We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lucas D Calgary, Canada
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    23
    20
    10
See reviews for
49
75
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing stay at the lodge! Fantastic room, friendly staff and you can't beat the location. Ive stayed here twice and will definitely stay here again…. Its not your typical crazy ski resort lodge, very mellow and easy going atmosphere. Very highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Lucas D, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. I do agree with you that you cannot beat the “steps away” from the gondola location. It is great to hear that you are a repeat guest and we will be seeing you again! Thank you again... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived with friends for a weekend snowboarding trip upon which I feel ill with the flu. The staff was so accommodating and not only had our rooms prepared, but prepared early so I could have a chance to lay down. We rented a 2 bedroom that was recently renovated by the owners. It was spacious, clean and the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Renee403, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am delighted to hear that our staff were able to accommodate you and get you into your room early. I agree that the two bedrooms are quite spacious and very comfortable for a weekend of skiing. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to hosting... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We came up for skiing and enjoyed our stay here. There are several dining options, the double black Cafe was good for dinner and for a quick breakfast or you can eat at the top of the gondola. The room was comfortable with a small kitchen if you want to prepare your meals in your own room. The bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day K B, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding the beds. Hopefully with enough feedback we will be able to work with our valued Owners and upgrade these in the near future. We look forward to hosting... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

On a cross-Canada ski tour, arriving at Kicking Horse Glacier Mountaineer Lodge looked so promising. Fantastic, well-designed building from the outside, and right next to the gondola. With nothing but No Parking signs out front and multiple entrances, I'd suggest a Front Desk or Reception sign to guide you to check in in the upper Glacier building. Apparently they've had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day GeneSandbloom, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I do apologize about the signage confusion when you arrived. I am currently working on better signage to direct guests to our central check in location at the Glacier Lodge. I am sorry to hear that the unit you had was not efficient enough with regards to size.... More 

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

If you are going to Kicking Horse to ski, you cannot beat this location. Take the elevator to the first floor, walk through the ski locker room and you're steps away from the gondola. Aside from that, the property and service were uneven. The beds in the two units we stayed in were uncomfortably hard, the kind where the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day kraigsf, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed being only steps from the Gondola here at the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. As well thank you for your candid feedback regarding the beds. Hopefully in the near future we will be able to work together with our valued Owners and... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

we had a mountain view room, "B" side so it was very small. everything was nice and tidy and clean. staff helpful. my one ond biggest issue was the bed. it was hard and you could see the deffinition of the springs through the linen. you could feel the springs when you were on top of the quilt! time to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Jenni M, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I will be sure to pass on your concerns about the beds to our valued Owners. Hopefully with enough feedback like yours we will be able to work together with the Owners and upgrade these in the near future. For your next visit I highly recommend our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Directly on the snow accommodation at one of the best ski resorts in Canada- Kicking Horse! Our room #308 looked onto the ski fields (right in front of the childrens ski area). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Our rooms décor admittedly was a little worn in places, but in all honesty, it had no effect on our thorough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Carmenannwood, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am glad to hear you enjoyed all the amenities that the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge has to offer. I do agree that the view of the ski hill is great in the winter time and you can’t beat the proximity to the gondola and the restaurants! We look... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This was a great place. We had the three most important things when away with the kids; a great accommodation that sleeps the six of our family (two adults, two teenagers, two children), awesome location, and internet that works. I wouldn't recommend the gondola for beginning snowboarders, but the quad chair was good for our beginners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day GrantZ, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and had time to enjoy the great skiing terrain that Kicking Horse has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

A stunning location and good family accommodation. Just a warning though - if you don't have a vehicle make sure you come prepared as the General Store is not so reliable unless you want to live on beer and potato chips. The ski in-ski out accommodation was great, with large lockers able to fit all the families skis and boards.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Leanne P, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I do apologize that your room was not ready at our 4pm check in time and you were not checked in until almost 5pm. This is not our standard practise and I apologize for the inconvenience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I was at Fernie then Revelstoke before coming to Kicking Horse which quite frankly saved my first Canada snow experience. The accommodation was perfect with ski in ski out facilities. The snow was good up high, considering this was an unusually warm winter. the food was good and a decent coffee at double black café. The staff were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day mrobbo1111, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am delighted to hear that Glacier Mountaineer Lodge and Kicking Horse was the highlight of your ski vacation! I am glad our staff were able to assist you in making your stay exceptional. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question