We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Suites Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
2 King Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Retro Suites Hotel

239 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    206
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
77
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Colleagues had been telling me about this boutique hotel for a long time. They were right! It is a different experience. Every room is totally different in shape and decor, all themed. I had the Chardonnay Room and booked it again for my return visit next month. It was clean and spacious with comfortable bed, well-appointed bathroom, convenient kitchenette sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the greatest theme hotels I have stayed at. The room we had ( the study ) was very large with a huge bathroom and was very clean. Everything was up to date including the TV which has a picture I have never seen in a hd TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor. The Study is one of our most beloved suites. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable ambiance of this timeless suite. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Retro Suites Hotel and thank... More 

Annandale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my favorite hotel in North America and I travel extensively for business and pleasure. The staff is polite, efficient, friendly and informative. The rooms are incredibly unique and spotlessly clean. there is a restaurant on site called the Chilled Cork, which is a delightful place to have pre-dinner drinks. If there is one problem with this hotel, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack E, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments in regards to the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are flattered to learn of your review and honoured to have been chosen as your preferred accommodation destination when traveling to Chatham-Kent, Ontario. It is our wish to provide each guest with elevated service, beautiful, clean and comfortable accommodations... More 

Van Wert, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

My family recently stayed here on the way to Niagara Falls. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Each room has a particular style with many to choose from. Also, located next to a small shopping mall the stay provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just recently had our wedding at The Retro Suites Hotel and wouldn't change a single thing. The hotel is so unique and special for Chatham. I am so happy this was our number 1 location!! This hotel has hands down, the absolute BEST customer service I have ever experienced. They are so accommodating , understanding and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica and Ken for your comments in regards to the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read your review and want you to know that we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share in your experience. It was an honour to host your special day and it was a sincere pleasure to assist... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Stay at this place! It's unlike any other. U won't be disappointed! So many different styles of rooms to choose from. Right downtown, close to some good restaurants and a few bars, or better yet go downstairs and eat at the delicious chilled cork.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin H, Thank you for your fantastic review and for selecting the Retro Suites Hotel! We appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at the Retro Suites and Chilled Cork! We look forward to welcoming you back to both hotel and restaurant in the near future. Cheers! More 

Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We stayed this little gem of Chatham,Ontario on the weekend. The owners went out of their way to bring a retrospective of the past to all their themed rooms. You have rare pieces of furniture decorating every room that goes with the theme that room. You have a navy room,cowboy room,disco room and many more.Every room will transport you back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I recently spent a few days in Chatham,Ontario and had the privilege of staying at this very unique hotel. From the friendly and courteous service to the fantastic rooms , Chatham has a very special hotel to brag about . I look forward to a return visit !

Was this review helpful? Yes
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry G, Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Retro Suites Hotel and are delighted to learn of your fantastic experience! Kindest Regards, More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This is a great little boutique hotel. We really enjoyed the themed room (The Midtown) with the exposed brick walls and the high ceilings. The lobby and rooms are very newly remodeled and everything feels fresh and clean. The front desk employees were very knowledgeable about the area for attractions, dining, etc. The complimentary hot (eggs, hashbrowns, toast) or continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Popcorn84, Thank you for reviewing the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor, we certainly value your continued support and very much appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologies in regards to your early morning awakening due to the construction on the King William Block. At this time, the outside construction is close to completion and as a result, construction... More 

Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I recently had the opportunity to once again stay at Retro Suites. This time I chose the Easy Rider room, which is a Harley Davidson themed room. It was awesome. I had several guests in my room as we were at a wedding and all were in awe of the room. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J k, Thank you for returning to the Retro Suites Hotel and posting such a wonderful 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the Easy Rider Suite. Our staff also appreciate the kind words and were happy to assist in creating a memorable weekend for you.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities