We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Truro hotels

Rainbow Motel

341 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E1, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list
Rainbow Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
78%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Truro
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
197Jeff Ontario, Canada
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    37
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
17
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hotel made us very welcome, and they were very friendly. And Nice comfortable rooms, and yes they have a swimming pool, A/C , Flat screen TV and it come with Vid Games or Movies all for Free! If any problems you have just call and they will be right there to help :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We called 10 mins to Midnight and were about 20min drive away. The owner waited for us to get a room but not only did he do this he made sure everything was in perfect order and took the time to explain without rushing to leave and made sure my family was comfortable before leaving. I recommend this place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our motel. I am happy that I was able to make your stay with us pleasant, and that you enjoyed your accommodation. All reviews are appreciated... not so great ones let me know where and how we can improve our service, but reviews such as yours simply give me... More

Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first glance the room seemed nice enough. Went to turn the ac on.The drapes covered the ac so had to leave them open. View out the window a alley that people could go & see in room. The ac was noisy. The window at the front same problem. Have to leave drapes open to parking lot. It could do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Than you for taking the time to write a review of our motel. I am sorry that your experience was not positive. I examined your room and to be truthful I really had to search to see what you were seeing; I still have not found where the wallpaper is "peeling and stained"; you were however correct about the drapes... More

Long Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our experience was totally positive. We phoned earlier in the day for two rooms with two beds each. Robert was a friendly, helpful, gracious host. Room with kitchenette and 2 double beds quite clean, comfortable and a bargain for$79 plus tax. Great DVD selection of new releases. Lovely pool. A very nice facility.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belliveaus Cove, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked the day before, and was able to get a room that fit the criteria that we were looking for. (Non Smoking - Queen Bed) I let them know that we would be arriving later in the early evening rather early in the day. When we were going to be even later than anticipated I called to let them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of our motel. I'm happy to hear that for the most part your stay was pleasant. I was very surprised to hear your comments about my wife. She is normally extremely helpful and pleasant to all of our guests, and I asked her about what you said. She remembers it and said that she... More

Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the Rainbow Motel and had a really nice experience. For $75 we got a queen sized bed, large flat screen TV, PS3 gaming unit, and all the other amenities a Motel provides. In addition, there is an outside, in ground pool (cleaned daily) which was a welcomed relief from the heat! The Motel is centrally located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of our small motel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the movie and game selections that we offer. I find that on good summer days, an outdoor pool is so much nicer than an indoor one because of the sun and fresh air. Thank you once more... More

Cambridge, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were looking for a basic motel for a night before driving to Sydney for the ferry to NFLD. Robert was very friendly and helpful. This is not the Holiday Inn, but for $75 it was all we needed as we had driven 10hrs that day from Quebec city and just needed a place to stay. Robert also recommended Murphy's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for not responding sooner, but the summer has been rather busy and I am just now checking out the reviews. I'm glad to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory, and that you recognize we are a modest family operation with affordable rates. I trust the remainder... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

As I'm laying here in one of these beds, I'm very upset to say that i am wide awake a half hour after midnight and have yet to get any sleep, and probably won't. We have just experienced our SECOND encounter with a MOUSE. I do not feel comfortable staying in this room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In spite of our best efforts in almost 40 years in the business, occasionally one of these critters will come into a room unnoticed, and as soon as we know this the problem is immediately remedied. Whenever I register a guest, I always give them my phone extension and tell... More

Yarmouth, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A clean comfortable room complete with air conditioning, also coffee percolator, microwave & small fridge, large TV with great channel choice & also movies could be obtained in the lobby if desired & free wifi. As a smoker,I greatly appreciated that I didn’t have to go out in the rain to have a cigarette. Not a fancy place but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel. I am so happy that you were pleased with your accommodation, especially the in-room entertainment. We have been told repeatedly that the combination of big screen HDTV, over 200 satellite channels, PS3 consoles and large library of free Blu-Ray movies and PS3 games updated weekly is the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

While the HD TV and PS3 console were nice to have, the money could have been put to better use with room upgrades. The curtains, bedspreads and sheets were old and mismatched and one of our beds was broken and being held up by a cement block. The pillows and mattresses were old and uncomfortable to say the least. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertlindsay, Owner at Rainbow Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that you were not completely pleased with your stay (although I am happy that you did enjoy our in-room entertainment system). FYI, the shipment of bed frames arrived last Thursday and have been installed. Vanities have been replaced, and I am still waiting for good weather to install new carpets in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rainbow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 341 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Truro
Rainbow Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Truro with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rainbow Motel is a family owned and operated establishment, proudly serving vacationing and business travelers for many years. Hosts Norita and Robert Cunningham will be happy to give you a warm Maritime greeting in English, French or Spanish. Our continuing commitment is to provide our guests with comfortable accommodation and the best, most up-to-date amenities possible. All units are ground floor, and offer fridges, microwave ovens, air conditioners, coffee makers (complimentary coffee, tea, and cocoa), 40" HDTVs with over 200 digital and High Definition channels, DVD players, and high speed Fibre Op 2.0 wireless internet. Our guests also have free access to the outdoor swimming pool, PS3 consoles and an extensive video game library. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer