We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Yarmouth hotels

BEST WESTERN Mermaid

545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mermaid to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mermaid
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yarmouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014
Margaret T Springfield
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    20
    4
    10
See reviews for
16
21
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When I read some ones review about not being clean I just had to respond as I have been going here for 12 years monthly and have never found it dirty .The rooms towels ,sheets all clean and fresh .They are renovating and up grading their hotel .They put in air conditioning last year . I always like the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Hello Margaret T, Thank you for writing us such a great review. It means a lot to us that you still stand behind us and stand up for us 12 years later. Your loyalty is certainly appreciated. We are constantly doing upgrades and will continue to do them in the very near future. Keep your eyes open for more changes!... More

Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Friendly staff. Very nice rooms. Upper floor may be preferable as walls, ceilings seem a bit "thin". can hear people walking above you or yelling from parking lot. Comfortable beds, pillows. Clean rooms. Lots of towels. Appears recently renovated.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Hi Mike M, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We do however want to apologize that you had an issue with noise. It is always nice hearing from our guests that they enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows. We also like to pride ourselves in our clean rooms. We have... More

Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Yarmouth was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. No heat in October. Noise from up stairs was terrible. Dirty and old. My Mother was having her 90th birthday and we wanted her to have a great trip as she has been sick. This was not the place to take her. We left early and went to the Best... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

The Best Western Mermaid apologizes for not meeting the standards needed for your stay with us. We try our best to keep our property looking its best for all guests and are constantly doing improvements. We had newly installed A/C-heaters and were having a technical issue. We did, however, provide a space heater for the room in lieu of the... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A room with a view and serenity. A quiet and great place to stay. All rooms have the view of the sea and the tide. Nice Sunset viewing although when it is not cold. Even a pool with warm water. Overall quite enjoyed my stay and if I pass by this area again, for sure I will stay there again.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Its so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Yarmouth and that you will stay with us again on a return trip. We try our best to make each guests stay as enjoyable as possible. See you next time. More

Cobourg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice rooms that met our needs and wants. The front desk staff were extremely helpful! And to the attendant who checked us out Saturday morning, I lost the family farm as I was wrong again. I should know better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Hello Bearsded, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that we were able to meet your needs and wants. We are delighted to hear that you found our front desk staff extremely helpful. We have amazing ladies working for us. Sorry to hear that you lost the family farm yet again :) I was wondering... More

Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed a few nights here as it was the only place with a king size bed and glad we did. When we drove up the outside looked a bit run down so were wondering if we made a bad decision, but the room itself was updated and very clean. The high speed worked great, no problems. Big tv, comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

So glad you gave us the chance to show you that we are a nice place to stay the night. Our motel is undergoing several changes in the next couple years. New upgrades to the rooms have started already with the addition of the flat screen TV's, air conditioners and hard wood flooring. More are to follow. Our breakfast has... More

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the most frustrating things about travelling for business is either not enough outlets for powering up electronics or ones that don't work at all. I am writing this from my laptop that I had to locate on the bathroom counter. Yes, not a great idea but it is what it is! I could have moved some furniture and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. We do have ample power outlets in our rooms for our business travelers. We have a table in the room with seating that has access to the nearby power outlets making it easy for our guests. This provides for a comfortable enjoyable work atmosphere. We also... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, as we were in town visiting family! Dawn at the front desk was very pleasant when we checked in and out! The beds were so comfortable and everything was clean! The bathroom was small, but clean and the shower was great, always had hot water. We traveled with our dog which was no problem as its pet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More

Brooklyn, NY, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

All the hotels in this town was rated two stars by AAA. I am familiar with this chain so I decided to stay at the Best Western. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant and efficient and did a good job considering the motel's age. The reception desks check-in was fast and professional. The breakfast area was kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Hello Robert, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. We pride ourselves in great customer service and are pleased that you experienced just that! We are also pleased that you enjoyed our fresh appetizing breakfast selection. We look forward to seeing you again should you be in our area again. Have a great day! Dawn Robicheau,... More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Renovated rooms with nice beds, big tv and nice air conditioning. Rooms are bit small though. Good location and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is typical for such hotel chain - nothing to complain about. Overall, we had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWMermaid, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our Motel. It is always great to hear the good about our guests stay. We are very happy that your stay was satisfactory. We do a bit of upgrading the property each year and love to hear that the effort is appreciated. We hope that on your stop in Yarmouth that you will choose... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mermaid

Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Address: 545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Mermaid is conveniently located within walking distance to the historic downtown district, several Museums, and a variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each spacious guest room features all the extras that make a difference while traveling. Our NEWLY INSTALLED AIR CONDITIONING UNITS will ensure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Each guest room includes free wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" Flatscreen Hi-Definition Plasma TV's with full tier cable, free local calls, and free Hot breakfast. Other amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), guest laundry and business center.Best Western Mermaid is also pet friendly. Bus tours and groups are welcome! Whether attending one of the many outdoor festivals, enjoying a game of golf or sight-seeing, our friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mermaid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mermaid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.