We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodlawn Inn

Certificate of Excellence
420 Division Street | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Woodlawn Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
73
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We (my husband and I) spent one night at the Woodlawn Inn. We booked the superior king room. Upon check in we were very disappointed that the room was not clean at all. It has a four poster bed which is uncomfortable to me because of the height. The check in staff member, gave us another room and apologized for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Maymk, Thanks for your recent review, we appreciate your frank comments and will most definitely look into the cleanliness issue that you experienced. I'm sorry that you found the bed too high and you did not enjoy the dining room experience. All the best, Stephen More 

Thornhill
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 1 night at the Woodlawn and took their special which included a voucher for dinner. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and clean. The dinner that night was fantastic. We had shared a salad and then I had a salmon and my husband had the lamb. The food was outstanding, and the staff were great. I would definitely recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear TravelbugThornhill, Thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful, restful visit with us! Also, thank you for writing about your great meal and service in the our dining room. We really appreciate any recommendations to your friends and family. We are looking forward to your next visit. I hope you have... More 

Eggerslack
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just wanted somewhere for a one night stay with our son and his wife close to Rice Lake and in either Coburg or Port Hope. Turned out to be a great choice and we had a delightful stay; just wish it could have been for longer. One key thing was that we had dinner in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eggerslack Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you had a great visit and that our location worked well with your travel plans. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are travelling to Northumberland County. Best wishes, Stephen Della Casa More 

Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By far THE classiest restaurant in town! Have never been disappointed. Fine dining at its best. Brunches are spectacular, dinners exquisite, and lunches an oasis in a hectic day. Staff are professional and attentive without being annoying. Management is approachable and hands-on and they know what they are doing! Well worth every penny! Rooms are well appointed and nicely laid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear mc eeyore, Thanks for your recent visit and your continued support over the years. I love to speak with our guests, but to be honest, our quality is team effort and we would be not be here with our dedicated crew. I will pass on your kind words. We hope to see you soon. Thanks, Stephen Della Casa More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This old pile of bricks has its charms. A lovely front garden greets the arriving visitor. The reception area with adjacent lounge and dining room evokes another, more gracious, era. The ceilings are high, an attribute that strikes one as very charming. The flip side of that charm is the fact that the route to your quarters, if they be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear NickRocco, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I feel badly that you found the stairs a bit too high. When we take our guests reservations, we are always asking if there is a floor preference, and when here, we are happy to help our guests with their luggage. Thanks for pointing out the carpet, we are aware... More 

Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

My wife and I attended a photo workshop by Richard Martin which was hosted at the Woodlawn Inn. Our entire experience could not have been better. Our room was wonderful, the food was fantastic, and the staff was extremely accommodating. As an aside, it's rare to stay in a hotel or inn where the artwork is much more than an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve C, Thanks for attending Richard Martin's recent photography workshop held here at the Inn. I'm glad that you and your wife had a great time with us and enjoyed the hospitality and food. I'll be sure to let the staff know that you both had a great time here. Best wishes, Stephen Della Casa More 

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

House keeping excellent, my suite was clean, and well maintained. Overall the entire Inn is a great place for a quiet stay. The morning breakfast of fresh cooked bacon and eggs etc. We dinned one night, and the breaded veal was tender and juicy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear totallyunhappy155019, Thanks for you visiting us at The Woodlawn Inn. We are so pleased that you had a great time and a restful stay with us. I am glad that you you enjoyed dinner, especially the veal. If you ever back in our area, we would happy to have you back again. Have a great summer. All the best,... More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We have been to this restaurant a few times as it is a favourite of my parents. It is traditional, with white linen table cloths in a fairly formal atmosphere of an old Victorian mansion. The gardens are pretty and the house impressive. The staff are longstanding and professional. I think it is an excellent restaurant in its category of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tom H, Thanks for being a guest of ours over the years and also thanks for your recent review of the Inn!. We are so pleased that The Woodlawn is your destination of choice when you are in Northumberland visiting your mother. We have been fortunate to be in business since 1988 and we are very grateful for your... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

The Woodlawn is a great historic Inn nestled in the quiet town of Cobourg. My wife and I enjoyed our two day get-away. The rooms were tastefully decorated reflecting the time the Inn was built. We had dinner at the Inn and really enjoyed the service, menu and extensive wine list. Would definitely stay at the Woodlawn again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard R, Thanks for your review and for spending the weekend with us! I am delighted that you found the inn charming and you enjoyed our rural, quiet town of Cobourg. Thank you for your kind comments on the food and the staff, and thanks for mentioning our extensive wine list! We are looking forward to having you back... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Service was very good. Enjoyed the food. Good value. Nice place. Close to mid town for shopping or walking Will return. Cobourg is a very nice town. Suggest you visit the harbour and beach area. Very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Of_Cobourg, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Henry711, Thank you for visiting us and for noting our close proximity to the beach and downtown. I am glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, and had time to see our beautiful town on the lake. I would be happy to see you again soon. Thank You, Stephen Della Casa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay