We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berry's Motel

73 Robie Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Berry's Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    11
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Berry's Motel is located near shopping centers and lots of mid-low range places to eat, which came in handy as they do not serve breakfast. Some of the rooms are remodeled and based on the decor and the price, we had one of those rooms. (Room 21) Plus side--the in-room heating/cooling unit was very efficient and heated up our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying at Berry's Motel. Your review reminds me to do two things: fill the holes in the bathroom where once a towel bar was attached, and to remove the sticker on the mirror (I guess somebody thought it was cool to put a sticker on the mirror). Actually, we do have ice in the office; there's... More 

New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I just stayed at this motel- I loved that they had smoking rooms. Keeping in mind it is a motel- not a hotel, I thought the room was good for the price- It was older but clean, What really stood out to me was the kindness of the staff and a particular guest- checkout at 11 am- They had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying at Berry's Motel. Yes, we do have a few smoking rooms, but as you mentioned, they are some of our older rooms. I wish I could take some of the credit for your satisfaction, but all the kudos goes to Susan, our super duper day manager, and to Mike, one of our long term tenants.... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This was a terrible experience! I keep trying to discuss the matter with the owner who keeps hanging up on me. The first time I called, I left a message and asked him to return my call but he did not. When I booked I asked for the un-renovated room price. I was volunteering all weekend at Nova Scotia Music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

According to my records you rented three rooms: two renovated rooms at $69 and one older room at $59 (#1, #22, and #9). If there was a problem with the reservation/pricing it should have been brought to my attention at the time of check-in and I'd have gladly corrected it. I have checked the electrical outlets for those rooms and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Truro hotels

Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

My stay at Berry's was a nightmare.when I moved in the manager / maintenance guy said it was cleaned & ready to move in.(wrong).Bathroom fan did not work & when supposedly fixed.it made so much noise I would not use it in respect of neighbouring tenants.Wish my neighbours on either side of me did the same.Constant car & truck alarms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

When you first came to the motel, you were staying in a regular nightly unit at our regular nightly rate. You told me you couldn't afford to stay at that price and asked if I could give you a deal on a monthly unit. While most of our monthly apartment units (in a separate building) are renovated, there are two... More 

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week and it really feels like home. Sobeys, Tim hortons, Smittys, Mcdonalds are just across the street. Great location plus excellent price. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our location is very convenient, that's for sure! Our current winter rates are $59/$69 and I feel we offer incredible value for the money. More 

Gambo, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I saw the rave reviews so I thought for a quick overnight stay, I'd try this place the value seemed to good to be true and the reviews were mostly excellent. BEWARE. If it seems too good to be true, it usually is! Boy was I in for a surprise! However, I must keep in mind, I should have listened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your stay. While many of our rooms are newly renovated, there are some which haven't been; judging by your description I'm sure you stayed in one of our older rooms. As is posted in every unit, if you're not happy with your room we'll either give you a refund or upgrade you to a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at this motel Apr. 2013.( Very clean) My wife is a diabetic and we needed a room where we could cook our own meals. They put us in a suite consisting of a private bedroom , a kitchen/ living room with a full size fridge and a 4 burner stove. Rules are any noise after 11.00 p.m. you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review. As a person with certain food sensitivities, I share your appreciation of being able to cook while on the road and that's why I'm converting more units into kitchenette suites. We have only one super-suite with a full 4-burner stove/oven, but all of our regular kitchenette suites have various... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Never been to Nova Scotia, and booked Berry's from Bangor Maine over the phone based on the good reviews and reasonable prices offered. Was not disappointed. Place was clean. Microwave and fridge in room. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. Wifi signal was good and fast near the office. Although I had a smoking room, it smelled just fine. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Berry's Motel and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Balancing quality and value can be tricky at times, but I'm glad to hear that we're getting it right! Enjoy your travels and please come again! More 

Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My stay at the Berry's Motel was not pleasant at all. We stayed in the older section of the motel. My bed sheets and the mattress pad had a blood stain on them and I did not notice until the next day and I can guarantee it was not from me. .I found it very disturbing and when I complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay at Berry's Motel did not meet your expectations. I convened a staff meeting today and we brainstormed ways to prevent "dropping the ball" like this in the future. I'm now confident that everybody here has a much clearer awareness of the importance of doing their jobs right the first time. Yes, I agree that... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I found it easy to find near highway. Grocery store across street, decent breakfast for a quick parting in morning. Drive up room. Nice lady at check in. Was 79$ with all taxes in. This hotel is locally owned. Room was clean and the bed and pillows were wonderful. Even had a fabricville out front too. Was about 40$ then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Berry's Motel! Not only do we have a large Sobeys grocery store across the street, but we're surrounded by restaurants as well (all just footsteps away)! Even though you can save $40 or more by staying with us instead of a larger hotel, we're constantly working to improve our rooms and keep them... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 9 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 9 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#6 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#7 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay