We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre

470 First Avenue South, Kenora, Ontario P9N 1W5, Canada (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    71
    61
    24
    13
See reviews for
46
76
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a room on the 7th floor. Rooms are older but very clean. Some rooms have excellent views. The building is round so room shape reflects. Staff very courteous. Heating and cooling worked well. Nice makeup remover, shampoo and conditioner. Try the restaurant - was excellent and priced well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
winnipeg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was there for the wedding last weekend. The place was clean the staff was very helpful. I had a great time. The hotel was all full and couldn't get the top floor but I guess people booked before us. I love the view. But the meal it was ok, not bad. Otherwise everything else is excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Headingley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had dinner in a separate dining room and stayed overnight in a ``Block of Rooms`` that turned out to be all over the hotel and most of us on different floors. The Bride and Groom who requested a top floor room ended up staying on the third floor right next door to her parents. The Bride`s sister did have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Kenora hotels

The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms in July, one with lake view and one city view for our children. Must say the city view was a much nicer room for $20/night less. They had a partial lake and partial city view with updated decor and bathroom. Our room, while it did have a lovely full lake view was in need of an update.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The title says it all! The rooms were so outdated and the washrooms were old and grungy. NO POOL in spite of the listing stating so. The AC was broken for the 3 days we stayed there. With the sun beating in on our room heating us up to nearly 100 degrees inside it was not worth the $20 extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Natalie D, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is not our practice to have our guests leaving unhappy or disappointed. Unfortunately your stay with us coincided with a heat warning our city received, in which our air conditioning can only... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving in Kenora, I was without plan for accommodation, no knowledge of the area, in a "bind", and in need of assistance. After contact was made (third party for me) with Dessa of Lakeside, I quickly received a message with extension of assistance during my trip across Canada at a time I was in need of assistance on many levels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel and your stay with us! We loved having you stay with us. It was a genuine pleasure for all of our staff to meet and talk with you. You have such an amazing spirit. You are doing something truly wonderful, and... More 

Oromocto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel charged $20 more for a Lakeview room, and it's worth it. I stayed here in July, and as the sun sets you have a breathtaking view of the lake as the boats move about the harbour. You can't miss this hotel, it's the giant cylinder right on the water. I found it cool that they have a dock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear MagnificentMatt, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our hotel and the views it boasts during your stay with us. Our hotel attributes its unique design to an architecture competition it partook in (and won) in the 1960's. We are also the only hotel in Kenora with water access... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second year I've stayed at the Lakeside and both times I've received wonderful service, a beautiful room and nice people running the hotel. The beds are so comfortable...too many pillows but who says you have to use them all? I recommend the hotel with a full five stars for room, comfort and hotel personnel. The restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear K P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm so glad that you enjoy your stays with us and hope you return again for your third year! If you would like to rate our restaurant separately, it does have it's own TripAdvisor page under Waterside Restaurant & Lounge. Thank you for choosing the Lakeside Inn... More 

Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel claims to be a "resort hotel" and while the rooms are nice enough, I expected better amenities throughout. The rooms that are lakeside have a wonderful view. The rooms that are not lakeside claim to have a "city view". This really means that you have a view of the recreation centre across the street and a skateboard park.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Dawn S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I understand that the "resort fee", which is a hotel tourism tax, can confuse guests as to what amenities we may offer. However, we are not in fact a resort hotel. I've searched our websites and am still unclear as to where it may state this. With... More 

Airdrie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed at this hotel for 6 days for a convention. Upon checking, was a little confusing as they had me booked for two rooms, after that all was great...the rooms were very nice and clean. The uniqueness of this hotel is amazing... The view outside is spectacular... The convention rooms were large and very accommodating to our needs... The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dessa B, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Cricket R, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We very much enjoyed having your group stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet and talk to all of you ladies. We encourage all of our staff to enjoy their day and have fun at work, so seeing our Front Desk Staff singing and/or dancing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenora hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Kenora
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kenora
Travelodge Kenora
#6 of 13 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kenora
Days Inn Kenora
#5 of 13 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Kenora
Super 8 Kenora
#2 of 13 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selah Motel
Selah Motel
#1 of 13 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.0 mi away
Timberline Urban Lodge
Timberline Urban Lodge
#5 of 11 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay