We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Yarmouth hotels

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yarmouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Widgerys Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (64)
  • Photos (31)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    21
    4
    10
See reviews for
19
22
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property has had a recent makeover & we were very happy with everything! Very friendly and helpful staff, decent hot breakfast, very clean, great location in Yarmouth & excellent quality bed! Thanks a lot!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Good Morning Widgerys, You are most welcome! Thank you! We have just finished our lobby/front desk/breakfast room makeover in May. We are glad to hear that you were very happy with everything! Over the next two years there will be more renovations done as well. It is sure wonderful to hear from our guests how friendly and helpful our staff... More

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the Novastar boat from Portland, ME, to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, so on our return, we needed a comfortable hotel. We haven't stayed in a Best Western in a while, since we are Hampton Inn regulars. What a pleasant experience!!! The room has wooden floors, very comfy beds, and fast WIFI....all sparkling clean. What more did we need!?!!! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Manousso! We are so pleased that you had an awesome experience! We have done a lot of renovations to our property including the wooden floors. We do have a lot to offer and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it! Our staff is very friendly. :) We are delighted to hear that you will now stay at... More

Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice little Best Western, close to town centre. On the main road but not noisy. As this was not a plus or premium hotel we were unsure what to expect. A pleasant surprise to find it was clean, safe and easy to check-in and out. Such a change from a couple of others that claim to be BW Plus.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Sigehaizi, Thank you for the very kind words about our Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you find our property very pleasing. We have a great team here! We hope that you come visit us again. We would be happy to have you! Have a great day! Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Updated with air conditioning and new beds. Free breakfast usually means some fruit and toast and juice which is fine but they also offered boiled eggs, sausages, cereal variety packs and yogurt. Nice to have the options. The pool was not open yet but it was so foggy and cool that it was not pool weather. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello llinel, It is great to hear that you enjoyed our newly air-conditioned rooms. We pride ourselves in keeping them clean and comfortable for our guests. We are certainly doing lots of Renovations to our property. We are glad you took advantage our our HOT breakfast as well. We like of offer many varieties to suit everyone's taste buds. We... More

ansonia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was close to downtown Yarmouth, restaurants etc. We took day trips around the area and was easy to find our way back. The restaurants were quite near too. The staff was getting ready for their season and were working very hard cleaning the place outside. Only thing was the bathroom was very small and if you choose a room... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Good Morning Bilasi, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate all feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found it very central to everything that you needed. Yes we certainly are getting ready for our busy season to begin. It is nice to hear your... More

Port Williams, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just fininished a three night stay at this motel. The staff is friendly, and they offer a nice hot breakfast. The rooms are clean, and they have the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. The lobby has just been re done and looks awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that your next stay in the Yarmouth area brings you back to us and gives you the same enjoyment. More

Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When I read some ones review about not being clean I just had to respond as I have been going here for 12 years monthly and have never found it dirty .The rooms towels ,sheets all clean and fresh .They are renovating and up grading their hotel .They put in air conditioning last year . I always like the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Margaret T, Thank you for writing us such a great review. It means a lot to us that you still stand behind us and stand up for us 12 years later. Your loyalty is certainly appreciated. We are constantly doing upgrades and will continue to do them in the very near future. Keep your eyes open for more changes!... More

Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Friendly staff. Very nice rooms. Upper floor may be preferable as walls, ceilings seem a bit "thin". can hear people walking above you or yelling from parking lot. Comfortable beds, pillows. Clean rooms. Lots of towels. Appears recently renovated.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Mike M, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We do however want to apologize that you had an issue with noise. It is always nice hearing from our guests that they enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows. We also like to pride ourselves in our clean rooms. We have... More

Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Yarmouth was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. No heat in October. Noise from up stairs was terrible. Dirty and old. My Mother was having her 90th birthday and we wanted her to have a great trip as she has been sick. This was not the place to take her. We left early and went to the Best... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

The Best Western Mermaid apologizes for not meeting the standards needed for your stay with us. We try our best to keep our property looking its best for all guests and are constantly doing improvements. We had newly installed A/C-heaters and were having a technical issue. We did, however, provide a space heater for the room in lieu of the... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A room with a view and serenity. A quiet and great place to stay. All rooms have the view of the sea and the tide. Nice Sunset viewing although when it is not cold. Even a pool with warm water. Overall quite enjoyed my stay and if I pass by this area again, for sure I will stay there again.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Its so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Yarmouth and that you will stay with us again on a return trip. We try our best to make each guests stay as enjoyable as possible. See you next time. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Address: 545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth Nova Scotia

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is conveniently located within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal and the historic downtown district. Several Museums, and a variety of nearby dining and shopping options are all within 2km from the Hotel. Each spacious guest room features all the extras that make a difference while traveling. Our NEWLY INSTALLED AIR CONDITIONING UNITS will ensure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Each guest room includes free wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" Flatscreen HD Plasma TV's, free local calls, and a free Hot breakfast. Other amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), guest laundry and business center. Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth is also pet friendly. Bus tours and groups are welcome! Whether attending one of the many outdoor festivals, enjoying a game of golf, sight-seeing, or enjoying one of beautiful beaches all within a 15 minute drive. Our friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer