We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

3.5 of 5 1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    194
    90
    58
    29
See reviews for
140
288
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (639)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my time here, definitely, but I'm not already aching for my next visit. There were some great parts and some okay to good parts. Nothing at all bad though. The great parts include the property, the beach and all the exploring that can be done right outside the door. The highlight for me was the endless tapas. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you LoveofGadgetry for posting your review. So happy you enjoyed your stay, your large suite and comfy bed, exploring the beach and property, and especially your Endless Tapas experience at the Treetop Restaurant in the Grotto Spa. Enjoying such a variety of small plates in your robe & slippers after a relaxing soak in the mineral pool is a... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my boyfriend for New Years 2015. I loved the grotto and hot tub but the 15 course tapas and wine in robes really topped it all off. It was a beautiful experience and I hope to be back soon. Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Peggy P for your fantastic review! Not sure where you're from but I agree of course that Vancouver Island is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thank you for choosing to ring in the new year with us! A dip in our Grotto Mineral Pool followed by Endless Tapas upstairs in the Treetop Restaurant... More 

Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pretty pricey but I always have a great time here. Most recently my family rented two rooms in October 2014. the Grotto Spa has to be my favorite spa in BC and the massages are always amazing. The tapas at the spa are really expensive but soooo good if you want to spend the money. I'm not a huge fan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Airika2011 for posting your "Love it here" review. So happy you and your family had such a great time with us back in October. We're thrilled to hear the Grotto is your favourite spa in BC - the massages are amazing and so is the Endless Tapas experience. Our Grotto Spa has just been voted the #1 British... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We rented 2 cabins for a five day period this Christmas and it was wonderful. The staff from book in to after our check out were fantastic. As we were having a family holiday we didn't want cleaning daily, but were checked on by staff to make sure we had all the towels, soap etc we needed. As it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sue H for choosing to spend your family Christmas with us at Tigh-Na-Mara! The Rustic Cottages with wood-burning fireplaces are very cozy and pet friendly. Nothing better than a crackling fire after a long walk on the beach or through the forest. Our new Green Incentive gives our guests the option of daily Housekeeping service. Anyone wanting daily... More 

Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great stay at the Tigh-Na-Mara resort. Booked into a 3rd floor ocean view suite. Amazing view from a very spacious balcony. Spa mineral baths was so relaxing and just what the body needed. Our package included the day passes. Staff were helpful and friendly at the desk, lounge and spa. Didn't go to the restaurant but enjoyed dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Bear1010 for your "Beautiful spot" review. We're so happy you enjoyed the amazing view from your spacious 3rd floor suite balcony, as well as the Grotto Spa Mineral Pool and recently renovated Cedars Lounge. I agree the Black Goose Inn is a very quaint spot nearby to enjoy a pint. We look forward to your next visit, Jim... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at Tigh Na Mara several times and would suggest if possible, get a cabin vs. being in the strip of rooms which face the water, but were tired when I stayed last. You will definitely need a car to get around but there are some great views and walks to go on and for an R &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Jane3722 for your review and for being a repeat guest of ours! I'm happy you liked the beautiful view, great spa and restaurant. Regarding the condition of the ocean view guestrooms, we do renovation projects every year. Recently we have renovated the mattresses, flooring, flat screen TVs and a lot of the furniture. We are currently replacing all... More 

Mill Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband have stayed at this resort previously and for the most part have enjoyed our stay. We had the opportunity to stay once again on New Year's, thanks to a gift certificate. We were really looking forward to our stay, however the quality has gone down considerably. The carpet in our room was dirty, the bathtub was not draining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you B M for your review and I agree from what you've written that a few areas of this guestroom are not up to our usual standards. Fortunately these issues can all be addressed right away (sink, taps, shower curtain and coffee maker can all be replaced, carpet will be cleaned, drain will be addressed). I apologize for your... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband booked into a package for my birthday that was to include a mineral pool pass. At check in this evening, received the pass went to change and proceeded to the Grotto Spa. Sign on the door said they closed at 5:00. We were then told it was resorts company party. The spa and the restaurant were both closed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Happy belated birthday Chris C! We are very sorry that your first review is a complaint written at 1am. In terms of compensation, I understand that: your night was comp'd and you have been invited back for another night (including Mineral Pool passes) to have a better experience; you were able to enjoy the Mineral Pool the following day (comp)... More 

Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights over Christmas and has a very relaxing time. We rented an ocean view suite which, very comfortable with, a great view of the ocean. From check in to check out every single staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful. We had drinks in the lounge and also ate in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Derek_Jenn for your wonderful review! Very kind of you to compliment our staff so highly - you're absolutely right it's not easy to work over Christmas and our Team does deserve a pat on the back for doing it with a smile. We're having our Team Year-end Party tonight so that's a good chance for us... More 

Duncan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My parents had a bad experience with the resort earlier this year - I had booked my parents into a room for two nights and a spa visit back in September - for my mom's birthday - the said they were really disappointed in the entire experience. They had stayed at it in the past, about 15 years ago, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you E D for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear your parents were disappointed with their experience back in September that you had booked for them. It certainly sounds like there were some communication issues somewhere in the process. I can't tell where exactly without more information, but I would be happy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Cedar room(11)
  • Mineral pool(9)
  • Full kitchen(7)
  • Grotto spa(7)
  • Ocean views(7)
  • Tigh Na Mara(3)

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Drive, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay