We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Retreat Hotel

38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    77
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
74
49
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband surprised me with a weekend away in squamish/Whistler. He originally booked the sandman for Saturday night and then called back to add Friday because we were able to get away a day earlier than we originally planned. He got a confirmation that only had Friday on it so he called back for the 3rd time to confirm that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kumar-SMRH, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and had liked our Hotel & Services. Thanks for being so supportive and encouraging in your review. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Always @ your service. Thanks,... More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights with a family of four and it was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The kids loved the pool and waterslide but beware that it can get crowded during busy times. The kids got up at 6:30 AM the second day so that they could have the slide and pool to themselves!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kumar-SMRH, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and had liked our Hotel & Services. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Always @ your service. Thanks, Kumar General Manager More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel months in advance for a Wedding. Two weeks prior we called to confirm the reservation. Upon arrival, we were told we did not have a reservation, despite having a confirmation code. We were not offered another room at the same rate or anything comparable. The front counter clerk argued with us and told us we never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kumar-SMRH, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. Allow me to explain what went wrong with your reservation. We had 50 rooms booked under Mackenzie Wedding approx 4 months back at a Discounted Group Room Rate. When we contacted the booker on the cut off date for... More 

2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am giving this only 2 stars because the hotel was really dated and the staff were not friendly or helpful at all. Other then that the rooms were clean and my kids enjoyed the waterslide. I probably would not stay here again unless the staffing issue is fixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kumar-SMRH, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and had liked our Hotel & Services. I apologies for the rudeness of one of our staff. I have taken this matter with the Department Head and corrective actions... More 

Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large enough room, comfy beds, one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've seen. Great for mountain biking nearby one night, traveling on the way to Whistler. However, not much nearby to walk around to, and seems to have a very inflexible 3:00pm check in time...likely due to the high occupancy rate that day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainRetreatGM, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and had liked our Hotel & Services. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Always @ your service. Thanks, Kumar General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiance and I stay here while visiting whistler as it was the only place that took a dog and was under $150. We had a basic room with 2 queen beds. We payed $130 which included a pet fee of 20$ The hotel seemed clean, dated but Clean. The bed was not very comfortable. The staff seemed un trained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainRetreatGM, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am disappointed after reading your comments. I wish i could have met you personally and would have apologised to you in person. As a Service Recovery i would like to offer you a Complimentary Upgrade in your next... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am SO incredibly dissapointed. And I did not even STAY in the hotel. I booked a room with this hotel on June 30 and cancelled it no less than 2 hours later via my mobile phone which took me to a page confirming my cancellation. On July 5, the day I would have stayed in the hotel, I check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountainRetreatGM, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am disappointed after reading your comments. I wish i could have met you personally and would have apologised to you in person. I will take this matter with the concerned Department Head. As a Service Recovery i would... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

>HORRIBLE... Only facts. Beds are ancient. First, loud when you move at night; second, EXTREMELY soft - not easy to fall into sleep. A room with 2 queen size beds was not very large. It has only 2 chairs (one is not movable). I.e. if you want to eat, you need to do it one person after another. Reception is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainRetreatGM, Guest Services at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mountain Retreat Hotel and Suites and sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the chance to hear from our guests so we can improve our service. I am disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with our beds, we have found overall that our beds are typically... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We were set for a two night stay. Early on the morning of the first night they had a fire. We had to leave quickly, and then wait in the parking lot for hours before we could collect our things. Despite talking to the (very unfriendly) manger twice, she refused to give a refund for that night. If you’re in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountainRetreatGM, Guest Services at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience with us. I am terribly sorry about the incident that happened during your stay. Our primary concern during the incident was to ensure guest and employee safety and to ensure all guests and employees were accounted for and safe. Please know that... More 

Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Booked a suite for my parents to stay in Squamish. Location is close to my residence, the rooms are newly renovated, lots of space, comfortable bed (a king size too!!) large telvisions in both rooms, everything was well stocked and the room was very clean. Staff were very friendly and accomidating. Although close to the highway there was little to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kumar-SMRH, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for choosing Squamish Mountain Retreat Hotel & Suites for your stay and sharing your feedback with us. I am glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and had liked our Hotel & Services. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Always @ your service. Thanks, Kumar General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
1.3 mi away
August Jack Motor Inn
August Jack Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Squamish
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay