We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    30
    7
    14
See reviews for
36
40
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Toronto
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

At today's prices this was good value. It's not fancy but the room was recently redecorated (new flooring as well) and very clean. The breakfast was described as "continental" but I was pleasantly surprised to find eggs, sausages, and hot oatmeal in addition to the standard "continental" items.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Good Morning ColeToronto, We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We have completed the first phase in our 3 year plan to renovate. We do offer an awesome breakfast with many offerings so that we can hopefully try to meet all of our guests tastes-buds. :) Like you said, yes it is not your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family travel for 6 days from Manitoba to Yarmouth, NS. We stayed in Best Westerm for 2 nights and so far the best Hotel we had. The staff (Dawn and Tracy) was very friendly, nice and helpful. The hot breakfast was very yummy and they had the best egg omelet and sausage and offered variety off breakfast compared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Marina R, It was so nice to be able to help you and your husband out while you were trying to find a more suitable apartment for your relocation to our lovely town. We were so happy to have been able to help you. Your little boy is just so adorable. So glad you were able to find a... More 

Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my go to hotel in Yarmouth!! Dawn and her staff are always so friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean, warm/or AC works great. It was quiet. Beds are comfy and we really enjoyed the king size bed! We checked in super early and it wasn't a problem. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Lots of choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Ellen8771, It was a pleasure to have you here with us. It is always nice to hear that we have made our guests stay memorable. We certainly try to do our best and provide an awesome experience for our guests. We try to have our guest rooms available early whenever possible in case we have some early check-ins. We... More 

tantallon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

finding people who understand customer service is increasingly difficult you hit the jackpot here . Great staff minimal fuss just great service with a very helpful attitude .Room was what i would expect in a much more expensive hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi James H, We are so ecstatic to hear of your awesome Customer Service experience while staying at our hotel. It is our number one goal to make sure that all of our guests experiences while staying with us are pleasant and memorable. :) We strive for superior customer service! :) We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are clean beds are comfortable and the 42inch flat screens are perfect.The staff are great and I have been staying here every week for sixteen years. They also have nice breakfast. If heading to yarmouth i would suggest staying here. Darren

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Darren, It is always a pleasure to see you each week Darren. We can always look forward to having a good laugh with you while you're here! We are so pleased that you have been a loyal guest to our company for over 16 years! You are part of our Hotel family. :) See you next time! Thank you,... More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great staff on the front desk. Very helpful and knowledgeable with the surrounding area with shops, services, restaurants and tourist attractions They go out of their way to look after you as a guest and to make sure that your stay will be the best that it can be. Great value for the stay !

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David S, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our awesome staff we able to assist you with all your needs. We love to take care of our guests and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More 

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The stay at this hotel was good, the floors were very cold, it was a very cold day, but it still took a long time to be comfortable. Overall the experience was good. Breakfast was good. I had a good sleep, the bed was comfortable and firm.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David G, Thank you for your review on our property. We appreciate the comments from our guests and use the feedback to better improve. We are delighted that you had a great sleep and found our beds comfortable. We hope that should you travel to Yarmouth again that you choose to stay with us. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General... More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Worst stay ever. I travel a lot for work and this is by far the worst experience I've had. Over paid for my dated hotel room in mid-October (175$) and had a glued shut door with a sign inside the room with a sign saying "do not enter" (very creepy). When I arrived later that night to a very cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Chantal B, I apologize that you felt the need to come online and slander our property. Our rooms are very clean and well kept. I know that you were upset about your stay however stretching the truth about your room and what was in it is very unfair. With the doors being run by batteries they do sometimes fail... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The staff at this motel are fantastic, very friendly, and helpful! It's great the they offer free breakfast. The hotel is quite dated though and could use some renovations, especially the kitchenettes. Very old looking yellow coloured cabinets and has an old non working fridge that says "storage only" and has a working fridge up on the counter. It comes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Sairving21, It is always nice to hear how wonderful our guests find our staff. We are undergoing a 3 year renovation plan. The first stage of the renovation has been done with the lobby/breakfast area. You will continue to see many changes with our property in the next two year. :) We are a very clean hotel and pride... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The beds are great- extremely comfortable. Better than most places. Accessibility needs improvement. There is a small ramp to assist getting into rooms on the front but no rail and slippery in the rain. No ramp in the back- you have to get up over a curb and up a step. Not easy with accessibility issues. Noise from other rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello llinel, We have had many awesome comments on our comfy beds and we are glad that you found them comfy as well. It certainly helps you get a great nights rest. We have taken your comments into consideration with the accessibility issues and rectified it. We provide 3 types of eggs during the week with 2 options being offered... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question