We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4850 Beaver Creek Road, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
mawsym2 Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
39
18
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I agree that this could do with a bit of a freshing up - I found the staff wonderful. We were given a room to store our hockey gear in. They gave us access to a room for the guys to play in - with a fooze ball table, pool table and shuffle board. The complementary breakfast was set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This hotel is in need of extensive renovations. Water pressure in shower was great. Rooms are dirty, smell, & have dated TV's.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are happy to hear your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay. we are a very economical Hotel for hockey teams especially with the Continental breakfast included. We are very pleased that you have passed on your comments to us and we would just like to let you know that we are in the midst of renovating our... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We were meant to spend two nights here but a party in Parksville restricted that to one, even though two were paid for so we have no comment on breakfast, even for the second night,which will be explained later. It has a rather drab appearance ex and internally that would might need as simple a fix as a decorators brush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent comments about our staff and Hotel. Just to let you know we are now in the process of renovating our guest rooms. new TV"S new bathrooms etc We hope you will come back and see us again really soon More 

Powell River
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This place was aweful so dirty blood on the carpet hair on the toilet spiders on the walls leak in the ceiling and terrible breakfast and then no opening window think that's a fire hazard?!!!! So nasty to be kind. The bar was good that's it what a dump

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Well you certainly have a bad opinion of our Hotel. We are sorry that you did not like it here. We did give you a full refund and we had hoped that what happened to you was a isolated case. We are renovating our rooms and although we are an older Hotel we are very clean ( our head housekeeper... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question