We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berry's Motel

73 Robie Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berry's Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
11
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a terrible experience! I keep trying to discuss the matter with the owner who keeps hanging up on me. The first time I called, I left a message and asked him to return my call but he did not. When I booked I asked for the un-renovated room price. I was volunteering all weekend at Nova Scotia Music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

According to my records you rented three rooms: two renovated rooms at $69 and one older room at $59 (#1, #22, and #9). If there was a problem with the reservation/pricing it should have been brought to my attention at the time of check-in and I'd have gladly corrected it. I have checked the electrical outlets for those rooms and... More 

Sydney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My stay at Berry's was a nightmare.when I moved in the manager / maintenance guy said it was cleaned & ready to move in.(wrong).Bathroom fan did not work & when supposedly fixed.it made so much noise I would not use it in respect of neighbouring tenants.Wish my neighbours on either side of me did the same.Constant car & truck alarms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

When you first came to the motel, you were staying in a regular nightly unit at our regular nightly rate. You told me you couldn't afford to stay at that price and asked if I could give you a deal on a monthly unit. While most of our monthly apartment units (in a separate building) are renovated, there are two... More 

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week and it really feels like home. Sobeys, Tim hortons, Smittys, Mcdonalds are just across the street. Great location plus excellent price. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our location is very convenient, that's for sure! Our current winter rates are $59/$69 and I feel we offer incredible value for the money. More 

Gambo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I saw the rave reviews so I thought for a quick overnight stay, I'd try this place the value seemed to good to be true and the reviews were mostly excellent. BEWARE. If it seems too good to be true, it usually is! Boy was I in for a surprise! However, I must keep in mind, I should have listened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your stay. While many of our rooms are newly renovated, there are some which haven't been; judging by your description I'm sure you stayed in one of our older rooms. As is posted in every unit, if you're not happy with your room we'll either give you a refund or upgrade you to a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at this motel Apr. 2013.( Very clean) My wife is a diabetic and we needed a room where we could cook our own meals. They put us in a suite consisting of a private bedroom , a kitchen/ living room with a full size fridge and a 4 burner stove. Rules are any noise after 11.00 p.m. you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review. As a person with certain food sensitivities, I share your appreciation of being able to cook while on the road and that's why I'm converting more units into kitchenette suites. We have only one super-suite with a full 4-burner stove/oven, but all of our regular kitchenette suites have various... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Never been to Nova Scotia, and booked Berry's from Bangor Maine over the phone based on the good reviews and reasonable prices offered. Was not disappointed. Place was clean. Microwave and fridge in room. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. Wifi signal was good and fast near the office. Although I had a smoking room, it smelled just fine. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Berry's Motel and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Balancing quality and value can be tricky at times, but I'm glad to hear that we're getting it right! Enjoy your travels and please come again! More 

Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My stay at the Berry's Motel was not pleasant at all. We stayed in the older section of the motel. My bed sheets and the mattress pad had a blood stain on them and I did not notice until the next day and I can guarantee it was not from me. .I found it very disturbing and when I complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay at Berry's Motel did not meet your expectations. I convened a staff meeting today and we brainstormed ways to prevent "dropping the ball" like this in the future. I'm now confident that everybody here has a much clearer awareness of the importance of doing their jobs right the first time. Yes, I agree that... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I found it easy to find near highway. Grocery store across street, decent breakfast for a quick parting in morning. Drive up room. Nice lady at check in. Was 79$ with all taxes in. This hotel is locally owned. Room was clean and the bed and pillows were wonderful. Even had a fabricville out front too. Was about 40$ then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Berry's Motel! Not only do we have a large Sobeys grocery store across the street, but we're surrounded by restaurants as well (all just footsteps away)! Even though you can save $40 or more by staying with us instead of a larger hotel, we're constantly working to improve our rooms and keep them... More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I read several reviews about this place before booking and I was not disappointed! The girl at the reception was very pleasant and helpful. The room is lovely and seems to have been recently renovated. A mini-fridge and a microwave in the room, flat-screen tv, lovely bathroom. What more could you ask for at $79?

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We have two types of rooms, Berry Best and Berry Budget, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Berry Best! It's great to know that our improvements are meeting your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed there last Thursday,Was offered ether old room for $69 or renovated nonsmoking room for $79.Was told bathroom was renovated ,new flat screen.new mattresses.I opted for the renovated room,A new vanity and mirror does not constitute renovated!!! paint pealing off the wall, Tub taps dripped so bad we had to put a towel under it so we could sleep!!The flat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Oh my gosh, I'm so sorry, but I can tell by your description that you were placed in an older smoking room, not one of our newly renovated units (all of which have flatscreen TVs). Did you contact us at the front desk? I can't remember a recent Thursday which was a full house, so we could have easily switched... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry's Motel

Address: 73 Robie Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Berry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry's Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay