We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Fort St. John hotels

Howard Johnson Fort Saint John

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8540 Alaska Rd, Fort St. John, British Columbia V1J 5L6, Canada (Formerly Coachman Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Fort Saint John to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Fort Saint John
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
59%
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Fort St. John
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
William K Saanichton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (16)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
9
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes I'm a tourist driving the Alaskan highway. Shouldn't have stopped here. Motel is next to oil workers trailer park. Parking lot and streets full of loud noisy diesel trucks. This might as well be a northern Texas. Motel is expensive for what it is, but ok. If you are desperate and tired and they aren't full of oil workers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will preface this review by mentioning that I know it's difficult to get staff in small towns which may be why the manager of this HoJos felt he could treat customers so rudely but it was still shocking. He ran the credit card without asking, he claimed not to realize that he hadn't charged the same rate we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnson8540, Manager at Howard Johnson Fort Saint John, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel. I am sorry for that situation. When you booked two rooms, you asked the senior discount for both rooms. One guest was not senior at check in. Please understand that we can give a senior discount to only seniors. Thank you. Best Regards, Hotel Manager Solomon Yi. More

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay. Large room & excellent continental breakfast. Very clean and staff very friendly. Fort Saint John is very new looking and busy with the gas and oil production. We would visit again and travel back by way Chetwynd for the terrific scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are far better hotels in FSJ then this one... I'd recommend a hotel closer to town, with much better facilities and rooms. The hotel manager "Solomon", was not easy to deal with and lied about the room rate over the phone, only to charge a higher price on check out. Bottom line, do not stay here and you will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wildersville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. Large room, comfortable bed. We got the price we were told. TV, microwave and frig. Nice bath and large room for breakfast. Would stay there again if in the area . Room was clean and had all the things we needed. Had a luggage cart to put your luggage on to take to your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnson8540, Front Desk Staff at Howard Johnson Fort Saint John, responded to this review

Dear Tennessee Thank you for your lovely comment regarding your stay at Howard Johnson Hotel. We are glad to hear you satisfied our hotel. We hope that we can be of service to you in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson Fort Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Fort Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Fort Saint John

Address: 8540 Alaska Rd, Fort St. John, British Columbia V1J 5L6, Canada (Formerly Coachman Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Fort St. John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Fort Saint John 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Fort Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Saint John Hotel Fort St. John
Best Western Fort St. John
Fort St. John Best Western

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fort St. John with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer 70 deluxe Queen and King rooms for you to enjoy. We have designated pet rooms for an additional fee. We have hot tub, sauna, and fitness room facilites available from 9am to 10pm daily. We offer a board room to all our guests free of charge. We have wireless internet available as well as a guest computer in the lobby. We have outdoor hook-ups, air-conditioning, and very friendly staff ready to make your hotel experience as memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Fort Saint John staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer