We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    30
    7
    14
See reviews for
35
39
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
tantallon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

finding people who understand customer service is increasingly difficult you hit the jackpot here . Great staff minimal fuss just great service with a very helpful attitude .Room was what i would expect in a much more expensive hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi James H, We are so ecstatic to hear of your awesome Customer Service experience while staying at our hotel. It is our number one goal to make sure that all of our guests experiences while staying with us are pleasant and memorable. :) We strive for superior customer service! :) We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are clean beds are comfortable and the 42inch flat screens are perfect.The staff are great and I have been staying here every week for sixteen years. They also have nice breakfast. If heading to yarmouth i would suggest staying here. Darren

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Darren, It is always a pleasure to see you each week Darren. We can always look forward to having a good laugh with you while you're here! We are so pleased that you have been a loyal guest to our company for over 16 years! You are part of our Hotel family. :) See you next time! Thank you,... More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great staff on the front desk. Very helpful and knowledgeable with the surrounding area with shops, services, restaurants and tourist attractions They go out of their way to look after you as a guest and to make sure that your stay will be the best that it can be. Great value for the stay !

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David S, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our awesome staff we able to assist you with all your needs. We love to take care of our guests and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More 

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The stay at this hotel was good, the floors were very cold, it was a very cold day, but it still took a long time to be comfortable. Overall the experience was good. Breakfast was good. I had a good sleep, the bed was comfortable and firm.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello David G, Thank you for your review on our property. We appreciate the comments from our guests and use the feedback to better improve. We are delighted that you had a great sleep and found our beds comfortable. We hope that should you travel to Yarmouth again that you choose to stay with us. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General... More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Worst stay ever. I travel a lot for work and this is by far the worst experience I've had. Over paid for my dated hotel room in mid-October (175$) and had a glued shut door with a sign inside the room with a sign saying "do not enter" (very creepy). When I arrived later that night to a very cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Chantal B, I apologize that you felt the need to come online and slander our property. Our rooms are very clean and well kept. I know that you were upset about your stay however stretching the truth about your room and what was in it is very unfair. With the doors being run by batteries they do sometimes fail... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The staff at this motel are fantastic, very friendly, and helpful! It's great the they offer free breakfast. The hotel is quite dated though and could use some renovations, especially the kitchenettes. Very old looking yellow coloured cabinets and has an old non working fridge that says "storage only" and has a working fridge up on the counter. It comes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Sairving21, It is always nice to hear how wonderful our guests find our staff. We are undergoing a 3 year renovation plan. The first stage of the renovation has been done with the lobby/breakfast area. You will continue to see many changes with our property in the next two year. :) We are a very clean hotel and pride... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The beds are great- extremely comfortable. Better than most places. Accessibility needs improvement. There is a small ramp to assist getting into rooms on the front but no rail and slippery in the rain. No ramp in the back- you have to get up over a curb and up a step. Not easy with accessibility issues. Noise from other rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello llinel, We have had many awesome comments on our comfy beds and we are glad that you found them comfy as well. It certainly helps you get a great nights rest. We have taken your comments into consideration with the accessibility issues and rectified it. We provide 3 types of eggs during the week with 2 options being offered... More 

Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful - had major problems with the room key/card - and staff took care of it promptly each time. Room was very clean and quiet. Had to go up a flight of stairs to obtain ice or vending machines - the only negative. Easy parking and close to downtown, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Marilyn H, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that my staff took care of your issues with the door promptly. I am also glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms. We look forward to seeing you again should you ever be in our area again. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General... More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms, quiet for sleeping, air conditioned rooms, very close to all shopping, banking and restaurants. Very nice breakfast selections and eating area. Worth the stay !

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi David S, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly try to make sure that our guests experiences at our property are the best. We hope that you continue to stay here when you are down our way again for business. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I stayed here one night with my Mom, Aunt & cousin; we arrived after 9 pm on a Thursday night. Arrived at our room which was very nice, but quickly changed into swim suit & my cousin & I went for an amazing swim in the heated pool for a couple of hours, it was great after travelling all day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Christine S, It was a pleasure to have you ladies. Yes it certainly is great to be able to unwind after a long day in our heated outdoor pool. We have had many comments about our beds with our guests having great nights sleep like yourself. Our staff definitely is friendly and engaging. We sure hope that you come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question