We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

405 Cranbrook Street, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
14
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Vancouver
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed the one night but was greeted by friendly staff and room was very comfortable for $50.00. Would recommend the place for fellow travellers and there are plenty of quick food places nearby including Denny's next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This hotel is OK. Nothing special, nothing bad. Don't expect a lot of luxury bit also expect a clean room with friendly staff. Once people. There is a restaurant 24/7 next to the hotel, with direct access to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight while in town for work. Rooms not huge but adequate. Certainly not fancy or luxurious. Hallways are nice though. Bathroom was tiny! You have to close the door to use the toilet and the sink is outside the bathroom. Water pressure in the shower was not fantastic although the rain shower head made up for it somewhat. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel once before and the room was ok. It wasn't very clean but it worked for one night. We were going to stay there again and the woman at the front desk was horribly rude. We asked if we could see the room first and she said "really?! When I'm THIS busy?!" Needless to say, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. "Horrible, rude service" is definitely a disconcerting phrase I do not like to hear when someone describes a staff member at our property. The behaviour you describe is not encouraged nor is it tolerated at our hotel. I am a staunch proponent of promoting and exhibiting excellence in service. I would invite you to contact... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cranbrook hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are dirty and the service was not great. I was in a room beside a pet designated room and a dog was barking nonstop for 2 hours. When I called the front desk the women pretty much said to bad and did not offer to switch my room. Not impressed‼️

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. A person who has had a negative experience at our property is always a concern to me. A dog left unattended in a room and as a result continues to bark is not acceptable. The offer to move rooms is an instruction I clearly give to staff and will reiterate this directive as a result... More 

Kalispell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good motel for a restful night's sleep but do be sure to ask for a room that is not alongside the railroad track. The other side of the motel is very quiet. Rooms are comfortable, clean and somewhat smaller than rooms in the U.S. for the same price. Halls are in need of new carpet. No breakfast included but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Oh, those railroad tracks. As you say in your review, "ask for a room away from the tracks." Comfortable rooms and cleanliness are definitely high on our priority list in maintaining an excellent property in which to spend some time . I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and visit us in Cranbrook.... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sandman in Cranbrook during our motorcycle trip. We had wonderfully friendly service together with a very comfortable room. Everything was clean and fresh. It was a great stop and we will definetely stop here on our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Friendly, comfortable and clean are definitely three words we love to hear when a guest describes the Sandman Inn in Cranbrook. We are a favourite spot for motorcyclists and are happy that your stay was a pleasant one. See you on your next stop in Cranbrook. Your review is appreciated. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I have staid in many hotels and this one is by far the worst I'll never recommend this hotel for anyone they start bothering you before check out time I've called the night before to explain I wanted to stay another night and buddy was at my door and calling from about 9 am on after I explained I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. I make it a practice to respond to all reviews, both positive and negative. It surely sounds like you had a horrible experience at our property. We always strive to provide the best service and that includes granting a late check out if at all possible. It sounds like the front desk was able to... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family was gathering in Cranbrook for an overdue family reunion. The plan was to fish, hike and enjoy the Cdn Rockies. As many were coming from long distances, we needed to keep the costs down where possible while not sacrificing quality and comfort. We booked rooms at the Sandman and were thankful we did. They offered exceptional rates for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are a popular spot for family gatherings and in your case, that certainly rings true according to your positive review. Our rates are definitely competitive. Also, there are numerous activities in which to partake in our general vicinity. We hope you have another gathering at our property and we will extend the same... More 

RedDeer
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's okay, we arrived late and tired, the rooms nothing special. The bathroom you have to go in , reach behind , shut the door then back up, to use the toilet. The girl at the front desk was very nice. Over priced, thats for sure. But I'm finding anything in cranbrook is high.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Admittedly, our bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink, etc. located in a separate area. Thanks for your kind comments on the front desk girl. We hope you will decide to stay with us on your next visit. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay