We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    30
    7
    14
See reviews for
36
41
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were friendly and pleasant. The room was average and the bathroom a bit small, but very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. It was great to have a hot breakfast, which was complimentary. Although the location is good, if you're a light sleeper, this place is probably too close to the main street, for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very comfortable, no hassles at check-in and made use of the express checkout service. The room was very clean although there could be some updates to the furnishings and decor. Maybe a more comfortable sitting area in lieu of the table and chairs that were there. My choice when traveling to Yarmouth on business!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Lennie C, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad that you took advantage of our Express Checkout service, it sure makes things quicker for our guests in the morning. We are in the process of upgrading our case goods in the rooms. We have a 3 year plan... More 

Toronto
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

At today's prices this was good value. It's not fancy but the room was recently redecorated (new flooring as well) and very clean. The breakfast was described as "continental" but I was pleasantly surprised to find eggs, sausages, and hot oatmeal in addition to the standard "continental" items.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Good Morning ColeToronto, We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We have completed the first phase in our 3 year plan to renovate. We do offer an awesome breakfast with many offerings so that we can hopefully try to meet all of our guests tastes-buds. :) Like you said, yes it is not your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

My family travel for 6 days from Manitoba to Yarmouth, NS. We stayed in Best Westerm for 2 nights and so far the best Hotel we had. The staff (Dawn and Tracy) was very friendly, nice and helpful. The hot breakfast was very yummy and they had the best egg omelet and sausage and offered variety off breakfast compared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Marina R, It was so nice to be able to help you and your husband out while you were trying to find a more suitable apartment for your relocation to our lovely town. We were so happy to have been able to help you. Your little boy is just so adorable. So glad you were able to find a... More 

Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

This is my go to hotel in Yarmouth!! Dawn and her staff are always so friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean, warm/or AC works great. It was quiet. Beds are comfy and we really enjoyed the king size bed! We checked in super early and it wasn't a problem. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Lots of choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Ellen8771, It was a pleasure to have you here with us. It is always nice to hear that we have made our guests stay memorable. We certainly try to do our best and provide an awesome experience for our guests. We try to have our guest rooms available early whenever possible in case we have some early check-ins. We... More 

tantallon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

finding people who understand customer service is increasingly difficult you hit the jackpot here . Great staff minimal fuss just great service with a very helpful attitude .Room was what i would expect in a much more expensive hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi James H, We are so ecstatic to hear of your awesome Customer Service experience while staying at our hotel. It is our number one goal to make sure that all of our guests experiences while staying with us are pleasant and memorable. :) We strive for superior customer service! :) We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are clean beds are comfortable and the 42inch flat screens are perfect.The staff are great and I have been staying here every week for sixteen years. They also have nice breakfast. If heading to yarmouth i would suggest staying here. Darren

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Darren, It is always a pleasure to see you each week Darren. We can always look forward to having a good laugh with you while you're here! We are so pleased that you have been a loyal guest to our company for over 16 years! You are part of our Hotel family. :) See you next time! Thank you,... More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great staff on the front desk. Very helpful and knowledgeable with the surrounding area with shops, services, restaurants and tourist attractions They go out of their way to look after you as a guest and to make sure that your stay will be the best that it can be. Great value for the stay !

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David S, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our awesome staff we able to assist you with all your needs. We love to take care of our guests and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More 

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The stay at this hotel was good, the floors were very cold, it was a very cold day, but it still took a long time to be comfortable. Overall the experience was good. Breakfast was good. I had a good sleep, the bed was comfortable and firm.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David G, Thank you for your review on our property. We appreciate the comments from our guests and use the feedback to better improve. We are delighted that you had a great sleep and found our beds comfortable. We hope that should you travel to Yarmouth again that you choose to stay with us. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General... More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Worst stay ever. I travel a lot for work and this is by far the worst experience I've had. Over paid for my dated hotel room in mid-October (175$) and had a glued shut door with a sign inside the room with a sign saying "do not enter" (very creepy). When I arrived later that night to a very cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Chantal B, I apologize that you felt the need to come online and slander our property. Our rooms are very clean and well kept. I know that you were upset about your stay however stretching the truth about your room and what was in it is very unfair. With the doors being run by batteries they do sometimes fail... More 

Travelers are raving about these Yarmouth hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay