We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Hound Inn

621 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4J3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain Hound Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    39
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
41
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a one night stay in this lovely clean hotel right on the Main Street of Nelson. Hotel clean, beds very comfortable and quiet at night. Surprisingly very quiet through the night even though this was in the downtown area with a revitalization of the street going on near by. Our room faced the back of the hotel but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The room was small but everything worked OK. It's quiet enough, except for the window AC units that cycle on & off. My room shared a "tunnel" on the outside for the AC's for 3 rooms so sometimes there was a bit of a rumble from one of the others. The location is good with lots of shopping & restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The room was clean, the staff was helpful and it was in the perfect location nothing more to ask for really. The room sort of did look like a prison cell but really for the one night we were staying there it did the job perfectly! I would totally stay here again if we pass through Nelson again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Very bad service. very bad attitude. poor experience. stayed there during my 22nd birthday, what happened was i stayed there for 4 nights, on the 3rd day they call me up at 11 checkout and tell me to leave i ask them 20-30 mins to pack up and get changed, i then actually instead of leaving decided to extend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainHoundInn, General Manager at Mountain Hound Inn, responded to this review

This individual was removed from our property for violating our no smoking policy, damage to hotel property, and threatening our staff. We were informed by the police that we are not the first property in Nelson where he had to be removed. Please weigh this review accordingly. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

It is in the name, come expecting a mountain lodge and you will be pleasantly surprised. The furnishings are basic, rooms are small, parking is ridiculous (I get it, Nelson wants to keep its charm), but you are right on the main street and staff is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

The staff were young and were always very helpful and friendly, the coffee pot in the lobby was always full and the breakfast muffins were delicious! This was a great location where I could walk to restaurants and shops. Did not have a view at all from my room but all you need to do is step outside. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very basic but clean. Our room was quite small. There is no free parking. From Monday to Saturday (9-5), the parking has to be fed every hour. The hall seems to echo any noise so it can be noisy. There is no coffee maker or fridge in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

I stopped here on a solo road trip. It was clean, the staff were friendly, and the price was right. It is located right in the heart of Nelson, just steps from bars restaurants and shopping. Overnight parking was not an issue. A great little place to stay if you happen to be on your way through..

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Conveniently and centrally located on the main high street, the hotel has clean, functional rooms that provides a comfortable stay. The water pressure and temperatures in the bathroom competently delivers. The lighting and bedding linen in the room are also simple and elegant. The wifi is free, and the signal is strong and consistent. Last but not least, the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The Mountain Hound is located with in walking distance to many restaurants. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was the off season, so they were not super busy, but the walls are thin, so you can clearly hear your neighbors. Continental breakfast was minimal but they did have coffee, fruit, muffins and juice. The front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay