We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Huntsville hotels

Deerhurst Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Deerhurst Resort to your Saves list
Deerhurst Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Huntsville
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012
FormsanRunner Toronto
  • Overview
  • Reviews (987)
  • Photos (320)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (259)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    277
    226
    128
    79
See reviews for
385
308
6
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Deerhurst Resort
See the most recent reviews
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Before we went on this trip, a lot of our friends had nothing but praises for Deerhurst. Plus the G8 and Obama stay here, maybe our expectation was a little bit unrealistic. However, I got to say there are a lot of facility in this resort that need a facelift. Out of 10 plus tennis courts, there were only 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We agree Muskoka is beautiful and we thank you for affirming we are an amazing place! Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts collection in March 2011, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi... More

Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to stay at Deerhurst. Overall the experience was great, we all had fun and the kids stayed in the water most if not all of the day. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. They always asked you "did you have fun?" or "how was it?" when you come out of the water, as of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you recently had the chance to experience Deerhurst Resort and happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with our team who take great pride in providing our guests with warm and friendly service. Please accept our sincerest apology for missing those important details in cleaning and inspecting your guest room prior... More

Toronto, ONT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed at this resort for many times and at the end of June, 2012 stayed overnight in the hotel section. I arrived early due to my schedule but no room was made available despite noticing lots of other guests checking in early. When I arrived in my room, I could not locate a resort book nor was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We would like to extend our sincere apologizes that your stay with us was not seamless and that our staff were not more responsive to your concerns. This is not the level of service we are known to deliver or what you have experienced in the past. I will bring your comments to the attention of the appropriate managers for... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our recent stay at Deerhurst was horrible. There was no customer service, the marina charges for use of the waterfront YET they do not have adequate equipment (ie. no paddles for the paddleboards) We were unable to find anyone in charge of each area - It is a poorly run hotel and certainly not what we were used to -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to post and for speaking to our Executive Assistant yesterday. We were very concerned to read your comments, as this is not the level of service we are known to provide or what you have experienced in the past. As mentioned, all of your comments are important and have been shared with the... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at deerhurst in the past, but this time was a nightmare. The service has gone downhill, and the special 5% deerhurst tax they charge on everything is crazy. Found blood (not ours) on the pillow case, so I guess the other reviews about housekeeping not changing the bedding is correct. When we phoned down to housekeeping they replied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations and based on your comments, our standards as well. We apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience so that we can actively address the details you noted and welcome you back as you... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

At least I am not paying; attended work function and cannot see what all the hype is about. The decor in our 'condo' is circa 1970...the main building is in disrepair; they should be ashamed to charge the rates they charge people - what a disgrace! Staff seems inexperienced resulting in poor service...NEVER will return, the views are just as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations and apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction. Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts collection in March 2011, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan... More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Deerhusrt Resort has become my family's favourite getaway! They have something for each one of us. My kids loved the horseback riding and all the sports the resort had to offer. Our room had a northern contemporary decor. Beautiful! The view from our room of the golf course, hills and resort was spectacular. We ate dinner at Steamers and brunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

As a repeat guest of ours we appreciate you taking the time to post a review and glad we have become your family’s favourite getaway! No matter what time of year you bring the family to Deerhurst Resort, you’re in for tons of fun! Little ones will enjoy "Kids 'n Ponies" or "Kids 'n Critters,” a 45 minute interactive and... More

Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Not cheap, but ugly, outdated rooms. We were given a dungeon the first time, bottom floor, where there was no natural light whatsoever. My daughter was scared to even go inside. The bedroom looked like a funeral home - if you sleep on the bed you will look it. Morbid. We went and tried to get a different room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations and apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction. Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts collection in March 2011, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan... More

Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This property is beautiful but very spread out. Depending on where your room location is you can exspect to take a 10 minute walk from the main pavillion to the lake. There are several food options on site or just up the road but be aware of the hidden 5% Amenity tax on everything from your accomodation to and extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. Deerhurst Resort is quite expansive and we do have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building as well as lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos, which are situated around the resort. Our reservations team is available... More

Thornhill, ON
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a timeshare condo at Deerhurst Resort, nicely located on a lake near Huntsville, Ontario. The accomodations were quite nice, except for the pullout sofa which was very uncomfortable and caused my wife back pain. The waterfront was great with water trampolines and climbing equipment but it was too crowded for our young children. And we were there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback is important to us and appreciated. We do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Deerhurst Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Main building(13)
  • Great time(10)
  • Golf course(6)
  • Eclipse restaurant(6)
  • Indoor pool(6)
  • Lobby bar(5)
  • Beach area(4)
  • Squash court(3)

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario PIH 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

320 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (291)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:20
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Business Hotel in Huntsville #4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and dozens of historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, Hummer tours, and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
400

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer