We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Yarmouth hotels

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
55%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Maggiem784 Port Alberni, Canada
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    24
    5
    13
See reviews for
30
33
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent two nights here and the first night was awful. A young family was in the room above us and their children ran rampent, back and forth, through the room for most of the evening. The second night things were far more peaceful as the young family had moved on. Breakfast both mornings was just fine with choices of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the hotel 2 wks in advance for purpose of getting the Yarmouth-Portland ferry. Big mistake. Hotel is old tired and room smelled of smoke. Best western put us beside the stairs with pop machine and laundry. Noise was unbelievable. We also heard neighbouring room through the walls. Yes we changed rooms. Second room was upstairs by the stairs again..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over 2 day stay, all aspects of hospitality... location, staff, cleanliness, room comfort, food quality and service, efficient front desk..were exceptional. In other words, a very pleasant anchorage for our visit to the South Shore.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with a wonderful view, close to walking paths, ocean, restaurants. All the staff were extremely helpful, the room was very clean. The lobby staff were very helpful with all of our questions. The breakfast room was very clean, and kept clean during the whole breakfast time, and the food yummy! I hope to have the pleasure of driving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Jan C, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to be able to provide the information that our guests needs. We like to make our guests feel welcome and at home. :) It is awesome that you enjoyed our breakfast, we certainly do offer a lot of selections. We hope... More

Yarmouth, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had a great relaxing time here. The location was great, as we have been day tripping from here. The staff are knowledgeable and hospitable. and willing to help you all you have to do is ask. The breakfast in the dining area is very handy, clean, and the variety of choices is super. Well worth the Price. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RI, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveling with daughters around Nova Scotia. Needed a place to stay before ferry to Portland in the morning. Best Western Mermaid was a good choice. Check-in was easy and fast. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast in morning was convenient given our travel plans and lack of options in the area. 2 minute drive to ferry. Staff was friendly and... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Kerri H, Thank you for giving our property a review. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are definitely close to the Ferry to Portland. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms. Our breakfast is sure a great way to start your day off. We hope to see you again... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late in the evening since we were just driving through Yarmouth, and wanted to visit Cape Forchu before heading to Digby the next day. When we arrived and checked in around 10pm, there were shady dudes standing around the back parking lot as we parked and moved our bags upstairs. This made us think this motel atmosphere was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Fayepants, We have a lot of corporate people stay with us, they expect the best which is what we provide for our guests. Our rooms are most certainly not dirty by any means. If you look at the other comments on this site you can see a lot of guests who attest to that. Best Western has standards that... More

Hubbards, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stay in a Best Western if we can. This time we had a very unusual experience. I called a couple weeks ago to book a kitchenette room for 2 nights. When we arrived the reservation under my name was for 1 night, no kitchenette, They weren't sure what they were going to do for us for the 2nd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Traveling_Jennee, I apologize that you had the experience that you did.It was a very unusual situation indeed. We have never had that happen to us before. I am glad that Ann was able to handle everything for you and that you were happy in the end. David our breakfast attendant does do a fantastic job in the mornings keeping... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great in all respects! The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was especially good. we highly recommend this to all travelers to Nova Scotia, particularly those arriving or departing by ferry to the USA

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Bartleyjc, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel in all aspects. It is great to hear that from our guests. We do have a wonderful team here that try to make sure our guests have a superior experience while with us. We do have a great breakfast, it is sure a great way to start... More

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been members of Best Western Rewards for years, so we tend to lean heavily on their hotels and services. This appears to be a somewhat older property, but, we found it very accommodating, clean, with a good breakfast, and with a fairly good location for what we needed. Note, we were not doing the ferry. If we ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Telafella, I am so happy to hear that you choose Best Western as your hotel of choice. It is a great family to be in. It is nice to know as a guest that there are certain standards that you know will be met. Yes we are an older property, one that has been well maintained. We have done... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Address: 545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth Nova Scotia

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Yarmouth with
any amenities