We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel

417 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 4B2, Canada
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Rodd Grand Yarmouth for two nights. The rooms are outdated, especially light fixtures and bathroom. The bed was comfy but the heat in the room made it very warm, even when turning it off. Also, noise level from upstairs was bad, as I could hear young children crying and running around all night.

Helpful?
Thank TripFluffer
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello TripFluffer, We are so pleased you enjoyed your nights sleep. We are in the process of changing all heating units in our rooms so we hope on your next visit the heat will be just perfect. Thank you for letting us know bout your stay and see you soon. More 

Barton
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Grand is doing some renovations , little by little. The food has always been good, love the seafood chowder. Pool good , beds comfy , request a renovated room , on the south side , away from lounge. Parking lot small and rough pavement.

Helpful?
Thank Terry L
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Terry L, Thank you very much for your review. We are so please you noticed our efforts with renovations and are so happy to hear you had a great night sleep. We are looking at a full parking lot re-pave and hope the next time you're in town we get to show you the steps we have taking in... More 

Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed during November and the personal were very helpful. The Grand was hosting a sports tournament and they inform us of the event and gave us the room at one end of the hall . This floor had been recently Reno and the unit was nicely appointed . The bathroom had a new tub surround leaving the only thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank jww55
RoddVacations, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jww5, Thank you for the kind review. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your room, even with the large sports team in the hotel. We're very happy with our new renovations and glad you got to enjoy them! We look forward to having your and your family stay with us again! More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

We were greeted by staff stating a warning: They had two weddings booked that night at the hotel. Did we still want to stay? We asked if they would quiet down the party if it got out of hand and they said yes, just to call the desk and report any problems. We decided to stay because of the close... More 

Helpful?
Thank bartsbuds
RoddVacations, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bartsbuds, thank you for the amazing review but we do apologize for the other guests at the hotel. We hope that they did not effect too much of your time. The view of our hotel is spectacular and we're glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

I stayed for 2 night recently and the experience was amazing! The staff and hotel amenities were excellent! They truly treat you like family! Our room was a little romantic getaway for us. The beds are the best!!

Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tracey S, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know and we hope to see you again very soon. More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I stayed here for Nova Scotia Music Week. The conference took over the whole hotel and conference facilities, including late night music showcases. This staff did an amazing job accommodating the many needs of such a specialized conference. As a participant I really appreciated the staff's flexibility, patience and generosity to deal with all of us. I am sure this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inga P
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Inga P, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay during Nova Scotia Music week. We loved being the host hotel and are happy you had a great experience all around. Thank you for letting others know about your stay and I hope we get the chance to see you on a return trip soon. More 

Hubbards, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I've stayed at the Rodd Grand probably 10 times in the past few years. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are nice. At the desk, they gave me the wifi password without my even having to ask. Breakfast in the dining room was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Pat R, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We so pleased you have always enjoyed staying with us and can't wait to welcome you back again very soon. More 

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed two nights at this hotel as accommodation for my niece's wedding. The reception was held there as well. I must be honest: The hotel has a certain posture of a not-so-long-ago stateliness that, unfortunately, needs resurrecting. However, the staff soon made me forget that. I realize great and friendly service is not enough for some, but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank GPMacD
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello GPMacD, Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that your stay went so well. Pass along our congratulations to your niece. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Yarmouth. More 

Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

I travelled with my family and sons baseball team to Barrington. Even though it was quite a distance from the ball park. We decided on The Rodd because they had a pool. We arrived to find out that the pool was closed. Staff were very matter of fact about it and had a "it's not a big deal" attitude. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyMegan1973
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello BethanyMegan1973, I'm so sorry to hear about your stay. Your right we did have an issue with the pool and had to shut it down for cleaning. We are terribly sorry that it had to be down during your stay. We are also sad to hear about your other travelers not being able to sleep. I'm sorry that the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Yarmouth hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Probably not the best time to go when exterior building work is being done. The short walk from the parking at the rear was on very uneven surfaces. The reception staff were all excellent, but the building is drab, out of date and very mediocre service and food. Views from at least two of the rooms were of the roof... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Valued Guest, I'm sorry to hear your stay was not 100% perfect. We are undergoing some renovations and hope you will try us again on your return visit to see the changes we have made. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#2 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
15.8 mi away
Argyler Lodge
Argyler Lodge
#3 of 6 in Municipality of Argyle
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay