We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Cranbrook hotels

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Cranbrook St., Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandman Inn Cranbrook to your Saves list
56%
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014
KalispellMontanan Kalispell
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
13
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel once before and the room was ok. It wasn't very clean but it worked for one night. We were going to stay there again and the woman at the front desk was horribly rude. We asked if we could see the room first and she said "really?! When I'm THIS busy?!" Needless to say, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. "Horrible, rude service" is definitely a disconcerting phrase I do not like to hear when someone describes a staff member at our property. The behaviour you describe is not encouraged nor is it tolerated at our hotel. I am a staunch proponent of promoting and exhibiting excellence in service. I would invite you to contact... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are dirty and the service was not great. I was in a room beside a pet designated room and a dog was barking nonstop for 2 hours. When I called the front desk the women pretty much said to bad and did not offer to switch my room. Not impressed‼️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. A person who has had a negative experience at our property is always a concern to me. A dog left unattended in a room and as a result continues to bark is not acceptable. The offer to move rooms is an instruction I clearly give to staff and will reiterate this directive as a result... More

Kalispell
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good motel for a restful night's sleep but do be sure to ask for a room that is not alongside the railroad track. The other side of the motel is very quiet. Rooms are comfortable, clean and somewhat smaller than rooms in the U.S. for the same price. Halls are in need of new carpet. No breakfast included but there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Oh, those railroad tracks. As you say in your review, "ask for a room away from the tracks." Comfortable rooms and cleanliness are definitely high on our priority list in maintaining an excellent property in which to spend some time . I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and visit us in Cranbrook.... More

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sandman in Cranbrook during our motorcycle trip. We had wonderfully friendly service together with a very comfortable room. Everything was clean and fresh. It was a great stop and we will definetely stop here on our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Friendly, comfortable and clean are definitely three words we love to hear when a guest describes the Sandman Inn in Cranbrook. We are a favourite spot for motorcyclists and are happy that your stay was a pleasant one. See you on your next stop in Cranbrook. Your review is appreciated. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have staid in many hotels and this one is by far the worst I'll never recommend this hotel for anyone they start bothering you before check out time I've called the night before to explain I wanted to stay another night and buddy was at my door and calling from about 9 am on after I explained I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. I make it a practice to respond to all reviews, both positive and negative. It surely sounds like you had a horrible experience at our property. We always strive to provide the best service and that includes granting a late check out if at all possible. It sounds like the front desk was able to... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family was gathering in Cranbrook for an overdue family reunion. The plan was to fish, hike and enjoy the Cdn Rockies. As many were coming from long distances, we needed to keep the costs down where possible while not sacrificing quality and comfort. We booked rooms at the Sandman and were thankful we did. They offered exceptional rates for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are a popular spot for family gatherings and in your case, that certainly rings true according to your positive review. Our rates are definitely competitive. Also, there are numerous activities in which to partake in our general vicinity. We hope you have another gathering at our property and we will extend the same... More

RedDeer
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's okay, we arrived late and tired, the rooms nothing special. The bathroom you have to go in , reach behind , shut the door then back up, to use the toilet. The girl at the front desk was very nice. Over priced, thats for sure. But I'm finding anything in cranbrook is high.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Admittedly, our bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink, etc. located in a separate area. Thanks for your kind comments on the front desk girl. We hope you will decide to stay with us on your next visit. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager More

Sherwood Park, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Typical old hotel. Rooms were very small, bathrooms were even smaller. First room we were checked into was "supposed" to be a king suite with a pull out couch. Got up to room and only found 1 queen bed and a small chair....no couch. The inside access door to the adjoining room was broken as well. The deadbolt lock was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The Cranbrook property was built in 1973 and as you say, it is not as bright and modern as some of our other properties; however, we are continuing to make renovations to bring the property up to more current standards. The first room you described is not our typical "king room" as it did not contain... More

Edmonton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here one night in July on our way to the US. The hotel has a good sized parking lot out back where we could park our truck and trailer for the night. The rooms at this hotel could use some updating but overall it was comfortable enough for a night. Everything was functional but dated. The hotel backs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for providing a room tip for others regarding asking to be situated away from the train tracks. We are continuing to renovate the property in order to bring it up to more modern standards. I am happy that you did have comfortable night and we hope to see you again. Thanks for the review. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager More

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently had to travel to Cranbrook, British Columbia to assist a friend in hospital after an accident. I had no clue where to stay but decided to chance the Sandman Inn and I am so very glad I did! The gentlemen on the phone was very polite when taking my reservation and friendly as well. The hotel was easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. "Friendly, Accommodating and Spotless" are definitely encouraging and rewarding words to see when reading a review. I am glad that your experience was a good one. We at the Sandman Inn Cranbrook do promote excellence in service to the guest. Also, we want to be empathetic, especially to those who are experiencing a... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandman Inn Cranbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St., Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay