suite on our anniversary night. Great view of the ocean, and a beautifully laid out room. There was a little bit of everything inside the kitchen cupboards. Mixing bowls, pots, pans, plates, cups, bowls, kettle, coffee pot, cutlery, etc. In addition, there are plenty of amenities available. Pool, hot tub, steam cave,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear rynsewyn, Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The Orca Suites are truly wonderful, aren't they? We do our very best to accommodate our guest's needs. I sincerely hope you return again to try out our facilities and amenities, our spa and restaurant and both world-class, and no Kingfisher... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our suite at the beach overlooks the ever changing ocean with mountains beyond. Curling up together by the fireplace on a cool winter night is the perfect way to end an enchanting walk in the fresh air, gazing at the stars. Great break from the urban jungle! Spa, pool and gym too! Don't forget the great restaurant either- always a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary D, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are truly blessed with this wonderful location and what a great way to spend a cool winter's eve, snuggled by the fire... We are so happy you had a great time with us, and hope to see you back very soon! Sincerely, Chris Front Office Manager More 

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a good time here with some friends. The room we had was very nice. The spa is one of the cheapest / best value for what you get I've ever been to. We were all delighted with our spa treatments. My only complaint is one of the massage rooms is really not very nice. It looks like they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gypsy_Soul432, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Spa really is a wonder Island staple, and we are very proud of it indeed. I am sorry to hear there was some confusion with the deposit/billing. I trust the matter has been resolved for you.... More 

Ladysmith, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were thrilled with the service, the spa and yoga class. The room was so cozy and well-appointed, that we hardly needed to go out. We had an excellent meal at the Breakwater. We were there for a 25-50-75 3 generation birthday, and what a great venue. The place is clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Staff were helpful and service-oriented.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear William S, Thank you so very much for celebrating your multiple birthday party with us! I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time, and enjoyed our world-class service. We love hosting events such as these, we are happy to take care of all the details that are involved. We hope to see everyone back again soon!... More 

Courtenay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I were attending a Military Officer's Mess dinner at the Kingfisher's Breakwater Restaurant on a Friday and decided to stay a night and check out the resort's amenities. I booked a room over the phone, asked if they offered a military rate and was told the usual price for a room was $140 but they could give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear user192015, Thank you for your review and feedback. I understand you were in our yet-to-be renovated room for your one night stay last weekend (The Family Day Long Weekend). I do apologize the room was not up to the standards you were expecting. Looking back at the records, I can see that all the standard Ocean View rooms were... More 

Van Anda
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found a winter price of $57 and booked a room. We were very impressed especially with the price. Enjoyed the whirlpool, steam room and pool. Room was clean, fridge, coffee maker, big screen TV and picture fire place. We did not know of the hydro path, it wasn't mentioned until I saw a review and then I asked. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
George S, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear jthollo, Thank you very much for your review! I am delighted you got to enjoy our resort for such a great price. There are definitely some great deals to be had, especially in the "low season". I hope you return soon to enjoy some of our spa services, and of course, our famous Breakwater Restaurant. All the best to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Address: 4330 Island Highway South, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#5 Business Hotel in Courtenay

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay