We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Truro hotels

Rainbow Motel

341 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E1, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list
Rainbow Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Truro
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
CR91AM84 Belliveaus Cove, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (52)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
16
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belliveaus Cove, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked the day before, and was able to get a room that fit the criteria that we were looking for. (Non Smoking - Queen Bed) I let them know that we would be arriving later in the early evening rather early in the day. When we were going to be even later than anticipated I called to let them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Rainbow Motel and had a really nice experience. For $75 we got a queen sized bed, large flat screen TV, PS3 gaming unit, and all the other amenities a Motel provides. In addition, there is an outside, in ground pool (cleaned daily) which was a welcomed relief from the heat! The Motel is centrally located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a basic motel for a night before driving to Sydney for the ferry to NFLD. Robert was very friendly and helpful. This is not the Holiday Inn, but for $75 it was all we needed as we had driven 10hrs that day from Quebec city and just needed a place to stay. Robert also recommended Murphy's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

As I'm laying here in one of these beds, I'm very upset to say that i am wide awake a half hour after midnight and have yet to get any sleep, and probably won't. We have just experienced our SECOND encounter with a MOUSE. I do not feel comfortable staying in this room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In spite of our best efforts in almost 40 years in the business, occasionally one of these critters will come into a room unnoticed, and as soon as we know this the problem is immediately remedied. Whenever I register a guest, I always give them my phone extension and tell... More

Yarmouth, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A clean comfortable room complete with air conditioning, also coffee percolator, microwave & small fridge, large TV with great channel choice & also movies could be obtained in the lobby if desired & free wifi. As a smoker,I greatly appreciated that I didn’t have to go out in the rain to have a cigarette. Not a fancy place but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel. I am so happy that you were pleased with your accommodation, especially the in-room entertainment. We have been told repeatedly that the combination of big screen HDTV, over 200 satellite channels, PS3 consoles and large library of free Blu-Ray movies and PS3 games updated weekly is the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

While the HD TV and PS3 console were nice to have, the money could have been put to better use with room upgrades. The curtains, bedspreads and sheets were old and mismatched and one of our beds was broken and being held up by a cement block. The pillows and mattresses were old and uncomfortable to say the least. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that you were not completely pleased with your stay (although I am happy that you did enjoy our in-room entertainment system). FYI, the shipment of bed frames arrived last Thursday and have been installed. Vanities have been replaced, and I am still waiting for good weather to install new carpets in... More

Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rainbow Motel last August and were super pleased! It was easy to find, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed being able to choose from tons of free Blu rays available in the lobby, and then there's this awesome little diner next door which was as convenient as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your returning this coming August (hopefully by then winter will have ended :-) Best regards Robert and Norita Cunningham More

Riverview
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stumbled upon the Rainbow motel quite by chance; all the hotels where we would normally have stayed were booked solid but the Rainbow motel was able to accommodate us. It is not five-star but makes no claims to be; it is exactly what it says, a family-owned motel. It was clean, comfortable and friendly. The decor is a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review of our Motel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future. If it happens to be in the summer time, I am sure that you will enjoy our outdoor swimming pool. Also, thank you for recognizing the Rainbow as... More

Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I drove into Truro late one night, and compared the two places to stay that we found. Rainbow motel and a larger, well known chain. The chain location was very nice and modern, but twice the price of the Rainbow. We settled on the Rainbow and we were glad we did. The rooms are old, but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Motel. I am happy that you enjoyed the movies and games... I learned quite a while ago that even though we offer several hundred satellite channels, sometimes there is nothing good on to watch... so I made sure that there is alternative entertainment for all of... More

Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have to say that this was the best motel experience I have ever had. Same goes for my boyfriend. Not only are you walking distance to everything in town (Chinese restaurant across the road, the park, Liquor store, grocery store, main shopping just a short walk up the road), but also, the rooms were clean, the pool was lovely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Receiving a review such as yours is what all Innkeepers wish for. In response to your comments about upgrades, I have purchased new bathroom vanities and sinks for the queen rooms, as well as painting the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rainbow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 341 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Truro
Rainbow Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rainbow Motel is a family owned and operated establishment, proudly serving vacationing and business travelers for many years. Hosts Norita and Robert Cunningham will be happy to give you a warm Maritime greeting in English, French or Spanish. Our continuing commitment is to provide our guests with comfortable accommodation and the best, most up-to-date amenities possible. All units are ground floor, and offer fridges, microwave ovens, air conditioners, coffee makers (complimentary coffee, tea, and cocoa), 40" HDTVs with over 200 digital and High Definition channels, DVD players, and high speed Fibre Op 2.0 wireless internet. Our guests also have free access to the outdoor swimming pool, PS3 consoles and an extensive video game library. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer