We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Golden accommodations

Golden Municipal Campground

1407 9th Street South, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Golden Municipal Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent 3-9 day vacations at this campground (July, Aug and Sep 2013). The scenery is spectacular, the staff are great, and I love the trains. I have been camping here for over 25 years and it keeps calling me back. You can walk to anywhere in town for groceries, dining or a pint on a patio, or just to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back home. We were kept awake until 3am by the people in the next campsite. I don't think they would classify their actions as 'partying' - they were just 3 people sitting around the fire listening to music, drinking, telling stories and occasionally erupting in laughter. But they were about 10 feet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyMichelle67, Manager at Golden Municipal Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our quiet time is 11 pm if another campsites activities ie music or laughter ; are interrupting your sleep after this time we urge our guests to call our campground operator so we can deal with noise complaints. All this information is posted on our website, email confirmation as well... More

Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a one night stay here as we made our way east to Banff and just want to compliment the staff on being very friendly and helpful during our stay. We had some issues with our RV rental and the staff went out of their way to try and help us. Though the train tracks were close this really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyMichelle67, Manager at Golden Municipal Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. I will certainly pass it on to the rest of the team. More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've been here a couple of times and think that the place is great. There are two bathroom / shower buildings. Both are really clean. One is a little older than the other. The older one has a great dishwashing counter. Big counter, two big sinks, plenty of hot water, all stainless steel. No need to hassle with doing the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackfalds, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed at this campsite for about 5 years in a row now and find it really suits our needs. We use it as our stop over point on our way to and fron BC and really enjoy staying here. I love the sound of the river and the trains just add to the whole experience. The staff have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Golden Municipal Campground 3 summers in a row (in tents). The sites are clean, as are the bathroom facilities. The staff were very friendly. There is a nice walking trail along the river, a great outdoor swimming pool just down the road from the campground, and Golden is nice little town to explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great experience staying at this campground. Book early if you'd like to get a good tent spot. The Whistle Stop has all the necessities if you forget anything and the staff were helpful when we needed them. We stayed in a tent (2 adults) on site 71. Of course, since this is the outdoors, there are mosquitoes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
canmore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Enjoy the well treed sites a few rows in and avoid the lane right along the river front. Yes, the train is noisy, get over it you're next to the tracks. This place is not for you if you are a light sleeper. Other than that it's clean, the sites are a decent size and there's lots of smaller private... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyMichelle67, Manager at Golden Municipal Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor We feel your unbiased review was spot on! We have managed the campground for the past 6 years and every season try to make improvements. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Strike one against this campground is that we were forced to stay because we broke down - not their fault and I suppose thank god they had ONE site left. I wouldn't really call it a campground as much as a dirt parking lot on the side of the river. Very busy train tracks across river that go all night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyMichelle67, Manager at Golden Municipal Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay we are always looking for ways to improve the campground. Unfortunately the trains seem to be a theme to campground across BC and Alberta and are out of our control. However you must have missed our Brand new wash house. In our New office building. Im sorry you found our staff less... More

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I made the mistake of reserving a site here for a quick overnight stop on our way home from our vacation in southern BC. We got crammed into a small site that had the railway to our back end and the road to our front. I felt bad for the people beside us who had to stare at the side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoyMichelle67, Manager at Golden Municipal Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to make improvements to the campground that are in our control and we will certainly take your comments in consideration when we do our planning for the future. We hope you reconsider and try our campground again and perhaps we can place you in a more suitable site... More

Been to Golden Municipal Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Municipal Campground

Address: 1407 9th Street South, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Specialty lodging in Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Municipal Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Municipal Campground to your Saves list